Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(4) The Three Major Campaigns

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5

The strength of the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨) and the Chinese Communist Party (CCP, 中國共產黨) reversed on the battlefield after two years of the civil war. The National Army (In December 1947, the National Revolutionary Army﹝NRA﹞was renamed the Republic of China Armed Forces, and was generally called the National Army﹝NA﹞, 國軍﹝Guojun﹞in Chinese) switched from the offensive to the defensive while the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) started to attack. In 1948, the PLA’s field armies spread across the Northwest, Central, East, Northeast, and North China. While the Northwest Field Army (later known as the First Field Army, or the First Field) led by Commander Peng Dehuai (彭德懷) pushed further towards the Northwest, others joined the three major campaigns between September 1948 and January 1949.

(1) The Liaoshen Campaign (or Liaoning-Shenyang Campaign﹝遼瀋戰役﹞): 12 September to 2 November 1948, also known as the West Liaoning Campaign (遼西會戰) or Northeast Campaign. The Soviet force supported the CCP to take over the Northeast when it withdrew. However, the Nationalist Government’s army soon advanced in the area. Multiple engagements took place in Sipingjie (四平街), Jilin Province (吉林). Starting in mid-September 1948, the Northeast Field Army (later known as the Fourth Field Army, or the Fourth Field) with its commander Lin Biao (林彪) and commissar Luo Ronghuan (羅榮桓) attacked the principal force of the NA’s General Suppression Headquarters of Northeast Garrison led by Commander-in-Chief Wei Lihuang (衛立煌). The PLA occupied Jinzhou (錦州), Changchun (長春), Shenyang (瀋陽), and finally the whole Northeast. Wei fled. One of his two deputy commanders-in-chief Zheng Dongguo (鄭洞國) surrendered, while the other one Fan Hanjie (范漢傑), and the Commanding Officer Liao Yaoxiang (廖耀湘) were captured. The PLA wiped out more than 470,000 NA elite forces at a cost of its own 69,000 casualties.

(2) The Huaihai Campaign (淮海戰役): 6 November 1948 to 10 January 1949, also known as the Battle of Xuzhou-Bengbu (徐蚌會戰). The campaign had the Central Plains Field Army (later known as the Second Field Army, or the Second Field) led by Commander Liu Bocheng (劉伯承) and Commissar Deng Xiaoping (鄧小平) joining forces with the East China Field Army (later known as the Third Field Army, or the Third Field) led by Commander Chen Yi (陳毅) and Commissar Su Yu (粟裕). On the opposite side was Liu Zhi (劉峙), the Commander-in-Chief of the General Suppression Headquarters of Xuzhou Garrison, reinforced by Bai Chongxi (白崇禧), the Commander-in-Chief of the General Suppression Headquarters of Central China. Su was the main planner and commander of this operation. The PLA wiped out and reorganised 555,000 NA troops at a cost of its own 134,000 casualties. The NA’s Deputy Commander-in-Chief Du Yuming (杜聿明) and the Regimental Commander Huang Wei (黃維) were captured. Regimental Commanders Huang Baitao (黃伯韜) and Qiu Qingquan (邱清泉) committed suicide and was killed respectively in action.

(3) The Pingjin Campaign (or Beiping-Tianjin Campaign﹝平津戰役﹞): 29 November 1948 to 31 January 1949, also known as the Battle of Beiping-Tianjin- Zhangjiakou (平津張會戰). After the Liaoshen Campaign, Lin led the Northeast Field Army through the Shanhai Pass (山海關) and merged with the North China Field Army (later taken in by the First Field and the Second Field) commanded by Nie Rongzhen (聶榮臻). This PLA force of one million men encircled the half-million NA troops led by Fu Zuoyi (傅作義), the Commander-in-Chief of the General Suppression Headquarters of North China Garrison. The PLA took Tianjin (天津), negotiated the surrender of Fu, and reorganised his half-million NA troops. On 31 January 1949, the PLA entered Beiping (北平, now Beijing﹝北京﹞without a fight. By then, the KMT’s rule in the north Yangtze River (長江) collapsed. The Yangtze River Crossing Campaign and a regime change were around the corner.

The Huaihai Campaign was initiated in concert by the East Field Army and the Central Plains Field Army. Why Su Yu, the Deputy or Acting Commander of the East China Field Army, was the main planner and commander of this major campaign?
 

