mainsite_psd_wusi03_300
mainsite_psd_wusi03_300

Although the May Fourth Movement (五四運動) reflected the long-term influence of the New Culture Movement (新文化運動), it was first a political incident initiated by the student-led patriotic movement that occurred in Beijing on May 4, 1919. The news of China’s diplomatic failure at the Paris Peace Conference sparked national outrage. In the afternoon of May 4, over 3,000 students from 13 educational institutions, with students of Peking University (北京大學) at the fore, gathered at Tiananmen Square (天安門廣場) with a slogan of “struggle for sovereignty externally, get rid of national traitors at home” (外爭主權,內除國賊) and demanded China to defend its national interests in Shandong as well as punish officials responsible for negotiating with the Japanese. These included Cao Rulin (曹汝霖), Minister of Transport; Lu Zongyu (陸宗輿), Director-General of the Chinese Mint; and Zhang Zongxiang (章宗祥), China’s Ambassador to Japan. When the student demonstrators reached Cao Rulin’s residence at Zhaojialou (趙家樓), they beat Zhang Zongxiang and set Zhaojialou ablaze. In response, the Beiyang Government (北洋政府) dispatched military police to arrest numerous students, a move that triggered protests from all classes of society and led to the proliferation of class boycotts, labor strikes and business strikes. Eventually, the government bowed to public wrath and released the detained students. Cao Ruilin, Lu Zongyu, Zhang Zongxiang were also removed from office. At one point, President Xu Shichang (徐世昌) even tendered his resignation. On June 28, China’s representatives refused to sign the Treaty of Versailles. This was hailed as a victory for the May Fourth Movement at that stage.

The New Culture Movement covered the period from 1915 to 1923. How does the May Fourth Movement fit into the wider movement?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_v2_1
mainsite_psd_wusi03_v2_1

Angered by China’s diplomatic failure at the Paris Peace Conference, throngs of students in Beijing marched to Tiananmen Square on May 4, 1919. A notice by Peking University student Luo Jialun (羅家倫) called Notice to the Entire Academic Community in Beijing (北京全體學界) was disseminated to the demonstrators. It issued a clear call to “struggle for sovereignty externally, get rid of national traitors at home”.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_2
mainsite_psd_wusi03_2

In the afternoon of May 4, 1919, over 3,000 students, with Peking University students at the forefront, gathered in Tiananmen Square with calls to “struggle for sovereignty externally, get rid of national traitors at home”. It was a protest against the Japanese being allowed to assume control of German interests in Shandong, and demanded the punishment of Cao Rulin, Lu Zongyu and Zhang Zongxiang.

ebook

A sense of nationalism and patriotism among the Chinese people had steadily risen from the late Qing dynasty to the early years of the Republic. The bullying that China suffered at the hands of foreign powers due to its weakness was particularly resented by young students. When news of the Paris Peace Conference diplomatic failure arrived, it lit the fuse of the powder keg of pent-up frustration.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_3
mainsite_psd_wusi03_3

On May 4, the student demonstrators marched to Cao Rulin’s residence at Zhaojialou and set it ablaze. In response, the Beiyang Government dispatched military police to arrest the demonstrators. The picture on the left shows the burnt ruins of Zhaojialou. The picture on the right shows modern-day Zhaojialou.

ebook

Cao Rulin, Minister of Transport, had signed the Twenty-One Demands on behalf of the Yuan Shikai Government while Lu Zongyu, Director-General of the Chinese Mint, had borrowed heavily from the Japanese; Zhang Zongxiang was China’s ambassador to Japan. The trio were blamed for betraying China’s national interests to Japan and branded national traitors by the students. The May Fourth demonstrators went to Cao Rulin’s residence to seize the man himself. Instead of Cao Rulin, they found Zhang Zongxiang there. Mistaking him for Cao Rulin, they beat him up and burned Cao’s residence, an incident later known as the “burning of Zhaojialou” .

mainsite_psd_wusi03_4
mainsite_psd_wusi03_4

The Beiyang Government’s suppression of the demonstration incurred public wrath. On the left, on May 5, 1919, Xinshenbao (新申報), a Shanghai (上海) newspaper, reported on the incident. On the right, an urgent telegram issued by the student unions of Shanghai and Tianjin (天津), rallying the people of China to support the Beijing (北京) students.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_5
mainsite_psd_wusi03_5

A wave of protests quickly spread throughout the country. On the left, on May 7, 1919, over 20,000 people from all walks of society in Shanghai assembled at Nanshi Public Sports Ground (南市公共體育場) in support of the students of Beijing. On the right, on May 9, 1919, students of Tsinghua University (清華大學) burned Japanese products at the sportsground.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_6
mainsite_psd_wusi03_6

United by the same cause, workers and merchants launched labor and business strikes in support of the students. On the left Shibao (時報), a Shanghai newspaper, reported on a labor strike by over 9,000 workers at a Japanese-owned textile factory in China. On the right, merchants took to the streets calling for businesses strikes.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_7
mainsite_psd_wusi03_7

Labor strikes, business strikes and class boycotts proliferated throughout the country during the May Fourth Movement. Among them, the June Third Strike (六三罷工) that occurred in Shanghai on June 3, 1919 drew the most attention. The photo shows closed shops all along Shanghai’s Nanjing Road (南京路); also featured are a banner with the slogan “restrain [the government] together, persevere till the end” and the Republic’s pentacolor national flag.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_8
mainsite_psd_wusi03_8

The May Fourth Movement spread from Beijing to numerous coastal and inland cities, and mobilized a staggering number of people from all sectors in society. Unprecedented in scale, the movement was regarded as the first spontaneous mass movement in near-modern Chinese history. On the left, the people of Jinan (濟南) marching in protest. On the right, a protest gathering held by students in Chongqing (重慶).

mainsite_psd_wusi03_9
mainsite_psd_wusi03_9

The student protesters were undaunted by the threat of government suppression. Both pictures above were taken in June 1919. The picture on the left shows military police patrolling the streets of Beijing, on guard against demonstration activities. The picture on the right shows students incarcerated in a makeshift prison in Beijing.

mainsite_psd_wusi03_10
mainsite_psd_wusi03_10

On June 28, 1919, the Treaty of Versailles was signed at the Paris Peace Conference. In order to calm down public anger, the Beiyang Government finally released the detained students, removed a number of officers including Cao Ruilin, Lu Zongyu and Zhang Zongxiang from office, and refused to sign the Treaty of Versailles. Following these measures, classes, work and businesses resumed, marking the end of the May Fourth Movement. The May Fourth Movement was credited for galvanizing civic spirit and heralding a new era in the development of ideas and culture, social movements and political environment in China .

ebook

Although the May Fourth Movement did not result in the immediate return of the German interests in Shandong to China, the movement drew national attention to the issue and China finally achieved a diplomatic breakthrough on this matter. From November 12, 1921 to February 6, 1922, an international conference was held in Washington D.C.. Nine countries were represented comprising the United States, the United Kingdom, Japan, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium, Portugal and China. They met with the aim of limiting the naval arms race and resolving issues in the Pacific and Far East. An imposing Chinese delegation of over 130 people, headed by the plenipotentiaries Shi Zhaoji (施肇基), Gu Weijun (顧維鈞) and Wang Chonghui (王寵惠) was dispatched to participate in the conference. On February 4, China and Japan signed a treaty called For the Settlement of Outstanding Questions Related to Shandong (解決山東問題懸案條約) and its supplementary agreements. It mandated that Japan should return to China the former German Leased Territory and Shandong should be opened to trade. Furthermore, Japan agreed to withdraw its troops from Qingdao (青島) and the Jiaoji (膠濟) Railway Zone and auxiliary rail lines, and return control of the Qingdao Customs, Jiaoji Railway and its auxiliary lines to China. While the supplementary agreement of the treaty did grant various privileges to the Japanese and other foreigners, China nevertheless succeeded in recovering Shandong and its ownership of the Jiaoji Railroad through the treaty and without the threat or use of military force. It answered the May Fourth Movement’s call to “struggle for sovereignty externally” and was regarded as one of China’s major diplomatic victories after the founding of the Republic.

