Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(4) The Gradual Disintegration of the Traditional Tributary System

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3

Prior to 1840, China, as the self-proclaimed Supreme Celestial Empire, maintained a somewhat extensive tributary state system that boasted an array of vassal states ranging from Korea and the Ryukyu Kingdom in the east, to Vietnam, Siam, and Burma in the south. However, with its national prestige in a slump after the two Opium Wars, China’s ties with its neighbouring countries grew tenuous, and its tributary states started to slip from its grasp. In 1879, Japan annexed the Ryukyu Kingdom, which was China’s vassal and paid tribute to it in both the Ming and Qing dynasties. Ending the Sino-French War resulted in France obtaining Vietnam, China’s prized southern tributary state, an outcome that was particularly injurious to China. From their new base Vietnam in Mainland Southeast Asia, the French invasion forces could cut a straight path to the provinces of Yunnan (雲南), Guangxi (廣西), and Guangzhouwan (廣州灣, present-day Zhanjiang City ﹝湛江﹞), and draw these areas into their sphere of influence. Meanwhile, the loss of Vietnam marked the disintegration of the Sinocentric tributary state system. After the war, Britain and France both vied for a greater control over Mainland Southeast Asia; Russia and Britain strove to expand their territories in western China, and Japan plotted to seize Korea, China’s north-eastern tributary state, from its upcoming war with China.

How did the Sino-French War hasten the disintegration of the traditional Sinocentric tributary system in East Asia?

See answer below.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.1
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.1

France officially colonised Vietnam under the Sino-French Treaty of Tientsin (《中法會訂越南條約》, Tientsin﹝天津﹞also known as Tianjin), and Saigon became the initial capital of French Vietnam. Pictured is the Ho Chi Minh City Post Office, also known as the Saigon Central Post Office. Constructed by the French between 1886 and 1891 and commissioned in 1892, it was the first French colonial era post office in Vietnam.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.2
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.2

In 1902, France moved the capital of French Indochina from Saigon to Hanoi. Pictured is the Presidential Palace in Hanoi. It now houses the Vietnam government institutions.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3

Pictured is a French encampment in Cambodia in 1865. Cambodia became a French protectorate in 1863 and was merged with Vietnam in 1887 to form the “Indochinese Union” or the “French Indochina”. The union continued to expand as France acquired more territories.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.4
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.4

In 1893, Laos became a French protectorate and officially seceded China’s suzerainty. It was then incorporated into the French Indochina. Pictured is Albert Sarraut (seated figure wearing a white hat), the governor-general of the French Indochina, on an inspection trip in Laos in 1912.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.5
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.5

France’s successful acquisition of benefits in the Sino-French War prompted Britain to procure Burma, a south-western tributary state of China. Pictured is the Burmese army surrendering to the British army in the Third Anglo-Burmese War in November 1885. The war, which took place just five months after the signing of the Sino-French Treaty of Tientsin, ended with Britain annexing the whole Burma.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.6
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.6

Two Siamese kings renowned for championing reforms in Siam between the mid-19th century and the early 20th century: (from the left) King Rama IV and King Rama V. Siam was a key tributary state of China in Mainland Southeast Asia. As foreign interference grew, the Sino-Siam relationship gradually changed. In 1869, Siam requested China to waive the tribute and establish a normal diplomatic relation with it as a country of equal standing with any Western nation. Despite China’s objection, Siam stopped paying tribute anyway. As there was nothing the Qing government could do about it, the tributary relationship between the two came to an end.

ebook

Siam (present-day Thailand) was the only Mainland Southeast Asian country that managed to avoid being colonised and maintain its independence throughout the period of Western expansionism. This could largely be credited to the policies and actions of King Mongkut, also known as King Rama IV, who reigned from 1851 to 1868; and his successor King Chulalongkorn, also known as King Rama V, reigned from 1868 to 1910. The two reigns lasted 60 years. Both kings were enthusiastic reformers who managed to retain Thai traditions while modernising culture, education, and institutions by bringing in Western elements, contributing significantly to the future development and stability of Thailand. On the diplomatic front, by maintaining friendly relations with Britain and France, the two major colonial powers, Siam served as a buffer zone between British Burma, British Malaya, and French Indochina. They were so successful that both Britain and France recognised that keeping Siam independent would be in their own interest. Besides the Meiji Restoration of Japan, Thailand’s reforms represented the only other success story among the reforms launched by East Asian countries in the early modern era. Both monarchs were well respected by the Thais and foreign nations and well-known for their many legendary exploits. King Rama IV’s life inspired numerous later novels, plays, and movies. The movie The King and I is widely known for Yul Brynner’s portrayal of King Mongkut, for which he won an Oscar for Best Actor; there’s also Anna and the King, a movie starring Chow Yun-fat (周潤發) as King Rama IV. King Rama V, also known as King Chulalongkorn and the “father of modern Thailand”, is the namesake of Chulalongkorn University in Thailand. His 40-plus year reign is regarded as Thailand’s golden era in the early modern age.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.7
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.7

