Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(5) Hyperinflation and Economic Collapse

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5

In addition to military defeats on the front line, the economic and social situation in the Government-controlled areas went downhill as well. Inflation was already on the rise during the War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression. When the war ended, the committees dispatched by the Nationalist Government for the takeover embezzled public assets. Coupled with reasons including the outbreak of the civil war, scarcity of daily supplies, and inflation were further aggravated. In addition, the civil war pushed up military spending. Unable to make ends meet, the Government issued the Gold Yuan (金圓券) in 1948, compelling the public to exchange their gold and foreign currency for this new currency. The practice only devalued the Gold Yuan and fuelled inflation out of control.

Initially, the Government intended to issue 2 billion worth of Gold Yuan. However, by June 1949, there were 130.3 trillion yuan of Gold Yuan in circulation, resulting in a ten-thousand-fold devaluation which crushed the economy and public life. Back at the end of 1945, the Government had USD 900 million of gold, silver dollars, and foreign currency in its reserve. In April 1948, its foreign reserve was a mere USD 110 million. Corrupted officials and profiteers catalysed the deterioration of the economy. Chiang Kai-shek’s (蔣介石) son, Chiang Ching-kuo (蔣經國), went to Shanghai (上海) to supervise the regulation of price and the crackdown on profiteers. However, he left the city fruitless as his hands were tied in front of bureaucratic capitalism backed by political powers.

Faced with a sliding economy and dire poverty, the public turned against the Government. On 4 May 1947, Shanghai students held demonstrations demanding “food, peace, and freedom” and “anti-hunger, anti-civil war, and anti-persecution”. Students and civilians in big cities, including Nanjing (南京), Beiping (北平, now Beijing﹝北京﹞), Tianjin (天津), Wuhan (武漢), Hangzhou (杭州), and Nanchang (南昌) followed suit. Another reason for the public resentment was the Government’s secret agents targeting dissidents. Infamous incidents included the murder of Li Gongpu (李公樸) and Wen Yiduo (聞一多), both advocators of democracy, in Kunming (昆明), Yunnan Province (雲南), in 1946. In the second half of the 1940s, the Chinese Communist Party (CCP, 中國共產黨) viewed the continuous student movements and public protests as a force on its side with the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) fighting the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨).

The KMT led China to victory in the War of Resistance. Its post-war military strength was still obvious. Why did it fall apart just two to three years into the civil war?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_1
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_1

The hyperinflation in China during the second half of the 1940s was rarely seen in global financial history. Inflation triggered by scarcity of daily supplies and over-issue of currency was already a threat during the War of Resistance and the situation deteriorated quickly during the civil war with major cities such as Shanghai being the worst affected. Left: a resident in the temporary capital of Chongqing (重慶) moving a sack of banknotes by a rickshaw in October 1945. Right: a cartoon depicting Shanghai civilians exchanging US dollars, drawn by Friedrich Schiff, an Austrian painter sojourning in Shanghai from 1929 to 1947 portrayed the kaleidoscope of life in old Shanghai with his comic drawings. After the full-scale civil war broke out, currency depreciation prompted residents in the Government-controlled areas to exchange for US dollars and buy gold.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_2
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_2

The people of Shanghai holding memorial services for Li Gongpu and Wen Yiduo, two respected intellectuals who were murdered by KMT secret agents in Kunming in July 1946. Many intellectuals lost faith in the Government because of its persecution of dissidents after the War of Resistance, which triggered waves of protests.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_3
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_3

Before the Gold Yuan appeared in 1948, people in China were already tormented by the civil war, currency depreciation, and food shortage. The photos show the “anti-hunger, anti-civil war, anti-persecution” student movements that spread nationwide in May 1947, which were echoed by the public. Student movements and social protests formed a front in the civil war that weakened the Government’s rule.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_4
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_4