The New Culture Movement covered the period from 1915 to 1923. How does the May Fourth Movement fit into the wider movement?

Though catalyzed by the New Culture Movement, the May Fourth Movement was essentially a national movement best characterized by its slogan “struggle for sovereignty externally, get rid of national traitors at home”. It started with the students’ demonstration in Tiananmen Square on May 4, 1919; by June, it had spread to Shanghai and led to large-scale class boycotts, labor and business strikes in support of the students. As a result, the government was forced to release the detained students and remove Cao Ruilin, Lu Zongyu and Zhang Zongxiang from office. It forced the government to refuse to sign the Treaty of Versailles on June 28. It was considered a victory at that stage, and the movement came to a close soon after. Later on, some of the terms of the Twenty-One Demands were withdrawn when China and Japan signed a treaty called For the Settlement of Outstanding Questions Related to Shandong at the Washington Conference held in 1922. Yet it was not until Japan’s surrender in 1945 that the complete set of demands were abolished. These were some of the aftermaths of the May Fourth Movement.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe (pictures 1 -7, 9, 10), Visual China Group (pictures 2, 5, 8), misc. photo sources.

Extended Reading

鴉片戰爭至洋務運動
(1840-1894)
民國成立至南京十年(最新)
(1912-1937)
近代港澳滄桑
(1840-1949)
抗日戰爭
(即將推出)
內戰與中華人民共和國成立
(即將推出)

(三)五四愛國運動爆發

mainsite_psd_wusi03_300
mainsite_psd_wusi03_300

五四愛國運動雖受新文化運動的持續薰陶,但其本身更屬於政治事件,並以1919年5月4日發生在北京的學生愛國運動為標幟。5月2日,《晨報》據梁啓超由歐洲所發電函刊登《外交警報  敬告國人》,巴黎和會外交失敗消息傳來,舉國義憤填膺。5月4日下午,以北京大學為首的十三所學校三千多名學生雲集天安門,高呼「外爭主權,內除國賊」,要求維護山東權益及懲辦交通總長曹汝霖、幣制局總裁陸宗輿、駐日公使章宗祥這些對日交涉官員。學生遊行到趙家樓曹宅,痛打了章宗祥,並火燒趙家樓。隨後北洋政府軍警逮捕多名學生,引發全國各階層抗議,多處發生罷課、罷工、罷市。最後政府迫於眾怒,釋放學生,罷免曹、陸、章諸人,大總統徐世昌一度提出辭職。6月28日中國代表拒絕在《凡爾賽和約》上簽字。五四愛國運動至此取得了階段性成果。

在時間上,新文化運動約在1915至1923年間,五四運動又當如何界定?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_v2_1
mainsite_psd_wusi03_v2_1

受巴黎和會外交失敗刺激,1919年5月4日,北京大批學生遊行前往天安門。遊行時散發北京大學學生羅家倫所寫的《北京全體學界通告》,其中明確提到「外爭主權,內除國賊」。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_2
mainsite_psd_wusi03_2

1919年5月4日下午,以北大學生為首的三千多名學生聚集天安門,高呼「外爭主權,內除國賊」,既抗議日本侵略山東,亦要求懲辦曹汝霖、陸宗輿、章宗祥。

ebook

清末民初,中國國內民族和愛國意識與日俱增,青年學生尤恨國弱招外侮。巴黎和會外交失敗惡耗傳來,久積之憤乃陡然爆發。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_3
mainsite_psd_wusi03_3

五四當日,學生遊行至曹汝霖趙家樓住宅,縱火焚燒,北洋政府出動軍警拘捕示威學生。左圖為遭學生焚毀的趙家樓,右圖為趙家樓今貌。

ebook

交通總長曹汝霖曾代表袁世凱政府簽署「二十一條」、幣制局總裁陸宗輿經手大借日債、章宗祥為駐日公使。三人被指向日本出賣中國權益,遭當時的學生斥為「國賊」。五四示威學生遊行至趙家樓曹汝霖住所,想抓曹汝霖。學生找不到曹汝霖,但誤以為當時在曹宅的章宗祥是曹汝霖,遂痛打了章宗祥,並把曹宅燒掉,是為「火燒趙家樓」事件。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_4
mainsite_psd_wusi03_4

