Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)
zhongfa_jan30_1200
zhongfa_jan30_1200

In December 1883, the French military in Sơn Tây, Vietnam, started advancing towards the encampments of the Black Flag Army (黑旗軍) and the Qing military. This marked the beginning of the Sino-French War. The one-and-a-half-year long war can be broadly divided into three phases:

(1) Land campaigns in the early phase: the French initiated the Battle of Sơn Tây in December 1883, which pitted the French military against the Black Flag Army and the Qing military. This was followed by the Battle of Bắc Ninh in March 1884, another French-initiated battle. China performed poorly in both battles, which led to the signing of the Tientsin Accord (《中法會議簡明條約》, Tientsin also known as Tianjin) on 11 May 1884 by the Chinese representative Li Hongzhang (李鴻章) and the French representative François Ernest Fournier. The Tientsin Accord required China to stand aloof from the treaties between France and Vietnam.

(2) The middle phase was dominated by land-sea campaigns and mainly sea campaigns: in June 1884, France and Vietnam signed the second Treaty of Huế. Shortly afterwards, conflict broke out again in Bắc Lệ when the French military shelled the Qing military stationed near Lạng Sơn. Meanwhile, France also took the war to the south-eastern coast of China by sending naval ships led by Admiral Amédée Courbet to Fujian (福建) and Taiwan (台灣). In August 1884, the French forces occupying Keelung (基隆) in Taiwan were driven back to the sea by the Qing forces led by Liu Mingchuan (劉銘傳). On 23 August, the French navy launched a sudden attack on Majiang (馬江) in Fuzhou (福州), and succeeded in annihilating the Fujian Fleet (福建水師) and the Mawei Shipyard (馬尾船廠) of the Fuzhou Arsenal (福州船政局). They then proceeded to blockade Taiwan by sea and occupy Keelung and Tamsui (淡水). In March 1885, the French forces captured the islands of Penghu (澎湖) but were repulsed in a naval battle that took place in Zhenhai (鎮海), Zhejiang Province (浙江). In June, Admiral Courbet died of illness in Penghu.

(3) A return to land campaigns in the final phase: in March 1885, after capturing Lạng Sơn in Vietnam, the French military headed straight for the China-Vietnam border, where they clashed with the Qing military led by the elderly general Feng Zicai (馮子材). The French suffered an overwhelming defeat in this battle resulting in more than a thousand casualties. Triumphant, the Qing forces swept on to Lạng Sơn and retook it. Meanwhile, under Liu Yongfu’s (劉永福) command, the Black Flag Army also scored victories near Lâm Thao in Vietnam and recovered around a dozen counties. The battle at Zhennan Pass (鎮南關) turned the tide of the entire war.

The Fuzhou naval administration and its navy were products of the Self-Strengthening Movement. What did their failure signify?

See answer below.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.1
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.1

The Chinese and French military in Vietnam were armed and ready for the imminent war. In December 1883, an augmented French army departed Hanoi to capture Sơn Tây, signifying the beginning of the Sino-French War.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.2
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.2

An illustration titled Commander Liu Defends Bắc Ninh (《劉提督鎮守北甯圖》). It is dated “Guangxu Jiashen”( 光緒甲申), meaning 1884. The illustration depicts the battle between the French force and Liu Yongfu’s Black Flag Army in Bắc Ninh, a city east of Hanoi in Vietnam. The Black Flag Army was Vietnam’s staunch defender against the French before and long after the outbreak of the Sino-French War.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.3
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.3

At the beginning of the Sino-French War, the French military scored victories near Sơn Tây and Bắc Ninh. In a bid to stop the war from spreading, the Qing government sent Li Hongzhang to negotiate with the French on 11 May 1884. The two parties signed the Tientsin Accord (pictured) in which China agreed to stand aloof from the treaties between France and Vietnam, which was tantamount to a recognition of Vietnam as a French protectorate. In June, France forced Vietnam into signing the second Treaty of Huế, in effect denying China’s suzerainty over Vietnam.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.4
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.4

The initial military victory and successful conclusion of a beneficial treaty prompted France to launch an even larger attack. In early August of 1884, a French fleet under Admiral Amédée Courbet’s command attacked Taiwan. They first targeted Keelung (pictured) on 5 August, but were repulsed by the Qing forces under Liu Mingchuan, an imperial inspector minister of military affairs. The confrontation was known as the first Battle of Keelung.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.5
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.5

After their thwarted invasion of Taiwan, the French changed course for Fujian. On 23 August 1884, the French fleet launched a sudden attack on Mawei in Fuzhou. Overwhelming the Fujian Fleet with their heavy naval gunfire, the French won a complete victory.

ebook

The Mawei Naval Battle, also called the Majiang (馬江) Naval Battle, was the first major naval battle between the new Chinese navy established during the Self-Strengthening Movement and a foreign navy. The battle was a short and one-sided one that resulted in the total loss of the Fujian Fleet. The French fleet also destroyed the shore battery and the Mawei shipyard in the Fuzhou Arsenal, which in effect allowed the French to control the waters off Fujian and the Taiwan Strait, endangering Fujian and Taiwan. The defeat showed that the Self-Strengthening Movement failed to fortify the national coastal defences effectively despite the 20-plus years of reform since 1860.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.6
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.6

The French followed up their victory in the Mawei Naval Battle by advancing on Taiwan while attacking Penghu simultaneously. At one point, they occupied Keelung, Tamsui, and Penghu. Pictured is the French fleet shelling Penghu’s Magong Isle (馬公島) in March 1885.

ebook

While the French navy scored victories in Fujian and Taiwan, they were routed in the Battle of Zhenhai in Zhejiang, claiming numerous lives due to strong military and civilian resistance in Taiwan and Penghu. Meanwhile, the French were dealt a heavy blow by the outbreak of cholera. Scores of French officers, including Admiral Courbet, contracted while stationed in Penghu. In June 1885, Courbet died in Penghu and his body was shipped back to France.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.7_feb1
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.7_feb1

Besides winning a string of naval victories, the French forces also made progress in their land campaigns. It enabled them to push northward from Vietnam, putting southern China in danger. This undesirable situation prompted the Qing government to summon back the retired general Feng Zicai to service. To demonstrate his resolve to resist the French with his life, Feng brought his own coffin along with him as he set forth to battle.

ebook

Feng Zicai had already retired from military duty in 1882 but was brought back into service on the recommendation of Zhang Zhidong (張之洞), the then Viceroy of Liang Guang (兩廣總督), due to China’s dire situation in the Sino-French War. By rising to the occasion in his twilight years and showing his resolve to do his duty at the risk of death, Feng inspired his troops and greatly bolstered their morale.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.8
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.8

On 13 February 1885, the French military under General François Oscar de Négrier captured Lạng Sơn, a key location in northern Vietnam. They then marched straight to Zhennan Pass, a strategic point on the China-Vietnam border. Prior to the Battle of Zhennan Pass, as a commender, Négrier had not suffered a single defeat in his military career.

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.9
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.9

From the left: Feng Zicai, Zhennan Pass, François Oscar de Négrier. Zhennan Pass, a major passage perching on the China-Vietnam border during the Qing dynasty, was also called the “gateway to southern China”. It carried exceptional strategic significance. After taking Lạng Sơn, the French army under Négrier pressed onto Zhennan Pass where Feng’s forces armed and waited. An all-out war was set to erupt.

zhongfa_jan30_1200
zhongfa_jan30_1200

From 23 to 24 March 1885, the two forces engaged in fierce battle, with Feng Zicai personally entering the fray to engage the enemy. In the end, the French force were vanquished. China’s overwhelming victory at Zhennan Pass finally turned the tide of the war, allowing the Qing force to reverse its previous unfavourable position. While they could have followed up their victory by advancing south, the Qing government avoided military conflict and sought peace negotiations instead. Thus, they passed up a major opportunity to press home their advantage.