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_1
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_1

Left: the Commander of the PLA Northeast Field Army Lin Biao (right), the Commissar Luo Ronghuan (left), the Chief-of-Staff Liu Yalou (劉亞樓, middle) discussing tactics on the front line of Jinzhou (錦州), Liaoning, during the Liaoshen Campaign. Right: the PLA artillery unit attacking Jinzhou. On 15 October 1948, the PLA captured Jinzhou, a strategic point in Northeast China.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_2
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_2

Photos from the Liaoshen Campaign in 1948. Left: the NR building fortifications in Changchun, Jilin, when they were besieged by the PLA. On 23 October, the PLA captured Changchun. Right: the PLA crossing the Liao River (遼河) to pursue the NA retreating to Yingkou (營口), Liaoning. On 2 November, the PLA occupied Yingkou.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_3
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_3

Photos from the Liaoshen Campaign in 1948. Left: the NA lost over 470,000 men with many officers and soldiers captured in this campaign. Right: the PLA troops celebrating their triumph in Shenyang (瀋陽), Liaoning. The Liaoshen Campaign ended on 2 November when the PLA seized Shenyang. By then, the CCP secured Northeast China.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_4
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_4

To prepare for the decisive battles in East and Central China, the CCP formed the General Front Committee of the Huaihai Campaign consisting of (left to right) Su Yu, Deng Xiaoping, Liu Bocheng, Chen Yi, and Tan Zhenlin (譚震林) with Deng being the secretary. On 6 November 1948, the Huaihai Campaign broke out.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5

Photos from the Huaihai Campaign. Left: in November 1948, the PLA storming the headquarters of Huang Baitao’s regiment in Nianzhuang (碾莊), Xuzhou, Jiangsu Province (江蘇), annihilating the NA’s force. Huang committed suicide. Right: in the Battle of Shuangduiji (雙堆集), Su County (宿縣), Anhui Province (安徽), Huang Wei’s regiment forming a defensive line with 800 trucks. The PLA breached the NA’s defence, wiped out the troops, and captured Huang in September 1948.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_6

Photos from the Huaihai Campaign. Left: the NA struggling to maintain its position on the front line. Right: the militia stretcher teams helping the PLA handle confiscated NA weapons. During the campaign, hundreds of thousands of people formed militias at the call of the CCP. They helped the PLA in many aspects including transportation and supplies.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_7
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_7

On 10 January 1949, the Huaihai Campaign ended in a crushing defeat for the NA. Left: Du Yuming, the Deputy Commander-in-Chief of the General Suppression Headquarters of Xuzhou Garrison cum Field Commander being captured after the campaign. Right: in the Huaihai Campaign, a large number of NA soldiers surrendered or were captured. Many significant officers surrendered, or were killed and captured in action. The Huaihai Campaign cost the NA its elite forces in East and Central China and helped the PLA close in on major cities along the Yangtze River such as Nanjing (南京), Shanghai (上海), and Wuhan (武漢).

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_8
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_8

Shortly before the Pingjin Campaign in November 1948, the NA abandoned several significant passes along the Great Wall to strengthen its defence of key cities in the North such as Beiping and Tianjin. The PLA crossed the Great Wall in this opening. Left: the PLA crossing the Great Wall. Right: the PLA occupying the Shanhai Pass and pushing inland.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_9
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_9

On 29 November 1948, the Pingjin Campaign broke out. The PLA quickly split and encircled Fu Zuoyi’s 500,000-men division in Xinbao’an Town (新保安) and the cities of Zhangjiakou, Beiping, and Tianjin. On 15 January 1949, the PLA captured Tianjin. Left: the PLA infantry entering downtown Tianjin under the cover of tanks. Right: the PLA attacking the Government’s garrison command in Tianjin.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_10
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_10

In January 1949, Fu Zuoyi, the Commander-in-Chief of the General Suppression Headquarters of North China Garrison and the PLA reached an agreement that Fu would surrender, hand over Beiping, and have his 500,000 men incorporated into the PLA. On 31 January 1949, the Pingjin Campaign came to an end when the PLA entered Beiping without meeting any resistance. Left: the NA outside the Beiping city wall waiting to be reorganised into the PLA. Right: the PLA entered Beiping through Zhengyang Gate (正陽門, often referred to as the Front Gate). After the three major campaigns, a regime change in Mainland China was imminent.

The Huaihai Campaign was initiated in concert by the East Field Army and the Central Plains Field Army. Why Su Yu, the Deputy or Acting Commander of the East China Field Army, was the main planner and commander of this major campaign?

Su Yu was an experienced commanding officer in the Chinese Red Army and the PLA. He fought in the Nanchang Uprising (南昌起事), the Southern Hunan Uprising (湘南起事) and all the five campaigns of encirclement and extermination launched by the Nationalist Government against the CCP in the Jinggang Mountains (井岡山). He served as section, battery, and division commander and chief-of-staff before becoming the Commander of the Fujian-Zhejiang military region (閩浙軍區). Then he was appointed as Commander cum Commissar of the New Fourth Army and the Commander of the Central China Field Army. He was an outstanding commander refined by practice on the battlefield and study of military strategies.