北洋政府鎮壓的清息傳開,引起公憤。左圖:1919年5月5日,上海《新申報》號外報道事件經過;右圖:上海學聯和天津學聯向全國發出急電,呼籲各界支持北京學生。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_5
mainsite_psd_wusi03_5

抗議怒潮迅速蔓延。左圖:1919年5月7日,上海各界兩萬餘人在南市公共體育場召開國民大會,聲援北京學生;右圖:1919年5月9日,清華大學學生在操場焚燒日貨。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_6
mainsite_psd_wusi03_6

工人和商界站在同一陣線,發動罷工和罷市支持學生。左圖:上海《時報》報道日本在華紗廠的九千餘工人發動罷工;右圖:商界走上街頭號召罷市。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_7
mainsite_psd_wusi03_7

五四運動期間多處爆發罷工、罷市、罷課,當中以1919年6月3日上海的「六三罷工」震撼最大。圖為上海南京路街頭的罷市景像,可見「群力抑制,堅持到底」的標語及當時中國的國旗五色旗。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_8
mainsite_psd_wusi03_8

五四運動由北京蔓延至多個沿海及內陸城市、牽涉社會不同界別、參與人數眾多。如此大規模的自發群眾運動,為中國近代史上首次。圖左為濟南民眾遊行;圖右為重慶學生集會。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_9
mainsite_psd_wusi03_9

面對政府鎮壓,學生沒有屈服。上兩圖皆攝於1919年6月:左圖為軍警在北京街頭巡邏,防範示威;右圖為被軍警拘禁在北京一臨時監獄的大學生。

mainsite_psd_wusi03_10
mainsite_psd_wusi03_10

1919年6月28日,巴黎和會簽署《凡爾賽和約》。北洋政府因眾怒難犯,最終釋放學生,罷免曹、陸、章諸人,拒簽《凡爾賽和約》。此後陸續復工、復市、復課,五四運動結束。五四運動令民氣大振,為中國近代的思想文化、社會運動、政治發展揭開新一頁。

ebook

五四運動雖未能即時讓中國收回山東權益,但運動令舉國上下皆以此為念,兩年多後終於在外交上獲得突破。1921年11月12日至1922年2月6日,美國、英國、日本、法國、意大利、荷蘭、比利時、葡萄牙、中國,共九個國家在美國首都華盛頓舉行國際會議,商討限制海軍軍備、解決太平洋和遠東諸項問題。中國以施肇基、顧維鈞、王寵惠為全權代表,組成一百三十多人的龐大代表團參加。2月4日,中國和日本簽訂了《解決山東問題懸案條約》及其附約。條約規定:日本將德國舊租借地交還中國,中國將該地全部開為商埠;原駐青島、膠濟鐵路及其支線的日軍應立即撤退;青島海關歸還中國;膠濟鐵路及其支線歸還中國。附約中雖賦予日本人和其他外國人許多特權,但中國仍是通過該條約收回了山東和膠濟鐵路權益。中國在沒有武力後盾的情況下成功收回山東權益,為民國以來一次重要外交成就,正好回應了五四「外爭主權」的口號。

在時間上,新文化運動約在1915至1923年間,五四運動又當如何界定?

五四運動雖由新文化運動所催生,但作為一場愛國運動,其內涵主要體現在運動的象徵性口號「外爭主權,內除國賊」。它起於1919年5月4日學生的天安門遊行,至6月上海大規模罷課、罷工、罷市支援,政府被迫釋放學生和罷免曹、陸、章, 6月28日中國代表拒絕在《凡爾賽和約》上簽字,至此可謂取得了階段性的成果,運動亦告一段落。後來在1922年華盛頓會議上中國和日本簽訂了《中日解決山東問題懸案條約》,「二十一條」部分條款被取消,而全部規定直至1945年日本投降後才徹底廢除,這些則屬於五四運動的後續影響。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE(圖1-7、9、10)、視覺中國(圖2、5、8)、其他資料圖片。

延伸閱讀