Kokand, a Central Asian city established by the Khanate of Kokand, is in present-day Uzbekistan. The Khanate of Kokand was a tributary state of China on its western frontier until the state was annihilated by Russia in 1876. Even before France annexed Vietnam, the imperialist powers had already started to encroach upon other China’s tributary states. China was powerless to stop Russia’s relentless expansion of influence. This resulted in the gradual loss of its western tributary states.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.8
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.8

Afghan (present-day Afghanistan) was China’s western tributary state before foreign interference putting an end to the relationship. Located at the crossroads between South Asia and Central Asia, Afghan’s important geostrategic location made it an object of a struggle between Britain and Russia in 19th century. To gain control of Afghan, two Anglo-Afghan Wars - one from 1839 to 1842 and the other from 1878 to 1880 - were initiated by Britain. Both were at great cost to itself due to the Afghans’ strong resistance. Pictured are British troops floundering in a river as they attempted to ford it during the Second Afghan War in 1879.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.9
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.9

China’s eastern tributary states fared no better than their western counterparts: in 1879, the Ryukyu Kingdom, a tributary state of China, was seized by Japan and renamed Okinawa Prefecture. Pictured is present-day Shuri Castle, the palace of the Ryukyu Kingdom. After its annexation of the kingdom, Japan set its sights on Korea, an important north-eastern tributary state of China, and instigated the First Sino-Japanese War in 1894 to gain control of it. Ultimately, not only did China fail to save Korea, but it also ended up in a difficult situation.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.10
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.10

Partial detail from the illustration Tributary Elephants and Horses from Gorkha Kingdom (《廓爾喀貢象馬圖》). Nepal was formerly known as the Gorkha Kingdom (known for its soldiers who are commonly referred to as Gurkhas in Hong Kong). There was a time when it paid tribute to China every five years as a tributary state. In the 19th century, British interference in the Gorkha Kingdom’s affairs grew. Britain achieved full control of the kingdom in 1908 and forbade it from paying tribute to China. With the loss of China’s last tributary state, the curtain officially fell on the Sinocentric tributary system in East Asia.

How did the Sino-French War hasten the disintegration of the traditional Sinocentric tributary system in East Asia?

Prior to the Sino-French War, the imperialist powers had already been interfering in the affairs of China’s tributary states and even annexed several of them, such as the Khanate of Kokand and the Ryukyu Kingdom. However, as these tributary states were well beyond the immediate vicinity of China, the Qing government was reluctant to escalate matters over the loss of vassals that had no direct impact on life in the Chinese mainland. It thus chose to abandon them to their fates. Vietnam, however, abutted China’s provinces of Guangxi and Yunnan. The Qing government then mounted a strong defence for some time since losing Vietnam could seriously imperil southern and south-eastern China. The ultimate loss of Vietnam and the fact that the Qing government had facilitated the outcome by quitting the fight just when the tide of war had turned in its favour exposed its powerlessness and nonchalance on protecting its own vassal states. From then on, the imperialist powers acted with growing impunity in prying away China’s tributary states, thus hastening the disintegration of the traditional Sinocentric tributary system in East Asia.

Sources of most photos used in this feature piece: Visual China Group (pictures 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8. 9), Fotoe (picture 10), misc. photo sources.

Extended Reading

(四)傳統藩屬體制逐漸瓦解

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3

在1840年前,中國這個天朝上國的藩屬體系尚稱完整,東有朝鮮、琉球,南有越南、暹羅、緬甸等。兩次鴉片戰爭後,國威不振,鄰國逐步離心,藩屬也漸不保。1879年,明清兩朝長期納貢求封的琉球已被日本所佔奪。及至中法戰爭結束,南方最重要的藩屬越南竟一舉歸屬法國,對中國損害極大。一方面,法國的侵略勢力以中南半島上的越南為基地,長驅直入雲南、廣西和廣州灣(今湛江市),並使之逐漸變成法國的勢力範圍,造成中國西南門戶洞開。另一方面,中國失去越南,標示以中國為首的藩屬體系面臨瓦解。中法戰爭後,中南半島諸藩屬國進一步受英、法控制。俄、英亦加緊在中國西邊擴展勢力。至於東北藩屬朝鮮,日本也對之虎視眈眈,成為下一場清日戰爭的必爭對象。

為何中法戰爭後以中國為中心的東亞傳統藩屬體制會加速瓦解?