Su won seven victories in the seven battles in, namely central Jiangsu, Subei (宿北), south Shandong Province (山東), Laiwu (萊蕪), Menglianggu (孟良崮), Shatuji (沙土集), and east Henan Province (河南). It was Su who drafted the plan for the Huaihai Campaign, which was later authorised by Mao Zedong (毛澤東) before execution. Su was a member of the General Front Committee of the Huaihai Campaign together with Deng Xiaoping, Liu Bocheng, Chen Yi, and Tan Zhenlin. The CCP appointed Su as the commander of the campaign he devised. In Su’s reply to Mao’s telegram, he said, “Considering the scale of the operation, I request a joint-command with Commander Chen [Yi] and Commissar Deng [Xiaoping].” Su’s post was the acting commander cum commissar of the field army, but he was the de facto field commander. Mao, the Chairman of the Central Military Commission remarked that Su was the main contributor to the success of the campaign. Lin Biao, the Commander of the Liaoshen Campaign and the Pingjin Campaign, closely followed the Huaihai Campaign. He deemed Su a competent commander who could make more bold decisions than he did. Having fought side by side with Su, Chen understood the man well. In a report written on New Year’s Day 1948, Chen said, “Comrade Su Yu is a master of strategies and practice. His remarkable leadership is cultivated by years of service on the battlefield. He is indispensable for the military command in East China.” Such was the high opinion people had of Su.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe.

(四)三大戰役

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5

國共内戰經歷了兩年,雙方實力對比逐漸變化,國軍由進攻轉為防禦,解放軍則轉守為攻。1948年解放軍的主力大致分為西北、中原、華東、東北及華北若干野戰軍,除彭德懷為司令員的西北野戰軍(後稱「第一野戰軍」,簡稱「一野」)轉戰大西北外,其餘均投入1948年9月至1949年1月和國軍對決的三大戰役。

(一)遼瀋戰役:1948年9月12日至11月2日,又稱遼西會戰或東北戰役。原來蘇聯軍隊在撤出東北時,曾支持中共接管該區,後來國軍也加緊向東北推進,國共雙方在四平街屢屢發生激戰。1948年9月中旬起,解放軍東北野戰軍(司令員林彪,政委羅榮桓,後稱「第四野戰軍」,簡稱「四野」)對國軍東北剿匪總司令衛立煌的主力部隊發動攻勢,先後攻克錦州、長春、瀋陽,佔領東北全境。衛立煌敗逃,副司令鄭洞國投降,另一副司令范漢傑及將領廖耀湘被俘。是役解放軍以傷亡6.9萬人的代價,殲滅國軍精銳47萬餘人。

(二)淮海戰役:1948年11月6日至1949年1月10日,又稱徐(州)蚌(埠)會戰。由解放軍中原野戰軍(司令員劉伯承,政委鄧小平,後稱「第二野戰軍」,簡稱「二野」)和華東野戰軍(司令員兼政委陳毅,代司令員及政委粟裕,後稱「第三野戰軍」,簡稱「三野」),合力對國軍徐州剿匪總司令劉峙所屬部隊和華中剿匪總司令白崇禧所屬的增援部隊作戰。其中粟裕是解放軍此役的主要策劃者及指揮者。結果解放軍以傷亡13.4萬人的代價,消滅及改編國軍諸部55.5萬人。國軍副總司令杜聿明、兵團司令黃維被俘,兵團司令黃伯韜、邱清泉或自盡或戰死。

(三)平津戰役:1948年11月29日至1949年1月31日,又稱(北)平(天)津張(家口)會戰。遼瀋戰役後,林彪率東北野戰軍入關,和華北野戰軍(司令員聶榮臻,該部後來分別編入「一野」、「二野」)共100萬人,包圍國軍華北剿匪總司令傅作義統領的50餘萬國軍。解放軍先攻佔天津,再爭取傅作義投降、達成收編50餘萬國軍的協議。1949年1月31日,解放軍和平進入北平(今北京)。至此,國民黨在長江以北的統治土崩瓦解,渡江戰役、政權易手迫在眉睫。

淮海戰役本由華東野戰軍和中原野戰軍合力發動,粟裕只是華東野戰軍的副司令員或代司令員,為何說是該戰役的主要策劃者及指揮者?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_1
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_1

左圖:遼瀋戰役期間,解放軍東北野戰軍司令員林彪(右)、政委羅榮桓(左)、參謀長劉亞樓(中)在遼寧錦州前線商討作戰策略;右圖:解放軍炮兵部隊攻打錦州。1948年10月15日解放軍攻佔東北戰略重地錦州。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_2
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_2

