Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3

After the establishment of the puppet state of Manchukuo (偽滿洲國), Japan was eager to enter the North China Plain and decided to first occupy Rehe Province (熱河), the frontier between Northeast and North China. To this end, the Japanese army first captured the Shanhai Pass (山海關) in early January 1933 before attacking Rehe in three directions. The whole province fell in less than two months under Japanese rapid advancement and the troops even reached the Great Wall. The Defence of the Great Wall started when the army and civilians in North China rose to resist.

The Defence of the Great Wall was a campaign launched by the Chinese army and civilians to resist the Japanese army along the Great Wall which lasted from March to May 1933. Although the Shanhai Pass was lost, the other passes of the Great Wall were still under Chinese control. The Defence of the Great Wall began at the Lengkou Pass (冷口). On 4 March, the Lengkou Pass was occupied by the Japanese army, but later recaptured by the National Revolutionary Army (NRA) after an immediate counterattack. After that, the two armies engaged many times at the Lengkou Pass, each having victories and defeats. Such a standstill lasted more than one month. Meanwhile, fierce battles also broke out at other sections of the Great Wall. At Xifengkou Pass (喜峰口), a night attack launched by the NRA killed and wounded more than 1,000 Japanese soldiers and destroyed several Japanese artillery positions. Chinese and Japanese troops also fought bloody battles lasting several days near the Gubeikou Pass (古北口) and the Nantianmen Pass (南天門). The NRA was in close combat with the Japanese many times and managed to hold the Japanese army outside the Great Wall. The Japanese army later captured the Gubeikou Pass at a high cost of more than 2,000 troops.

Although the Japanese army gained some victories, it was hard for it to launch a large-scale offensive operation due to the NRA’s brave resistance along the Great Wall. Meanwhile, the Nationalist Government was busy with suppressing the Communists in the south. Therefore, the two countries signed a temporary truce agreement in Tanggu (塘沽).

Which officers fought squarely with the invaders during the Defence of the Great Wall against Japanese aggression? How to evaluate these officers as many of them suppressed the Communists for a long time?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_1
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_1

The Japanese army on the Shanhai Pass of the Great Wall in January 1933. In 1931, the Japanese army occupied the three northeastern provinces following the September 18th Incident. It then continued to push forward and captured the Shanhai Pass in January 1933.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_2

In March 1933, the Japanese army captured Chengde (承德), the capital of Rehe.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3

This photo shows Chinese army marching to the Nankou Pass (南口) of the Great Wall. At the beginning of 1933, as the Japanese army accelerated its invasion of North China, the Chinese army rushed to safeguard the important passes of the Great Wall there.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_4
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_4

The Chinese troops staying in position at the Great Wall. On 4 March 1933, the Japanese army attacked the Lengkou Pass, which marked the start of the Defence of the Great Wall.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_5
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_5

The Chinese troops stationing near the Xifengkou Pass of the Great Wall. On 9 March 1933, the Japanese troops attacked the Xifengkou Pass, marking the start of the Battle of the Xifengkou Pass.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_6
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_6

In the bloody Battle of the Xifengkou Pass, the Broadsworded Warriors dealt a heavy blow to the Japanese army. Left: the Broadsworded Warriors of the 29th Corps of the NRA on the Great Wall. Right: Zhao Dengyu (趙登禹) led the Broadsworded Warriors to launch a night attack on the Japanese army and achieved a great victory.

ebook

On 9 March, the Japanese army attacked and seized the Xifengkou Pass. The Brigade Commander Zhao Dengyu was ordered by Song Zheyuan (宋哲元), the Commander of the 29th Corps of the NRA, to rush to the rescue. On 10 March, Zhao fought fiercely against the Japanese army at the Xifengkou Pass and selected 500 soldiers to form the Broadsworded Warriors. He personally led the warriors carrying only Chinese broadswords and grenades and split them into two routes to raid the Japanese cavalry and artillery troops late at night on 11 March. Taking advantage of the Japanese army’s lack of preparation, the Broadsworded Warriors threw grenades at the Japanese camp and then killed the Japanese troops with Chinese broadswords. During this attack, more than 1,000 Japanese troops were killed and wounded. Meanwhile, 11 tanks, 6 armoured vehicles, 18 cannons, 36 machine guns, and 1 plane were seized. Only 23 of the 500 members of the Broadsworded Warriors survived. The Japanese cavalry and artillery troops were completely wiped out overnight, and the NRA retook the Xifengkou Pass. After the event, Japanese newspaper Asahi Shimbun commented that this was the most humiliating defeat in the 60 years since Emperor Meiji built the army and that the honour of the Imperial Japanese Army had been lost outside Xifengkou Pass. The Japanese army occupied the Xifengkou Pass again on 17 March, but later retreated on 24 March. During the Defence of the Great Wall, the Chinese and Japanese armies fought back and forth over the control of the Xifengkou Pass.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_7
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_7

