Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(2) The Political Consultation Failed and Full-scale Civil War

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6

Following the Double Tenth Agreement’s conclusion, the US President’s Special Envoy George C. Marshall came to China to mediate between the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨) and the Chinese Communist Party (CCP, 中國共產黨) in December 1945. In January 1946, Marshall, the Nationalist Government representative Zhang Qun (張群, later replaced by Zhang Zhizhong﹝張治中﹞) and the CCP representative Zhou Enlai (周恩來) formed the Committee of Three for military mediation. The Committee concluded a ceasefire agreement the same month.

To enforce the ceasefire, the KMT, the CCP, and the United States established the Executive Headquarters in Beiping (北平, now Beijing﹝北京﹞) to mediate disputes nationwide. At the same time, the political consultative conference in Chongqing (重慶) brought the Chinese political parties together, but little headway was made due to substantial divergence of opinion. On 5 May the same year, the Nationalist Government returned to Nanjing (南京) and a full-scale civil war broke out before long. The KMT unilaterally promulgated the Constitution of the Republic of China at the end of 1946. In 1948, the KMT alone conducted a National Assembly where Chiang Kai-shek (蔣介石) was elected as President and Li Zongren (李宗仁) as Vice President.

As for armed conflicts, the ceasefire orders given by the Committee all failed. In late June 1946, fierce armed confrontations took place in Central Plains Region , which marked the beginning of a full-scale civil war. After September, the CCP renamed its military the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) and confronted the KMT-led National Revolutionary Army (NRA) head-on. In January 1947, Marshall returned to the United States as the mediation failed.

When and where did the full-scale civil war break out?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_1
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_1

               In December 1945, the US President’s Special Envoy George C. Marshall came to China to mediate between the KMT and the CCP.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_2
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_2

In January 1946, George C. Marshall, the Nationalist Government representative Zhang Qun, and the CCP representative Zhou Enlai formed the Committee of Three and signed a ceasefire agreement. The photo shows Zhou signing the agreement with Zhang and Marshall on his sides.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_3
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_3

In January 1946, the United States, the KMT, and the CCP established the Executive Headquarters in Beiping that dispatched personnel to settle and inspect disputes nationwide. The photo shows three representatives posing for a group photo in front of the Executive Headquarters. From left to right: the CCP representative Ye Jianying (葉劍英), the US representative Walter S. Robertson, and the Nationalist Government representative Zheng Jiemin (鄭介民).

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_4
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_4

From 10 to 31 January 1946, a political consultative conference was held at the assembly hall of the Nationalist Government in Chongqing. Representatives of the KMT, the CCP, and other political parties attended the conference together with prominent figures from all parts of society.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_5

On 10 January 1946, Chiang Kai-shek and Zhou Enlai giving speeches at the conference. However, the conference was fruitless due to the chasm between the two parties.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6

Negotiations continued after the political consultative conference, with army reorganisation topped the agenda. George C. Marshall signing the Army Reorganisation Plan on 15 February 1946, with Zhou Enlai of the CCP (left) and Zhang Zhizhong of the Nationalist Government (right) on his sides. However, the plan was never implemented as the two parties’ conflicts intensified.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_7
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_7

On 5 May 1946, the Nationalist Government returned to Nanjing. The guard of honour playing military music when Chiang Kai-shek entering the office building. The negotiation venue shifted to Nanjing since then.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_8
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_8

Active military deployment and fights continued during the negotiations. The photo shows a transport ship of the US carrying NRA troops arriving in Northeast China. After World War II, the United States aided the transfer of NRA troops with planes and ships. Meanwhile, the CCP troops also established strongholds in Northeast China during the Soviet occupation of Manchuria. After the Soviet withdrawal, the Northeast became a major hotspot.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_9
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_9

On 17 June 1946, the CCP reorganised its troops in the Central Plains Region into the Shanxi-Hebei-Shandong-Henan Field Army (晉冀魯豫野戰軍, renamed the Central Plains Field Army in May 1948) led by Liu Bocheng (劉伯承), Deng Xiaoping (鄧小平), and their associates. The photo shows Liu demonstrating shooting during a Field Army drill in June 1946. At the end of June, large-scale armed conflicts between the KMT and the CCP took place in the Central Plains Region. The full-scale civil war began.

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_10
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_10

In September 1946, the CCP captured Xushui Railway Station (徐水站) in the north section of the Beiping-Hankou Railway (平漢鐵路). After September, the CCP renamed its military the “People’s Liberation Army”, “Liberation Army” or PLA for short. Between 1946 and 1949, millions of the KMT and CCP soldiers fought to the death in battles on a scale rarely seen in the history of war.

When and where did the full-scale civil war break out?

There is no simple answer to this question. In those civil and border wars, it is hard to determine the responsible person, time, and place of the first shot. Take the Chu-Han Contention (楚漢戰爭) for instance, did it start with Liu Bang’s (劉邦) conquest of the Three Qins (三秦) or his violation of the Treaty of Hong Canal and attack on Xiang Yu (項羽) in the latter’s eastward retreat? The starting point of the war remains unanswered. After the War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression, the KMT and the CCP vied to rule China. Chiang Kai-shek issued the Extermination of Communist Bandits during the Chongqing Negotiations. Meanwhile, Mao Zedong ordered the troops “to give tit for tat, to fight for every inch of land”. Armed conflicts between the two parties were already frequent after Japan’s surrender. Around 26 June 1946, large-scale battles were fought in different parts of the provinces including east Hubei (湖北), south Henan (河南), Jiangsu (江蘇), Anhui (安徽), and Shandong (山東), bringing in full-scale civil war. Both sides have kept when, where, and how the civil war erupted very secretive.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe.

Extended Reading

(二)政治協商失敗及全面內戰爆發

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6

《雙十協定》簽訂後,美國總統特使馬歇爾(George C. Marshall)於1945年12月來華調停國共關係。1946年1月,馬歇爾和國民政府代表張群(後為張治中)、中共代表周恩來,組成調停內戰的三人小組,是月國共停戰協定達成。為執行停戰令,國、共、美三方還在北平設立軍事調處執行部,分赴各衝突地點進行「調處」。同時,在重慶召開了各黨派的政治協商會議,不過因分歧過大而難有實質成果。同年5月5日,國民政府還都南京。不久全面內戰爆發,國民黨於年底單獨通過《中華民國憲法》,後於1948年自行召開國民大會,以蔣介石為總統,李宗仁副之。

在軍事方面,停戰小組雖發出多次停戰令,但均無效。1946年6月下旬,兩黨軍隊在中原地區發生嚴重武裝衝突,一場全國性的內戰就此展開。9月後,中共將其統領的軍隊改稱為「中國人民解放軍」,簡稱「解放軍」,與國民黨的「國軍」全面對仗。1947年1月,馬歇爾因調停國共內戰無效而回國。

國共全面內戰爆發於何時?在哪裏開始?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_1
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_1

                        1945年12月,美國總統特使馬歇爾來華,調停國共衝突。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_2
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_2

1946年1月,美國總統特使馬歇爾、國民政府代表張群、中共代表周恩來成立調停內戰的三人小組,國共達成停戰協定。圖為周恩來在停戰協定上簽字,左為張群,右為馬歇爾。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_3
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_3

1946年1月,美國及國共兩黨在北平成立軍事調處執行部,派員分赴衝突地點視察和調處。圖為三方代表在北平的軍事調處執行部門前合影,左起:中共代表葉劍英、美國代表羅伯遜(Walter S. Robertson)、國民政府代表鄭介民。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_4
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_4

 1946年1月10至31日,重慶國民政府禮堂舉行政治協商會議,有國民黨、共產黨、其他黨派代表、社會賢達參加。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_5
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_5

1946年1月10日,蔣介石、周恩來在政治協商會議上致詞。由於國共分歧巨大,是次會議沒有實質成果。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_6

政治協商會議後,國共繼續談判,軍隊編整是談判重點。1946年2月15日,美國代表馬歇爾在《整軍方案》上簽字,左為中共代表周恩來、右為國民政府代表張治中。隨着國共衝突日激,《整軍方案》最終成為一紙空文。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_7
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_7

          1946年5月5日,國民政府還都南京,蔣介石步入國民政府大樓時,儀仗隊演奏軍樂。國府還都後,國共談判的中心也從重慶移到南京。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_8
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_8

談判期間,國共都加緊調兵,邊談邊打。圖為1946年美國運輸船運載國軍部隊開進東北。戰後美軍曾提供飛機和船隻協助國民政府運兵。而在蘇軍佔領期間,中共軍隊亦佔領東北一些戰略重地。蘇軍撤出後,國共在東北即衝突日激。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_9
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_9

1946年6月17日,中共將中原地區的軍隊整編成晉冀魯豫野戰軍(1948年5月改稱「中原野戰軍」),由劉伯承、鄧小平等指揮。圖為1946年6月劉伯承在該軍練兵會議時示範射擊。1946年6月底,國共在中原地區發生大規模武裝衝突,全面內戰爆發。

mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_10
mainsite_psd_neizhaner02_10

1946年9月,共軍在平漢鐵路北段的戰鬥中,攻佔徐水站。是年9月後,中共軍隊改稱「中國人民解放軍」,簡稱「解放軍」。1946至1949年間,國民黨的國軍與共產黨的解放軍,合共數百萬大軍,展開戰爭史上規模罕有的殊死搏鬥。

國共全面內戰爆發於何時?在哪裏開始?

這個問題還難有準確的答案。猶如歷史上有些內戰或邊境戰爭,何方先開第一槍、戰爭在何時何地開始,均難下定論。譬如楚漢戰爭,或謂是始於劉邦出兵還定三秦,或謂是在鴻溝劃分楚河漢界後,項羽引兵東歸,劉邦卻掉過頭來攻之,故戰爭的起始仍需考證。抗戰結束後,國共兩黨都極力爭取全國的統治權,蔣介石在重慶和談時已下達原有的《剿匪手本》,毛澤東也下令「針鋒相對,寸土必爭」。日本投降後,兩黨武裝衝突已時有發生,至1946年6月26日左右,在鄂東、豫南,或蘇皖、山東一帶,均發生大規模戰事,標誌了全面內戰爆發。至於具體何時、何地、如何打起,諸方則均諱莫如深。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE。

延伸閱讀