兩幅1948年遼瀋戰役的照片,左圖:吉林長春的國民黨守軍在修築工事,當時長春正受解放軍圍困,10月23日解放軍攻佔長春;右圖:解放軍搶渡遼河,追擊向遼寧營口撤退的國軍,11月2日解放軍攻佔營口。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_3
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_3

兩幅1948年遼瀋戰役照片,左圖:大批國軍官兵被俘,是役國軍損失47萬餘人;右圖:解放軍在遼寧瀋陽舉行慶功大會。隨着解放軍在11月2日攻陷瀋陽,遼瀋戰役結束,中共完全控制東北。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_4
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_4

為與國民黨在華東、中原決戰,中共組成淮海戰役總前委,左起:粟裕、鄧小平、劉伯承、陳毅、譚震林,當中鄧小平為書記。1948年11月6日,淮海戰役爆發。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_5

兩幅淮海戰役照片,左圖:1948年11月,解放軍攻入國軍黃伯韜兵團在江蘇徐州碾莊的司令部,在碾莊戰鬥中,國軍遭全殲,黃伯韜自殺;右圖:1948年12月,在安徽宿縣雙堆集戰鬥中,國軍黃維兵團以800輛卡車組成防線,但被解放軍突破,最後全軍覆沒,黃維被俘。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_6

兩幅淮海戰役照片,左圖:前線國軍苦苦支撐;右圖:民工擔架隊協助解放軍處理繳獲的國軍武器。戰鬥期間中共發動數以十萬計群眾組成民工隊,為解放軍提供運輸、補給等各種支援。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_7
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_7

1949年1月10日,淮海戰役結束,國軍遭徹底擊敗。左圖:徐州剿匪副總司令兼前敵指揮部司令杜聿明被俘;右圖:淮海戰役中,大批國軍被俘或投降,另有多名國軍重要將領被俘、投降、陣亡。淮海戰役令國軍在華東、中原戰場上的主力精銳喪失殆盡,解放軍已直接威脅南京、上海、武漢等長江沿岸重要城市。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_8
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_8

1948年11月,平津戰役開打前,國軍棄守長城沿線多個重要關口,準備固守北平、天津等華北重要城市,解放軍得以越過長城南下。左圖:解放軍穿越長城;右圖:解放軍佔領山海關,其後由山海關向關內推進。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_9
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_9

1948年11月29日,平津戰役正式爆發,解放軍迅速將國軍傅作義部50多萬兵力分割包圍在張家口、新保安、北平和天津一帶。次年1月15日,解放軍攻陷天津。左圖:解放軍步兵在坦克掩護下衝入天津市區;右圖:解放軍攻打國民政府天津警備司令部。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_10
mainsite_psd_neizhaner04_10

1949年1月,在北平的華北剿匪總司令傅作義與解放軍達成協議,向解放軍開城投降,所部50餘萬人悉歸解放軍改編。1949年1月31日,解放軍兵不血刃進入北平,平津戰役結束。左圖:國軍開出北平城外接受解放軍改編;右圖:解放軍進入北平,通過正陽門(即前門)。經過三大戰役,中國大陸政權易手已成定局。

淮海戰役本由華東野戰軍和中原野戰軍合力發動,粟裕只是華東野戰軍的副司令員或代司令員,為何說是該戰役的主要策劃者及指揮者?

粟裕是中共紅軍及解放軍的資深指戰員,參加過南昌起事、湘南起事,後進入井岡山,參與全部五次反圍剿戰爭。他從紅軍班長起,歷任營長、師長、軍參謀長、閩浙軍區司令員,一直到新四軍師長兼政委、華中野戰軍司令員,從戰爭實踐中努力學習、掌握軍事戰略戰術,終成卓越的指揮者。粟裕曾參加指揮蘇中、宿北、魯南、萊蕪、孟良崮、沙土集、豫東等戰役,七戰七捷,後又成功打贏濟南戰役。關於淮海戰役的構想,就是粟裕最先提出並得到毛澤東的同意才施行。淮海戰役總前委共有5人,包括鄧小平、劉伯承、陳毅、粟裕、譚震林。作為策劃者,中央要其負起指揮之責,粟裕主動給毛澤東回電:「此次戰役規模很大,請陳(毅)軍長、鄧(小平)政委統一指揮。」他自己只擔任野戰軍的代司令員兼代政委,但卻實際發揮軍事指揮職責。關於此戰,中央軍委主席毛澤東曾評「粟裕同志立了第一功」。指揮遼瀋、平津戰役的林彪,曾長久關注淮海戰役進程,他說:「粟裕打仗真行,他下的很多決心我都不敢!」對粟裕最了解的自然是陳毅,他在1948年元旦的一份總結報告寫到:「粟裕同志可以算是理論與實際兼優的人,戰役指揮高明,由於他長期在實際中鍛煉,華東軍事指揮主要就靠他!」此言可謂的評。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE。