Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(6) Russian, British, and Japanese Incursions during the Early Republican Era

mainsite_psd_minchu06_05_en
mainsite_psd_minchu06_05_en

Throughout the early years of the Republic, the imperialist powers never stopped coveting and encroaching the Chinese territory. Among them, Russia, Britain, and Japan were the most aggressive.

Ever since it lost the Russo-Japanese War, Russia stepped up its infiltration into Outer Mongolia to make up for its loss of interests in Northeast China. As soon as the 1911 Xinhai Revolution (辛亥革命) broke out, Russia seized the opportunity to incite Outer Mongolia to declare “independence”. For a time, Outer Mongolia teetered between “political independence” and “autonomy” as support from Russia fluctuated with its own regime changes. In 1921, Outer Mongolia finally declared independence. In July 1924, it proclaimed itself the Mongolian People’s Republic and changed its capital name from Urga to Ulaanbaatar. Although the Chinese government at that time did not recognise Mongolia’s independence, it was powerless to stop it. Meanwhile, a race was on between Russia and Britain to cultivate agents and expand their own influence in the Xinjiang (新疆) region.

Besides tampering with Chinese sovereignty in Xinjiang, Britain also actively tried to penetrate Tibet. It even fomented Tibet’s independence from China after the 1911 Revolution. From October 1913 to July 1914, a conference between Britain, China, and Tibet was convened in Simla, northern India. At the conference, Britain proposed dividing Tibet into “Inner Tibet” and “Outer Tibet”. “Inner Tibet” was to be created from Amdo (mostly modern-day Qinghai﹝青海﹞area) and Kham (mostly modern-day eastern Tibet), while the territory south and west of “Inner Tibet” was to be defined as “Outer Tibet”. The plan was for “Inner Tibet” to remain under Chinese jurisdiction and “Outer Tibet” to become autonomous. Although the proposal failed to pass, the British and Tibetan plenipotentiaries met secretly sometime during the convention period and agreed on the eastern section of the Sino-Indian border line on their own. This so-called “McMahon Line” has never been recognised by any Chinese administrations.

Japan went all out to invade Shandong Province (山東) during the early Republican years. In 1914, on the pretext of declaring war on Germany, Japan occupied Qingdao (青島), Shandong, regardless of China’s neutrality. In January 1915, Japan proposed the “Twenty-One Demands” to the Yuan Shikai (袁世凱) government. Besides recognising its inheritance of the German privileges in Shandong, Japan also demanded China to be controlled by it over different affairs including politics, finance, and military. To secure Japanese support, Yuan accepted most of the terms on 9 May. Later, when Duan Qirui (段祺瑞) was in power, he also declared that he would “gladly accept” Japan’s request to inherit the German privileges for Japanese loans. The Shandong Problem later became the fuse of the 1919 May Fourth Movement.

What were the impacts of the imperialist incursions into Outer Mongolia, Tibet, and Shandong during the early Republican era? Briefly outline the key impacts.

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_01
mainsite_psd_minchu06_01

On the left: a map of Outer Mongolia published in the Republican era, incorporating Outer Mongolia as a part of China; on the right: Jebtsundamba Khutukhtu of Outer Mongolia. Since the late Qing dynasty, Russia had intensified its infiltration into Outer Mongolia by supporting Jebtsundamba and fomenting Mongolian independence.

ebook

With Russia’s support, the 8th Jebtsundamba Khutuktu proclaimed the establishment of the Bogd Khanate of Mongolia (Great Mongolian State) in Urga, the capital, on 15 February 1912 and assumed the title of Bodg Khaan (“Great Khan”) himself. On 3 November, Jebtsundamba signed the Russo-Mongolian Agreement with Russia, which included the promise of Russia aid Mongolia in training a national army, a prohibition on Chinese military’s presence in Outer Mongolia, a prohibition on Chinese immigration to the area and the granting of privileges to Russia in Outer Mongolia. On 7 June 1915, the Republic of China and Russia signed the Kyakhta Agreement, stipulating that Outer Mongolia as a part of China, and Russia and Outer Mongolia recognising China’s suzerainty. In addition, China would recognise Outer Mongolia’s autonomy. Despite the agreement, Russia continued to bolster its influence in Outer Mongolia.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_02
mainsite_psd_minchu06_02