             On 9 March, the Battle of the Gubeikou Pass broke out. The photo shows Japanese tanks and armoured vehicles used in the battle.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_8
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_8

Left: Japanese newspaper Mainichi Shimbun’s report on the Battle of the Gubeikou Pass. Right: the Chinese army’s artillery position at the Nantianmen Pass. Both the Gubeikou Pass and the Nantianmen Pass were important battlefields in the Defence of the Great Wall, and Japanese warplanes were mobilised to fight with the ground troops in the assaults. The NRA rose and put up a strong fight, but was forced to retreat in the end. In May, the two countries signed a truce.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_9

In the Defence of the Great Wall, the NRA officers and soldiers were defending their land heroically. Left: a group photo taken in Chongqing (重慶) in the winter of 1942. They are some of the generals of the 17th Corps of the NRA who participated in the Defence of the Great Wall in 1933 (front row from the left: Huang Jie﹝黃傑﹞, Xu Tingyao﹝徐庭瑤﹞, and Du Yuming﹝杜聿明﹞; back row from the left: Liu Jiashu﹝劉嘉樹﹞, Zheng Dongguo﹝鄭洞國﹞, and Qiu Qingquan﹝邱清泉﹞). Right: Wang Runbo (﹝王潤波﹞, second from left), the Commander of the 149th Regiment of the 25th Division of the NRA during the Defence of the Great Wall. He sacrificed his life for the country in the Battle of the Gubeikou Pass on 9 March 1933.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_10
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_10

During the Defence of the Great Wall, women’s groups rushed to make bandages to support the NRA at the front. It showed that the Chinese army and civilians fought shoulder-to-shoulder against the enemy.

Which officers fought squarely with the invaders during the Defence of the Great Wall against Japanese aggression? How to evaluate these officers as many of them suppressed the Communists for a long time?

In the Defence of the Great Wall, some brave officers emerged. For example, He Zhuguo (何柱國), Shi Shian (石世安), and An Dexin (安德馨) defended the Shanhai Pass in January 1933. And those participated in the Defence of the Great Wall, included Zhao Dengyu, Wang Changhai (王長海), Dong Shengtang (董升堂), Song Zheyuan, Tong Linge (佟麟閣), Xu Tingyao, Feng Zhian (馮治安), Zhang Zizhong (張自忠), Liu Ruming (劉汝明), Guan Linzheng (關麟徵), Huang Jie, Liu Kan (劉戡), Wang Runbo, Nie Xin (聶新), Wu Chaozheng (吳超徵), Du Yuming, Zheng Dongguo, Fang Xianjue (方先覺), Liu Jiashu and Qiu Qingquan, etc. Although some of them involved in the decade-long armed confrontations between the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨) and the Chinese Communist Party (CCP, 中國共產黨), and the later attacks on the CCP troops during the full-scale civil war, the evaluation of historical figures should not be one-sided, nor should they be repudiated only because of a single event. Their contributions in the War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression should be recognised.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3

偽滿洲國成立後,日本急欲進入華北平原,決定先佔領東北與華北之間的前沿陣地熱河。為此,1933年1月初,日軍先攻取山海關,然後兵分三路直撲熱河。日軍快速推進,不到兩個月,熱河全省淪陷,直抵長城。華北軍民奮起抵抗,打響了長城抗戰。

長城抗戰是1933年3至5月中國軍民在長城沿線抗擊日軍的戰爭。當時山海關雖失,但長城其他關口仍在中國軍隊手中。長城抗戰首先在冷口打響。3月4日,日軍佔領冷口,附近的國軍立即反擊並予以收復,此後兩軍在冷口多次交手、互有勝負,相持月餘。同時長城多處也爆發惡戰。在喜峰口,國軍的一次夜襲,就砍死砍傷日軍1,000 多人,摧毀多個炮兵陣地。中日兩軍也在古北口、南天門一帶,展開連天血戰。國軍多次與日軍短兵相接,把日軍死死擋在長城外。後來日軍雖然攻佔了古北口,但也傷亡2,000餘人。由於長城沿線國軍奮勇抵抗,日軍雖然取得一些戰果,但一時也難以大舉推進,國民政府又忙於南方剿共,因此中日雙方在塘沽暫時簽訂了停戰協議。

長城抗戰和往後華北抗日中湧現了哪些對付侵略者的官兵?其中許多人長期參與剿共,應如何評價?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_1
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_1

          1932年1月山海關長城上的日軍。1931年,日軍藉「九‧一八事變」佔領東北三省後繼續進軍,1932年1月攻取山海關。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_2

1933年3月,日軍攻入熱河首府承德。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_3

開赴長城南口的中國軍隊。1933年初,日軍加緊侵略華北,中國軍隊紛紛赴援華北長城的重要關口。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_4
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_4

            在長城嚴陣以待的中國軍隊。1933年3月4日,日軍攻冷口,長城抗戰正式爆發。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_5
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_5

駐守長城喜峰口附近的中國軍隊。1933年3月9日,日軍搶攻喜峰口,喜峰口之戰爆發。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_6
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_6

在喜峰口血戰中,大刀隊予日軍沉重打擊。左圖:長城上的國軍第二十九軍大刀隊;右圖:率領大刀隊夜襲日軍取得大捷的趙登禹。

ebook

3月9日,日軍攻奪喜峰口,國軍第二十九軍軍長宋哲元命旅長趙登禹馳援。3月10日,趙登禹在喜峰口與日軍激戰,並挑選500名士兵組成大刀隊,由他親自領軍,只帶大刀和手榴彈,於3月11日深夜分兩路突襲日軍騎兵與炮兵部隊。大刀隊乘日軍不備,向日軍軍營扔手榴彈,再以大刀劈殺日軍。此次夜襲共砍死砍傷日軍逾千人,繳獲坦克11輛、裝甲車6輛、大炮18門、機槍36挺、飛機1架,而500名大刀隊員亦僅23人生還。日軍騎兵與炮兵部隊一夜之間被全殲。國軍重奪喜峰口。事後日本《朝日新聞》稱:「明治大帝造兵以來,皇軍名譽盡喪於喜峰口外,而遭受六十年來未有之侮辱。」日軍於3月17日再佔喜峰口,但又於3月24日撤出。喜峰口成為長城抗戰期間中日兩軍反覆爭奪的戰場。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_7
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_7

             3月9日,古北口之戰爆發。圖為古北口之役日軍出動坦克及裝甲車。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_8
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_8

左圖:日本《每日新聞》關於古北口戰役的報道;右圖:南天門中國軍隊的炮兵陣地。古北口和南天門都是長城抗戰的重要戰場,日本出動戰機配合地面部隊猛攻。國軍奮勇抵抗,但最終被迫撤退。5月,中日雙方協議停戰。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_9

長城抗戰,國軍將士英勇守土。左圖:參與1933年長城抗戰的國軍第十七軍部分將領在1942年冬的重慶補拍合影,前排左起黃傑、徐庭瑤、杜聿明,後排左起劉嘉樹、鄭洞國、邱清泉;右圖:左二為王潤波,長城抗戰時任國軍第二十五師一四九團團長,1933年3月9日在古北口之戰中犧牲。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_10
mainsite_psd_kangzhan04_10

     長城抗戰期間,婦女團體趕製繃帶支持前線國軍,盡顯軍民同心抗敵。

長城抗戰和往後華北抗日中湧現了哪些對付侵略者的官兵?其中許多人長期參與剿共,應如何評價?

在長城抗戰及日後的華北戰場,國共兩黨的軍隊在對付侵略者均有不俗表現,湧現一些英勇的官兵,例如:1933年1月守衛山海關的何柱國、石世安、安德馨等,長城抗戰的趙登禹、王長海、董升堂、宋哲元、徐庭瑤、馮治安、張自忠、劉汝明、關麟徵、黃傑、劉戡、王潤波、聶新、吳超徵、杜聿明、鄭洞國、方先覺、劉嘉樹、邱清泉等,以及吉鴻昌、馮玉祥、方振武、佟麟閣、李文田、高志航、傅作義、董其昌、衛立煌,乃至狼牙山五壯士,不能盡述。儘管其中一些人在國共十年武裝對抗及後來全面內戰中,參與攻擊中共軍隊,但評價歷史人物切忌片面,也不能憑一時一事就全盤否定,對於他們在抗戰中的貢獻當予肯定。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE。