(1) Rise of the New Culture Movement

mainsite_psd_wusi01_02
mainsite_psd_wusi01_02

The Republic of China not only brought a new regime but also a new culture. This new culture spurred a growing trend that was anti-tradition, anti-Confucianism and anti-classical Chinese language. It stood in opposition to established culture and gradually evolved into a movement towards cultural-intellectual and literary reform known as the New Culture Movement (新文化運動). The beginning of the New Culture Movement was marked by the debut of Youth Magazine (青年雜誌), a Shanghai-based journal edited by Chen Duxiu (陳獨秀) on September 15, 1915. The journal moved office to Beijing the following year and was renamed New Youth (新青年). The New Culture Movement itself was pioneered by a number of intellectuals who had been exposed to new ideas through studying abroad, like Chen Duxiu, Li Dazhao (李大釗), Cai Yuanpei (蔡元培), Hu Shi (胡適, also known as Hu Shih), Lu Xun (魯迅), Qian Xuantong (錢玄同) and Liu Ban’nong (劉半農). New Youth became the group’s main forum. There, Chen Duxiu rallied supporters under the twin banners of democracy and science (which were nicknamed Mr D and Mr S respectively). From October 1917 onwards, the journal shifted its focus to the October Revolution in Russia, and Marxism. By promoting a new mindset, the New Culture Movement laid the cultural groundwork for the subsequent May Fourth Movement (五四運動) demonstrating the mutual support between the two movements. Later, Chen Duxiu, Li Dazhao and Hu Shi had a falling out due to different political views. In June 1923, New Youth shifted to a quarterly schedule and became the official key theoretical text of the Chinese Communist Party. This largely marked the end of the New Culture Movement.

Why was there a New Culture Movement when the 1911 Revolution had already toppled the monarchy and established the new Republic?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_01
mainsite_psd_wusi01_01

Beijing 1915 - Corner tower of the Forbidden City (故宮); Western-style buildings lined Middle Sichuan Road (四川中路) in Shanghai in a photograph taken around 1915. At that time, Beijing was the capital of the Republic of China and Shanghai was an international trading port. Having overthrown China’s monarchy, the young Republic was at the crossroads where traditional and modern cultures were set to collide.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_02
mainsite_psd_wusi01_02

On September 15, 1915, Chen Duxiu founded Youth Magazine in Shanghai. The photo on the left shows volume one, issue one - the debut issue. From volume two, issue one onwards, the magazine was renamed New Youth and moved office to Beijing shortly afterwards. The newly founded magazine, with its mission of spreading new ideas and promoting a new culture, heralded the New Culture Movement.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_03
mainsite_psd_wusi01_03

Chen Duxiu and his desk while in Beijing. The New Youth journal founded by Chen Duxiu was the leading publication of the New Culture Movement, and he himself also became a key leader of the movement.

ebook

In the debut issue of Youth Magazine, Chen Duxiu published a letter titled Call to Youth (敬告青年) in which he proposed six points to young people: 1) be free, not enslaved; 2) be progressive, not conservative; 3) be proactive, not withdrawn; 4) be cosmopolitan, not parochial; 5) be practical, not rhetorical, and 6) be scientific, not speculative. Furthermore, he pointed out, “In order for the Chinese people to deliver themselves from ignorance and the shame of being shallow, they must make haste to catch up with western nations by attaching equal importance to science and human rights.” The ideas of science and democracy were thus introduced.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_04
mainsite_psd_wusi01_04

Hu Shi, another standard-bearer of the New Culture Movement, and his former residence.

ebook

Hu Shi contributed to New Youth as a writer and editor. In early 1917, he published an article in New Youth titled A Preliminary Discussion of Literary Reform (文學改良芻議), which garnered widespread attention. His views espousing liberalism, questioning before believing, scientific inquiry and skepticism about the written word promoted the cultural reform.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_05
mainsite_psd_wusi01_05

Li Dazhao and his former residence. Li Dazhao was a writer and editor of the New Youth journal who strongly advocated a new culture. Later, he became an active proponent of Marxism and the October Revolution in Russia.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_06
mainsite_psd_wusi01_06

A statue of Lu Xun and Sanwei Study (三味書屋), where he was educated from the age of 12 to 17. A contributor to New Youth, Lu Xun published Diary of a Madman in the journal in 1918. As China’s first short story that utilized both vernacular Chinese and a modern narration style, its tremendous influence continues to this day.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_07
mainsite_psd_wusi01_07

From left: Qian Xuantong and Liu Ban’nong. Both were editors and writers of the New Youth journal and trailblazers of the New Culture Movement.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_08
mainsite_psd_wusi01_08