A Republican-era photo of a marketplace in Urga, the capital of Outer Mongolia. Russian incitement contributed to Outer Mongolia’s declaration of independence in 1921. In 1924, it proclaimed itself the Mongolian People’s Republic and renamed the capital Ulaanbaatar.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_03
mainsite_psd_minchu06_03

Since the late Qing dynasty, Britain had intensified its expansion of interests in Tibet. Pictured are British troops passing by Potala Palace in Lhasa, Tibet, in August 1904.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_04
mainsite_psd_minchu06_04

From October 1913 to July 1914, a conference between Britain, China, and Tibet was convened in Simla, northern India, to discuss issues such as Tibet’s status and the Sino-Indian border line. Pictured are the representatives of China, Britain, and Tibet attending the meeting. Chen Yifan (or Ivan Chen, 陳貽範), representing the Republic of China, is the third figure from the left in the front row. Henry McMahon, the British representative, is the fourth figure from the left. Shatra Paljor Dorje, representing the Tibetan Council of Ministers, is the fifth figure from the left.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_05_en
mainsite_psd_minchu06_05_en

On the left: a photo of the British representative Henry McMahon taken during the 1913-14 Simla Conference; on the right: the drawing of the territorial dispute-generating McMahon Line had far-reaching consequences.

ebook

On 24 March 1914, without China’s knowledge, McMahon and the representative of the Tibetan government agreed on a newly drawn border line that lay around 100 kilometres north of the eastern sector of the traditional (albeit non-demarcated) border line between China and India. The border came to be known as the McMahon Line. Over history, not one Chinese administration - from the Beiyang government, the Nanjing Nationalist Government to the People’s Republic of China - has recognised the McMahon Line. The line has led to territorial disputes and even sparked the Sino-Indian Border Conflict in 1962. The border-related issues remain unresolved to this day.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_06
mainsite_psd_minchu06_06

In 1914, Japan entered the First World War. Japanese troops were sent to crush the German forces stationed in Qingdao. At that time, China was neutral in the war. Pictured are Japanese troops marching in Qingdao after capturing it.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_07
mainsite_psd_minchu06_07

Once Japan occupied Qingdao, it wanted to take over the German privileges in Shandong and expand its sphere of influence in China. In January 1915, Japan proposed the “Twenty-One Demands” to the Yuan Shikai government. Pictured are the Sino-Japanese negotiation of the “Twenty-One Demands” in 1915.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_08
mainsite_psd_minchu06_08

The original text of the “Twenty-One Demands”. In addition to recognising Japanese inheritance of the German privileges in Shandong, China was demanded to grant Japan the control over its political, financial, military and various other affairs. In China, the demands were commented as “a treaty of subjugation”.

ebook

The demands in “Twenty-One Demands” were categorised into five groups: the first group (four demands) confirmed Japan’s takeover of the German concessions in Shandong; the second group (seven demands) recognised Japan’s privileges and concessions in southern Manchuria and eastern Inner Mongolia; the third group (two demands) granted Japan joint control of the Han-Ye-Ping Comapny (漢冶萍公司, a company with main businesses of iron ore mining, coal mining, and metallurgy); the fourth group (one demand) barred China from leasing or giving any further coastal or island concessions to foreign powers; and the fifth (seven demands) demanded China to hire Japanese consultants to advise the country on its political, financial, and military affairs, and established joint police forces and arsenals as Sino-Japanese ventures.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_09
mainsite_psd_minchu06_09

On the left: the manuscript of the “Twenty-One Demands” with Yuan Shikai’s handwritten comments; on the right: Yuan’s approval of the “Twenty-One Demands”. On 7 May 1915, Japan issued an ultimatum to China and demanded a response in 48 hours. On 9 May, Yuan accepted most of the terms in the “Twenty-One Demands”, leaving those in the fifth group “for future discussion”. On 25 May, China signed the “Twenty-One Demands” with Japan.

mainsite_psd_minchu06_10
mainsite_psd_minchu06_10

On the left: the Japanese media reported that the Duan Qirui administration and the Japanese government reached the Nishihara Loans; on the right: extensive discussion of the Shandong Problem in the Weekly Review (《每週評論》) journal issued on 11 May 1919. In return for providing the loans, the Duan Qirui administration would “gladly accept” the transition of the German privileges in Shandong to Japan. Public discontent over the Shandong Problem later grew into the 1919 May Fourth Movement.

ebook

The Nishihara Loans were a series of public and secret loans the Duan Qirui administration signed with the Japanese government between 1917 and 1918. As the transactions were managed by Nishihara Kamezo, a trusted subordinate of the Japanese Prime Minister Terauchi Masatake, they became known as the Nishihara Loans. As for how the loans were used, Guo Tingyi (郭廷以) summed it up in Modern Chinese History (《近代中國史綱》) “… of the over 260 million-yen loans of Japan taken out by Duan Qirui between 1917 and 1918, half were used to repay foreign and domestic debts and most of the rest were spent on the civil war”.

What were the impacts of the imperialist incursions into Outer Mongolia, Tibet, and Shandong during the early Republican era? Briefly outline the key impacts.

Under Russia’s persistent instigation to separate from China, Outer Mongolia declared independence and proclaimed itself the Mongolian People’s Republic in 1921 and 1924 respectively. In 1992, it renamed itself Mongolia. The McMahon Line was conceived by Britain during the Simla Conference between 1913 and 1914. The subsequent Sino-Indian border dispute remains unresolved to this day. Japan tried to take over the German privileges in Shandong and put forward the “Twenty-One Demands”, which created the Shandong Problem that later sparked the May Fourth Movement in China. The Shandong Problem was not initially resolved until the Washington Conference between 1921 and 1922.

Sources of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe and misc. photo sources.

鴉片戰爭至洋務運動
(1840-1894)
近代澳門
(1840-1949)
抗日戰爭
(即將推出)
內戰與中華人民共和國成立
(即將推出)

(六)民初俄英日侵華

mainsite_psd_minchu06_05
mainsite_psd_minchu06_05

在民國初年,列強並未放鬆覬覦和侵奪中國領土。其中尤以俄、英、日為最。自日俄戰爭失敗後,俄國因中國東北權益被日本所奪,遂加緊向外蒙古地區滲透。辛亥革命一爆發,俄國乘機煽動外蒙古宣佈「獨立」。其後雖有「獨立」或「自治」的反覆,並經俄國自身政權的更迭,但外蒙古終於在1921年宣告獨立。及至1924年7月又更名為蒙古人民共和國,首都庫倫改稱烏蘭巴托。當時中國政府雖不予承認,但也無力阻止。同時,俄國亦與英國在新疆地區展開競爭,力圖培養各自的代理人。

英國不僅染指新疆,更極力滲入西藏。辛亥革命後,英國力圖策動西藏獨立。1913年10月至1914年7月,在印度北部之西姆拉召開了中英藏會議,英國提出以青海、西康劃為「內藏」,其南其西為「外藏」並推行「自治」。其議雖未完全得逞,但英國於會議期間與西藏代表秘密決定了中印東段的邊界線,即所謂「麥克馬洪線(McMahon Line)」,唯中國歷屆政府均未予以承認。

至於日本,在民初極力侵入山東,於1914年藉口對德國宣戰,不顧中國中立,派兵攻佔青島。1915年1月,日本向袁世凱政府提出「二十一條」,除承認日本繼承德國在山東之特權,更要讓中國在政治、財政、軍事等多方面受日本控制。袁世凱為了換取日本支持,於5月9日接受大部分條款。段祺瑞執政期間為向日借款,也對日本繼承德國特權之要求表示「欣然同意」。山東問題後來成為1919年五四運動的導火線。

民初列強對中國外蒙古、西藏及山東的侵略,產生了何種影響?試略述之。

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_01
mainsite_psd_minchu06_01

左圖:民國時期出版的外蒙古地圖,將外蒙古歸入中國版圖;右圖:外蒙古庫倫活佛哲布尊丹巴。俄國自清末即加強滲透外蒙古,支持哲布尊丹巴,推動外蒙古獨立。

ebook

俄國於1912年 2月15日支持外蒙古的第八世哲布尊丹巴在首府庫倫成立大蒙古國,哲布尊丹巴自封大蒙古皇帝。11月3日哲布尊丹巴與俄國簽訂《俄蒙協約》,內容包括:俄國幫助外蒙古訓練國民軍、不准華軍進入外蒙古、不准華人移民此地、俄人在外蒙古享有特權。1915年6月7日,民國政府與俄國簽訂《恰克圖協約》,規定外蒙古為中國領土一部分,承認中國宗主權,中國則承認外蒙古自治。但簽約後俄國繼續向外蒙古擴大影響力。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_02
mainsite_psd_minchu06_02

              民國時期外蒙古首府庫倫的市集。在俄國策動下,外蒙古於1921年宣告獨立,1924年更名蒙古人民共和國,首都庫倫改稱烏蘭巴托。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_03
mainsite_psd_minchu06_03

                                               英國自清末即加緊染指西藏。圖為1904年8月英軍進入西藏拉薩,行經布達拉宮。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_04
mainsite_psd_minchu06_04

1913年10月至1914年7月,中英藏會議在印度北部之西姆拉召開,商討西藏及中印邊界等問題,圖為參加會議的中英藏代表。前排左三為中華民國代表陳貽範,左四為英國代表麥克馬洪(Henry McMahon),左五為西藏噶廈代表夏扎‧班覺多吉。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_05
mainsite_psd_minchu06_05

      左圖:1913至1914年西姆拉會議期間的英方代表麥克馬洪;右圖:麥克馬洪線產生領土爭議,影響深遠。

ebook

1914年3月24日,麥克馬洪與西藏地方政府代表在中國不知情下達成協議,於中印邊界東段沿習慣線往北100公里劃出了一條邊界線,即麥克馬洪線。中國歷屆政府,包括北洋政府、南京國民政府、中華人民共和國政府均不予承認。麥克馬洪線引起領土糾紛,1962年中國和印度更爆發邊境戰爭,相關爭議至今仍未解決。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_06
mainsite_psd_minchu06_06

                1914年,日本參加第一次世界大戰,出兵擊敗駐守中國山東青島的德軍,當時的中國為中立國。圖為日軍佔領青島後舉行入城儀式。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_07
mainsite_psd_minchu06_07

日本佔領青島後,欲繼承德國在山東之特權及進一步擴大在中國的影響力,於1915年1月向袁世凱政府提出「二十一條」。圖為1915年中日雙方就「二十一條」展開談判。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_08
mainsite_psd_minchu06_08

「二十一條」原文。「二十一條」除承認日本繼承德國在山東之特權外,更要讓中國在政治、財政、軍事等多方面受日本控制。當時有評論直指這是「亡國條約」。

ebook

「二十一條」包括五號事項:第一號(四條),承認日本繼承德國在山東之特權;第二號(七條),承認日本在南滿和東蒙的優越地位和特殊權益;第三號(兩條),漢冶萍公司改為中日合辦;第四號(一條),中國沿海所有港灣、島嶼不准租讓與他國;第五號(七條),中國聘日本人為政治、財政、軍事顧問,中日合辦地方警察、軍械廠等。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_09
mainsite_psd_minchu06_09

左圖:袁世凱手批「二十一條」的稿本;右圖:袁世凱批准「二十一條」的文書。1915年5月7日,日本政府提出最後通諜,限48小時答覆。5月9日,袁世凱接受了「二十一條」大部分要求,僅第五號 「容日後協商」。5月25日,「二十一條」簽訂。

mainsite_psd_minchu06_10
mainsite_psd_minchu06_10

左圖:日本傳媒報道段祺瑞政府和日本政府達成西原借款;右圖:1919年5月11日《每週評論》大篇幅討論山東問題。通過借款,日本獲段祺瑞政府就日本要求繼承德國在山東之特權表示「欣然同意」。山東問題觸發了1919年的五四運動。

ebook

西原借款是指1917至1918年間段祺瑞政府和日本政府簽訂的一系列公開和秘密借款的總稱。因日方主要經辦人為日本首相寺內正毅親信西原龜三,故稱西原借款。郭廷以《近代中國史綱》指出:「綜計1917至1918年,段祺瑞所借日款約二億六千餘萬日元,半數用於贖還內外債,餘多用於內戰。」

民初列強對中國外蒙古、西藏及山東的侵略,產生了何種影響?試略述之。

俄國不斷鼓動外蒙古脫離中國。1921年外蒙古宣告獨立,1924年蒙古人民共和國成立,1992年蒙古人民共和國易名蒙古國。英國在1913至1914年的西姆拉會議期間炮製了麥克馬洪線,成為影響至今的中印邊界爭端。日本力圖承繼德國在山東的權益,並提出「二十一條」,產生山東問題,後來成為中國五四運動的導火線,及至1921至1922年華盛頓會議才獲初步解決。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE、其他資料圖片。