Civilians in 1947 parading in anti-profiteers protests. Hyperinflation soared in China after the War of Resistance. Despite social miseries, profiteers speculated on the market and hoarded crucial supplies, which worsened livelihoods and angered the public. Kung Ling-kan (孔令侃), son of Kung Hsiang-hsi (孔祥熙) and Soong Ai-ling (宋靄齡), operated the Yangtze Development Corporation since 1946 in Shanghai. With his prominent background, the company exploited huge profits during the civil war and was seen as a typical example of bureaucratic capitalism.

ebook

Soong Ai-ling, the eldest of the prominent Soong sisters in the Republican period, married Kung Hsiang-hsi. The second of the sisters, Soong Ching-ling (宋慶齡), married Sun Yat-sen (孫中山) and the youngest, Soong Mei-ling (宋美齡), married Chiang Kai-shek. Kung Hsiang-hsi was a key figure in the political and financial sectors. He served as Governor of the Central Bank of China, Minister of Finance, and Premier of the Executive Yuan (行政院). He was also the Chairman of the Bank of China from 1944 to 1948. Their son Kung Ling-kan was greedy for wealth and luxury but still enjoyed Soong Mei-ling’s favour. In January 1946, the Yangtze Development Corporation (Yangtze Corp. for short) was formed and the 30-year-old Kung Ling-kan was responsible for its operation. The company took advantage from its political background to gain a monopoly of import quotas for important commodities including automobiles, electronics, medicines, and luxuries. It also captured a windfall by hoarding and tax evasion. The Yangtze Corp. was symptomatic of the bureaucratic capitalism prevailing among officials and dignitaries who formed a rentier network in the political and business circles. Bureaucratic capitalism disrupted normal market operation and vanquished private businesses, leaving society and the economy in ruins and the people in anger.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5

In August 1948, the Government enacted a currency reform to replace fabi (法幣, legal currency issued by the banks of the Government) with the Gold Yuan. The public was ordered to exchange gold, silver dollars, and foreign currency for the Gold Yuan. Upon the introduction of these measures, currency depreciation and inflation rocketed. Left: as the value of the Gold Yuan evaporated in 1948, Shanghai civilians rushing to buy gold. Right: a ten-million Gold Yuan note issued in June 1949.

ebook

In China’s financial centre of Shanghai in April 1949, the exchange rate was USD 1 to 95,000,000 Gold Yuan. The official exchange rate between the Gold Yuan and the silver dollar was 4,000,000 to 1 and 9,000,000 to 1 on the market. Meanwhile, the Gold Yuan continued to depreciate to the point where it was nothing but a scrap paper.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_6

Photos from the hyperinflation period. Left: a value meal costing 1,000 yuan. Right: people scrambling for spilled rice on the ground.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_7
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_7

Photos of Shanghai during the hyperinflation period show swarms of people queuing for staple foods (left) and protesting the soaring food price and food shortage (right).

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_8
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_8

From August to November 1948, Chiang Kai-shek sent his son Chiang Ching-kuo to Shanghai to stabilise the economy. Chiang Ching-kuo took concrete measures to regulate price and punish profiteers in the campaign called “fighting tigers in Shanghai”. However, even Chiang Ching-kuo could not rein in bureaucratic capitalism. Left: Chiang Ching-kuo raising his fist to show his resolution in “fighting the tigers”. Right: During the campaign, some profiteers were executed.

ebook

Chiang Ching-kuo was aware of how Kung Ling-kan’s Yangtze Corp. and its kind wrecked the economy and infuriated the people the most, and he was determined to hold them accountable. In September 1948, the fraudulent practices of the Yangtze Corp. were exposed and in October, Chiang Ching-kuo ordered two thorough investigations into the company. The incident was known as “the Yangtze Corp. case”. However, Soong Mei-ling persuaded Chiang Kai-shek into halting the investigation and the case went without being addressed. Soon, a dismayed Chiang Ching-kuo left Shanghai. The last hope of rebuilding the economy vanished. The economic collapse was a key factor for the KMT’s loss in Mainland China.

Before the PLA took Shanghai, Kung Ling-kan had transferred his assets offshore. He later lived an affluent life in the United States. In Chiang Kai-shek and I, the author Zhou Hongtao (周宏濤) who served as Chiang’s aide and confidential secretary between 1943 and 1958 wrote that in the early 1970s, Chiang Ching-kuo was the Premier of the Executive Yuan of the Government in Taiwan (台灣). When he was to form cabinet, Soong Mei-ling recommended Kung Ling-kan, who lived in the United States at the time, for the position of the Minister of Finance. The recommendation was shelved because Chiang Ching-kuo strongly disapproved of Kung.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_9
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_9

For the CCP however, the Liberated Zones covered mostly rural areas. Compared with the Government-controlled cities, the Liberated Zones enjoyed better social and economic stability because of its simplicity. As the civil war intensified, the CCP carried out a comprehensive land reform in the Liberated Zones to rally farmers’ support. More specifically, the CCP confiscated land from landlords and redistributed it to farmers. Left: on 4 May 1946, the CCP Central Committee issued a directive on the land reform where the policy of reducing rent and interest was replaced by the redistribution of land confiscated from landlords. Right: on 10 October 1947, the Outline of Chinese Land Law was released. The land reform was in full swing in the Liberated Zones.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_10
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_10

In March 1948, an independent regiment formed by farmers from Anping County (安平縣), Hebei Province (河北), was ready to fight the KMT on the front line. Land problem was at the core of economic issues in rural areas. The CCP’ s land reform granted farmers ownership of land confiscated from landlords. Therefore, more farmers were willing to safeguard their home and property by enlisting or joining supportive groups such as stretcher teams. Also, they voluntarily paid higher tax in grains. The farmers’ involvement played a key role in the CCP’s victory.

The KMT led China to victory in the War of Resistance. Its post-war military strength was still obvious. Why did it fall apart just two to three years into the civil war?

The KMT’s defeat could be attributed to many factors including the soldiers’ fatigue of war, the Government’s exorbitant levies, corrupt government officials, malfunctioning fiscal policies, and economic collapse. China was a country of farmers and the flawed land policies deprived them of land and food. Meanwhile. Most KMT soldiers came from farming families and the plight back home dealt a blow to the troops’ morale. There were also cliques within the KMT forces based on which division a soldier belonged to. As a result, some troops were discouraged to fight with full strength. Others rather surrendered to the PLA for its more inclusive tone. By contrast, the CCP’ s land reform in the Liberated Zones motivated farmers to join the army to protect the farmland they owned and civilians turned in grains to support the CCP on the front line. Statistics show that in 1949, the CCP received 30.4 billion jin (斤) of grains worth USD 1.1 billion. The Government’s fiscal revenue that year was just USD 90 million. With fiscal revenue 12 times that of the KMT’s, the CCP was able to strengthen its military and seal victory swiftly.

 Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe.

Extended Reading

(五)超級通脹與經濟崩潰

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5

國軍在前線一敗再敗,國民黨統治區(簡稱「國統區」)的經濟民生也一塌糊塗。原來抗戰時期,通貨膨脹已一路大升,戰後國民政府接收大員的「劫收」、內戰爆發等,使物資更缺、通脹加速。由於內戰令軍費開支只升不降,為解決入不敷出,國民政府於1948年發行金圓券,強迫民間以黃金、外幣兌換,進一步造成貨幣瘋狂貶值、通脹完全失控。原定金圓券於1948年發行20億元,至1949年6月發行額已達130.3萬億元,貶值以萬倍計,經濟民生乃全面崩潰。國民政府庫存之金銀及外幣,在1945年底為9億美元,1948年4月降至1.1億美元。不少貪官和奸商又乘亂發財,無異火上澆油。蔣介石之子蔣經國曾親自坐鎮上海,督導控制物價、打擊奸商,但奈何不了有政權撐腰的官僚資本,最後只好黯然離開。

由於經濟日糟、民不聊生,國民政府成為眾矢之的。1947年5月4日,上海學生示威遊行,提出「要飯吃,要和平,要自由;反飢餓,反內戰,反迫害」,南京、北平(今北京)、天津、武漢、杭州、南昌等地學生和民眾紛紛響應。另加特務橫行、迫害異己,如民主人士李公樸、聞一多於1946年在昆明遭殺害,也引起公憤。這些學生運動和民眾抗爭,在1940年代後半期持續不斷,被中共視為解放軍作戰之外的第二條戰線。

中國國民黨領導全面抗戰取勝,戰後軍事實力也頗佔優勢,為何內戰才打了兩三年,國軍即一敗塗地?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_1
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_1

中國在1940年代後半期的超級通脹,為世界金融史所罕見。抗戰時期,因物資短缺、濫發貨幣等問題,通脹已日見嚴重,後來隨着國共內戰的戰局發展,更是急速惡化,通脹情況在上海等大城市尤其厲害。左圖:1945年10月,陪都重慶的市民將一大袋鈔票裝上黃包車,當時國民政府仍未還都南京;右圖:奧地利畫家希夫(Friedrich Schiff,1929至1947年間旅居上海,以漫畫反映上海社會百態)所繪的漫畫,反映戰後上海市民爭相兌換美元。全面內戰期間,因貨幣狂貶,國民政府統治地區的民眾不斷搶兌美元和搶購黃金。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_2
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_2

上海民眾追悼李公樸、聞一多。1946年7月,國民黨特務在雲南昆明暗殺了富有聲望的學者李公樸、聞一多,事件令國民政府在學界大失人心。戰後,國民政府多有迫害異見者,令針對政府的群眾運動一浪接一浪。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_3
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_3

早在1948年金圓劵發行前,中國民眾已深受內戰、貨幣貶值、糧食短缺之苦。圖為1947年5月蔓延全國多個大城市的「反飢餓,反內戰,反迫害」學生運動,廣受民眾支持。戰後持續不斷的學運和社會抗爭,成為內戰中的另一條戰線,打擊了國民政府的統治。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_4
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_4

1947年,民眾遊行,反對奸商。戰後通脹飆升,經濟民生急遽惡化,奸商乘機倒賣、囤積重要商品,令問題雪上加霜,民怨越來越大。孔祥熙、宋靄齡的兒子孔令侃,自1946年起在上海經營揚子公司,利用顯赫背景,在戰後經濟混亂中獲利甚豐,被視為官僚資本的典型。

ebook

民國時期聲名顯赫的宋氏三姊妹,按長幼序,為孔祥熙夫人宋靄齡、孫中山夫人宋慶齡、蔣介石夫人宋美齡。孔祥熙是民國政經界巨頭,曾任國民政府中央銀行總裁、財政部長、行政院長等要職,1944至1948年間為中國銀行董事長。孔祥熙、宋靄齡的兒子孔令侃貪財好利、生活奢靡,卻得宋美齡疼愛。1946年1月,揚子建業股份有限公司(簡稱「揚子公司」)成立,由年僅30歲的孔令侃經營。該公司通過其特殊政治背景獲取進口配額,壟斷汽車、電器、藥物、奢侈品等重要商品的進口,又違法囤積貨物、偷逃稅款,從中謀取暴利。揚子公司這類具有官僚權貴背景的企業,被稱為「官僚資本」,在當時中國政商界形成一個食利集團。官僚資本擾亂正常市場運作、打擊一般民營企業、嚴重破壞國家經濟和民生,引起極大民憤。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_5

1948年8月,國民政府下令實行幣制改革,以金圓券取代法幣,強制將黃金、白銀和外幣兌換為金圓券。措施甫推出,貨幣貶值、通貨膨脹隨即攀上新高峰。左圖:1948年金圓券貶值期間,上海市民搶購黃金;右圖:1949年6月發行的一千萬元面額金圓劵

ebook

1949年4月,在中國的金融中心上海,美元對金圓券的比值為1:95,000,000,官方匯率為400萬金圓券對一塊銀元,實際市場匯率則是900萬金圓券對一塊銀元,而金圓券貶值的速度還在不斷加快,形同完全沒有購買力的廢紙。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_6