答案見下。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.1
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.1

《中法會訂越南條約》讓法國正式殖民統治越南,法屬越南的統治首府最初設於西貢。圖為今越南胡志明市的西貢中心郵政局,又名西貢中央郵局。該郵局由法國於1886年至1891年間興建,1892年正式啟用,是法國殖民時期的第一座郵政局。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.2
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.2

1902年,法國將其在中南半島殖民地的統治首府由西貢遷往河內,圖為今越南首都河內的法國殖民時期總督府。此大樓現為越南領導機關所在地。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.3

1865年法國在柬埔寨的一處營地。1863年,法國已將柬埔寨納為保護國,1887年再將越南和柬埔寨合併,成立「印度支那聯盟(Indochinese Union )」,又稱「法屬印度支那(French Indochina) 」,並繼續擴張。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.4
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.4

1893年老撾成為法國保護國,納入「法屬印度支那」,老撾正式脫離與清朝的藩屬關係。圖為1912年「法屬印度支那」總督阿爾貝特‧薩羅(Albert Sarraut,圖中坐着並戴白帽者)視察老撾。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.5
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.5

法國在中法戰爭獲利後,英國也加快搶奪中國西南藩屬緬甸。圖為1885年11月緬軍在第三次英緬戰爭中向英軍投降,此戰後英國完全吞併緬甸,時距《中法會訂越南條約》簽署僅約五個月。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.6
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.6

十九世紀中至二十世紀初推動暹羅改革的兩大著名國王,左起:拉瑪四世、拉瑪五世。暹羅原是清朝在中南半島的一個重要藩屬國。隨着西方勢力介入,清暹關係漸起變化。1869年暹羅向清朝要求廢除朝貢,建立與西方國家一樣的平等關係,清朝不許,但暹羅仍停止朝貢,清朝莫奈之何,等於結束與清朝的宗藩關係。

ebook

暹羅今稱泰國。在整個殖民地時代,泰國是中南半島唯一一個由始至終保持獨立、沒有淪為西方殖民地的國家,這和1851至1868年在位的國王拉瑪四世蒙固及1868至1910年在位的拉瑪五世朱拉隆功之治國政策關係重大。兩位國王共在位六十年,其間致力改革,在保持自身傳統之下引入西方的先進文化、教育、制度,為泰國往後的發展和穩定貢獻巨大。外交方面,與英、法保持友好關係,在英屬緬甸及英屬馬來亞、法屬印度支那兩大殖民勢力中間發揮緩衝作用,令英、法都願意保持泰國獨立。近代東亞國家的改革中,除日本明治維新外,只有泰國的改革稱得上成功。兩位國王深受本國和外國尊敬,生平富傳奇色彩。拉瑪四世的故事,成為後世小說、舞台劇、電影的題材,其中1956年的電影《國王與我》(The King and I),由尤伯連納(Yul Brynner)飾演拉瑪四世,獲奧斯卡最佳男主角獎,1999年的電影《安娜與國王》(Anna and the King),則由周潤發飾演拉瑪四世。至於拉瑪五世,獲尊稱為「朱拉隆功大帝」、「泰國現代之父」,泰國最高學府朱拉隆功大學,即以他命名,其統治的四十餘年被認為是泰國近代史上的黃金時代。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.7
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.7

中亞浩罕汗國的浩罕城。位於今烏茲別克的浩罕汗國本為清朝西邊藩屬,1876年為俄羅斯所滅。早在法國併吞越南前,列強已開始染指中國其他周邊藩屬,當中俄羅斯即不斷在中國西邊擴展勢力,中國無力阻止,西邊藩屬漸失。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.8
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.8

中國西邊的愛烏罕(今阿富汗)曾向清朝入貢,隨着外力介入,這種關係亦趨瓦解。由於位處南亞和中亞要衝,十九世紀的阿富汗成英、俄爭奪對象。英國分別在1839至1842年以及1878至1880年發動兩次阿富汗戰爭,但因阿富汗人頑強抵抗,令英軍吃盡苦頭。圖為1879年英軍在第二次阿富汗戰爭中渡河時的狼狽情況。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.9
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.9

西邊藩屬不靖,東部藩屬亦然。1879年日本吞併中國藩屬琉球,改為沖繩縣。圖為琉球王宫首里城今貌。吞併琉球後,日本將目標指向中國東北的另一藩屬朝鮮,於1894年觸發中日甲午戰爭。中國最終不但保不了朝鮮,自身更陷入深淵。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.10
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng4.10

《廓爾喀貢象馬圖》(局部)。廓爾喀,香港稱為啹喀,今尼泊爾,原為清朝藩屬國,五年一貢。十九世紀英國加強介入廓爾喀,至1908年將該國完全控制,並禁止其再入貢清朝,令清朝失去最後一個藩屬國,標誌着以中國為核心的東亞藩屬體系正式告別歷史舞台。

為何中法戰爭後以中國為中心的東亞傳統藩屬體制會加速瓦解?

中法戰爭前,列強已插手中國的周邊藩屬,一些藩屬如浩罕汗國、琉球已遭吞併。但因地處偏遠,未直接影響中國本土,清廷不欲多生事端,也就採取放棄態度。越南接鄰廣西和雲南,一旦有失,必嚴重威脅中國的南方和西南方,故清廷一度強力介入。越南最終仍是不保,而且是清朝在戰事轉向有利於己方時將其放棄。越南一失,暴露出清廷根本無力或無意傾全力保護藩屬,列強遂更加肆無忌憚地奪取中國藩屬,大大加速瓦解以中國為中心的東亞傳統藩屬體制。

本專題主要圖片來源:視覺中國(圖1、2、3、4、7、8、9)、FOTOE(圖10)、其他資料圖片。

延伸閱讀