Cai Yuanpei and his certificate of appointment as the president of Peking University (北京大學). In December 1916, President Li Yuanhong (黎元洪) signed the certificate to appoint Cai Yuanpei as president of Peking University. His assumption of office in January of the following year spelled a new era for Peking University.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_09
mainsite_psd_wusi01_09

A group photo featuring the second cohort of philosophy major graduates and their instructors from Peking University’s School of Liberal Arts, taken in front of the office at Peking University. In the front row, the fifth and sixth figures from the left are Cai Yuanpei and Chen Duxiu respectively; the seventh figure from the left is Liang Shuming (梁漱溟), a representative figure of new Confucian thought in the early modern era. Under Cai Yuanpei’s leadership, Peking University became a free and liberal forum where traditional and modern ways coexisted. It was as if the university had decided to show China’s education system an example of reform done right.

ebook

After Cai Yuanpei took up office, his approach was to “study all classics, encompass every school of thought, promote intellectual freedom and embrace diversity.” While he held renowned conservative scholars like Gu Hongming (辜鴻銘) in regard, he recruited younger, modern scholars like Chen Duxiu, Hu Shi and Li Dazhao as well. He also reformed the university’s leadership system, reorganized the courses of study, established scientific research institutes, advocated civic education and pioneered co-ed education, transforming the university into the nerve center of both the New Culture Movement and the May Fourth Movement during his term of office. He was responsible for shaping it into a renowned educational institution the prestige of which remains uncontested to this day.

mainsite_psd_wusi01_10
mainsite_psd_wusi01_10

The Red Building (紅樓) of Peking University, built in August 1918, stood witness to the New Culture Movement and the 1919 May Fourth Movement.

ebook

Named the Red Building for being constructed entirely of red bricks, the first floor of the building housed the library, the second housed classrooms and university offices including President Cai Yuanpei’s office, while the third and fourth housed classrooms. It was a venue for teaching and administration frequented by a succession of intellectuals like Chen Duxiu, Li Dazhao, Hu Shi, Qian Xuantong and Lu Xun. In 1919, when Peking University became the strategic headquarters of the May Fourth Movement, a number of key activities took place at the Red Building and the sports ground to its north.

Why was there a New Culture Movement when the 1911 Revolution had already toppled the monarchy and established the new Republic?

After the Opium War, despite attempts by those with integrity and vision to save the nation via initiating various reforms, successive failures of the Self-Strengthening Movement, the Hundred Days’ Reform and the Late Qing Reform indicated that the Qing dynasty must be overthrown via revolution. Though they finally succeeded in toppling the empire in 1912 and establishing the Republic of China, some people within the nation continued to harbor hopes for and work towards reviving the monarchy. Also, with the nation’s political power in the hands of despotic warlords, the new regime was, like old wine in a new bottle, still very much an empire albeit without an emperor. China’s intellectuals saw the need for a new culture to help legitimize its new form of government. The Western ideologies of democracy and science were thus introduced to uproot despotism and the deep-seated tradition associated with it; in particular the traditional culture modeled on Confucian morals and norms so vital to despotism. It was imperative for China to radically change its society, customs and thought accordingly. To this end, the New Culture Movement was initiated.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe (picture 1), Visual China Group (pictures 2-10).

Extended Reading

鴉片戰爭至洋務運動
(1840-1894)
民國成立至南京十年(最新)
(1912-1937)
近代港澳滄桑
(1840-1949)
抗日戰爭
(即將推出)
內戰與新中國成立
(即將推出)

(一)民初新文化運動興起

mainsite_psd_wusi01_02
mainsite_psd_wusi01_02

中華民國之初,伴隨共和新政治而來的還有新文化。新文化與舊文化對立,反傳統、反孔教、反文言之風日熾,形成一場思想文化革新及文學革命的思潮,是為「新文化運動」。新文化運動起於1915年,以是年9月15日陳獨秀主辦的《青年雜誌》在上海創刊為標誌。該刊次年改名《新青年》,旋遷址北京。這場運動由陳獨秀、李大釗、蔡元培、胡適、魯迅、錢玄同、劉半農等一批曾留學外國受到西方思想衝擊的知識分子發起。其主要陣地是《新青年》雜誌。陳獨秀以德先生和賽先生為兩大旗幟:德先生指民主,即「德莫克拉西Democracy」;賽先生指科學,即「賽因斯Science」。1917年10月後,該雜誌開始宣傳俄國十月革命和馬克思主義。新文化運動的發展,為五四運動爆發作了思想準備,二者相輔相成。後來陳獨秀、李大釗與胡適等因政見不同而分道揚鑣。1923年6月,《新青年》改為季刊,成為中共中央正式理論性機關刊物,新文化運動也大體告一段落。

1911年辛亥革命已推翻舊帝制、建立新共和,為何還會出現新文化運動?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_01
mainsite_psd_wusi01_01

1915年的北京故宮城角樓;1915年前後上海四川中路兩旁西式大樓矗立。當時北京是民國政府首都,上海則為國際商埠。帝制結束,共和初建,民初中國處於新舊文化互相碰撞的十字路口。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_02
mainsite_psd_wusi01_02

1915年9月15日,陳獨秀在上海創辦《青年雜誌》,左圖為第一卷第一號創刊號,次年第二卷第一號起易名《新青年》,不久遷址北京。該雜誌以傳播新思想、推動新文化為使命,其創辦被視為新文化運動的開端。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_03
mainsite_psd_wusi01_03

陳獨秀及其在北京工作過的書桌。陳獨秀創辦的《新青年》是新文化運動的旗幟刊物,他本人亦成為這場運動的重要領袖。

ebook

在《青年雜誌》創刊號上,陳獨秀發表《敬告青年》,對青年提出六點要求:1自由的而非奴隸的、2進步的而非保守的、3進取的而非退隱的、4世界的而非鎖國的、5實利的而非虛文的、6科學的而非想像的,並指出:「國人而欲脫蒙昧時代,羞為淺化之民也,則急起直追,當以科學與人權並重。」也就是提出了科學與民主的思想。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_04
mainsite_psd_wusi01_04

胡適及其故居。胡適是新文化運動的另一旗手。

ebook

胡適參與了《新青年》的撰稿和編輯。1917年初在《新青年》發表《文學改良芻議》,引起廣泛迴響。其自由主義、先疑後信、科學佐證、盡信書不如無書等主張,有力地推動了文化革新。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_05
mainsite_psd_wusi01_05

李大釗及其故居。李大釗參與了《新青年》的撰稿與編輯,大力提倡新文化。後來又積極宣傳馬克思主義和俄國十月革命。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_06
mainsite_psd_wusi01_06

魯迅雕像及他12至17歲求學的地方三味書屋。魯迅是《新青年》作者之一,1918年在該刊物發表中國史上第一篇以白話文及現代形式創作的短篇小說《狂人日記》,對當時和日後都影響巨大。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_07
mainsite_psd_wusi01_07

左起:錢玄同、劉半農。他們曾是《新青年》的編輯和撰稿人,皆為新文化運動的推手。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_08
mainsite_psd_wusi01_08

蔡元培及其北京大學校長的任命狀。1916年12月,大總統黎元洪簽發任命狀,由蔡元培出任北京大學校長。次年1月蔡元培到任,為北京大學展開新局面。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_09
mainsite_psd_wusi01_09

1918年6月北京大學文科哲學門第二次畢業學生與老師在北大辦公處門前合影。前排左五為蔡元培,左六為陳獨秀,左七為近代新儒家代表人物之一梁漱溟。蔡元培治下的北大,新舊兼容,自由開放,儼如為中國引入教育革命。

ebook

蔡元培到任後,採取「囊括大典,網羅眾家,思想自由,相容並包」的方針,既重視辜鴻銘等著名舊派學者,同時延攬陳獨秀、胡適、李大釗這類年輕新派學者。他又改革北大領導體制和學科學制、創辦科研機構、倡導平民教育、首行男女同校。蔡元培在任期間,北大成為新文化運動及五四運動的中心,也奠定了北大往後在中國教育界不可動搖的地位。

mainsite_psd_wusi01_10
mainsite_psd_wusi01_10

落成於1918年8月的北京大學紅樓,見證了新文化運動和1919年五四運動。

ebook

北京大學紅樓通體由紅磚砌成,故稱「紅樓」。落成後,一層為圖書館,二層為教室和校部機關,設有蔡元培校長辦公室,三層、四層為教室,陳獨秀、李大釗、胡適、錢玄同、魯迅等人先後在此任教任職。1919年,北大成為五四運動的重要策源地,紅樓及其北面的操場成主要活動場所。

1911年辛亥革命已推翻舊帝制、建立新共和,為何還會出現新文化運動?

鴉片戰爭後,中國仁人志士力圖在清廷統治下改良救國,但經洋務、維新、清末新政三次失敗,方知非以革命推翻清朝不可。1912年民國建立後,雖推翻帝制,但復辟思潮及言行未絕,政權又落入專制軍閥之手,使新政府成為沒有皇帝的帝國,掛羊頭賣狗肉,換湯不換藥。有識之士認識到新政治必須有新文化相匹配,要鏟除中國濃厚的專制制度及其傳統,就要引入西方的民主、科學思想,尤須掃除專制政治賴以生存的、以儒家倫理綱常為典型的傳統文化,從事社會、民俗、思想之變革,故有推動新文化之舉。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE(圖1)、視覺中國(圖2-10)。

延伸閱讀