超級通脹期間兩幅民生照片,左圖:經濟客飯也要一千元;右圖:民眾在街上爭撿地上的米粒。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_7
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_7

超級通脹期間兩幅上海照片,可見市民搶購糧食(左)及抗議糧價飛脹、食品短缺(右)。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_8
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_8

1948年8至11月間,蔣介石派兒子蔣經國到上海整頓經濟。蔣經國抵滬後,以鐵腕手段,實施物價管制等多項措施,並嚴懲不法奸商,時人稱為「上海打虎」。然而對於官僚資本,蔣經國卻是束手無策。左圖:在上海期間,蔣經國舉起拳頭,宣示「打虎」決心;右圖:「上海打虎」期間,一些奸商遭槍斃。

ebook

蔣經國知道以孔令侃揚子公司為標誌的官僚資本集團所引起的經濟破壞和民憤特大,決定嚴厲制裁。1948年9月,揚子公司舞弊被揭發,10月,蔣經國兩度下令清查,是為轟動一時的「揚子公司案」。但在宋美齡的影響下,蔣介石介入阻止調查,案件最終不了了之。蔣經國不久黯然離開上海,標誌着挽救經濟的最後努力徹底失敗。經濟崩潰是國民黨失去大陸政權的一大關鍵。

解放軍攻佔上海前,孔令侃將資金轉移到海外,本人定居美國,生活優渥。1943至1958年間追隨蔣介石,曾任蔣介石幕僚、機要秘書的周宏濤,在其回憶錄《蔣公與我》記載:1970年代初,在台灣的國民政府以蔣經國任行政院長,蔣經國組閣時,宋美齡推薦孔令侃由美返台出任財政部長,但由於蔣經國非常厭惡孔令侃,最終沒有成事。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_9
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_9

中共「解放區」主要在農村,相比於「國統區」的大城市,「解放區」的社會經濟情況較簡單和穩定。隨着內戰越打越烈,中共決定在「解放區」大規模推行土地改革,沒收地主的土地分配給農民,以進一步爭取農民支持。左圖:1946年5月4日,中共中央發出《中央關於土地問題指示》,決定將減租減息政策改為沒收地主土地分配給農民的政策;右圖:1947年10月10日,中共公佈《中國土地法大綱》,「解放區」全面落實土改。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_10
mainsite_psd_neizhaner05_10

1948年3月,河北安平縣農民保家獨立團準備開赴前線與國軍作戰。農村的主要經濟問題在於土地,中共的土改政策令農民從地主手上獲得土地,促使更多農民願意為保護自身利益而參加解放軍或參與擔架大隊等支援隊伍,並樂意上繳更多公糧,對中共最終獲勝關係重大。

中國國民黨領導全面抗戰取勝,戰後軍事實力也頗佔優勢,為何內戰才打了兩三年,國軍即一敗塗地?

國軍打敗的原因甚多,如長期的抗日戰爭令將士身心俱疲、政府大派苛捐雜稅、官員貪贓枉法、財政金融紊亂造成經濟崩潰等。尤其是中國乃農民的國度,不合理的土地制度造成農民無地少地、食不果腹,而士兵多係農家子弟,家鄉的貧困造成國軍厭戰、士氣低落。國軍內的嫡系、旁系之分,也令部分軍隊消極作戰,或投奔優待俘虜的解放軍。反觀中共領導的「解放區」,大力推行土地改革,使農民子弟踴躍參軍,為保護獲分發的土地而戰,民眾更是勇交公糧、大力支援前線。據統計,1949年中共財政收入達到糧食304億斤,約合11億美元,而同期國民政府的財政收入僅有9,000萬美元。中共財政收入達到同期國民政府的12倍,極大地支援解放軍作戰並迅速取得勝利。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE。

延伸閱讀