ebook

On 23 March 1885, the 46-year-old François Oscar de Négrier made the first move by shelling Zhennan Pass. The next day, the French force stormed the pass by three columns. The 67-year-old Feng Zicai, who was more than 20 years Négrier’s senior, charged into the French ranks with his two sons to engage the enemy. The sight of their commander leading the charge bolstered the Qing force’ morale, and all fought with great valour in the battle.  Négrier, feeling complacent after achieving a string of victories in his Vietnam campaigns, believed that Zhennan Pass could be captured with ease. He decided to seize the momentum and press onto Guangxi Province (廣西). However, he did not expect the Qing force to put up an unusually ferocious resistance. After a two-day battle, the French force were in danger of being besieged. To extricate his troops from a potential deathtrap, Négrier was forced to order a retreat. As a commender, this was his first defeat. The French force fled south hastily and evacuated Lạng Sơn before the Qing force arrived. On 29 March, the Qing force recovered Lạng Sơn. Meanwhile, Liu Yongfu’s Black Flag Army also scored victories near Lâm Thao in Vietnam and recovered a dozen counties. Shaken by the successive defeats, the disastrous loss of Lạng Sơn in particular, public sentiment turned against Jules Ferry, the then French Prime Minister. This led to the collapse of his cabinet. Just as Feng was about to follow up his victory by leading a great host onto Hanoi, the Qing government was eager to make peace and negotiations, suspending Qing military’s operation.

The Fuzhou naval administration and its navy were products of the Self-Strengthening Movement. What did their failure signify?

The foundation of a modern navy was one of the Self-Strengthening Movement’s top priorities since its commencement in 1860. The Fuzhou Arsenal, established in 1866 by Zuo Zhongtang (左宗棠) and operated by Shen Baozhen (沈葆楨), was one of the movement’s crowning achievements in its early phase. The arsenal served as an important base for the Fujian Fleet’s operations. Unfortunately, this remarkable accomplishment was wiped out during the Sino-French War. The Beiyang Fleet (北洋水師), another well-known Chinese fleet, was not founded until 1888. The disastrous failure of the Fuzhou naval administration exposed the movement’s fundamental weakness that of emulating Western military technologies without launching thorough reforms. However, the successors failed to reflect on and learn from the experience. This later led to the total annihilation of the Beiyang Fleet during a naval battle in the First Sino-Japanese War.

Sources of most photos used in this feature piece: Visual China Group (pictures 1, 2 and 5), Fotoe (pictures 3 and 9), misc. photo sources.

Extended Reading

zhongfa_jan30_1200
zhongfa_jan30_1200

1883年12月,法军在越南山西向黑旗军和清军的驻地进攻,中法战争正式爆发。中法战争历时约一年半,大致可分三阶段:

(1)前期陆战:1883年12月,法军向黑旗军和清军发起山西战役,1884年3月又发起北宁之役。中方两役皆失利,于1884年5月11日由李鸿章与法国代表在天津签订《中法会议简明条约》,同意对法越间各条约概不过问。

(2)中期陆海交战、海战为主:1884年6月,法国与越南签订第二次《顺化条约》。不久又发起北黎冲突,炮击驻守谅山附近的清军。同时,法国将战火扩大到中国东南沿海,由孤拔(Amédée Courbet)率领舰队开抵闽、台。1884年8月,法军在台湾基隆遇到刘铭传率军抵抗而退回海上, 8 月23日突袭福州马江,大败福建水师,又击毁福州船政局的马尾船厂。此后法军对台湾实行海上封锁,一度攻占基隆、淡水。1885年3月,法军占领澎湖,但在浙江镇海一战中被击退。6月,孤拔病死于澎湖。

(3)后期陆战:1885年3月,法军攻下越南谅山后直扑中越边境,年近古稀的冯子材率军在镇南关大败法军,杀伤敌兵千余,旋又挥师一举光复谅山。同时,刘永福的黑旗军也在临洮一带获胜,收复十余个州县。战争形势在镇南关一役后大为扭转。

福建船政及水师均为洋务运动产物,其惨败预示甚么?

答案见下。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.1
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.1

              中国和法国在越南剑拔弩张。1883年12月,法军大举增兵,由河内出发攻占山西。山西战役标志着中法战争正式爆发。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.2
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.2

《刘提督镇守北宁图》,图中写有“光绪甲申”,即1884年,描绘了刘永福于是年率黑旗军与法军在越南河内以东的北宁交战。中法战争正式爆发前和爆发后,黑旗军一直坚持抗法。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.3
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.3

开战之初,法军先后于山西、北宁一带获胜。清朝不想战事扩大,于1884年5月11日派李鸿章与法国谈判,在天津签订《中法会议简明条约》(见图),同意不过问法越之间所签的各条约,等于承认越南是法国的保护国。6月,法国又迫越南签订第二次《顺化条约》,否定了清朝对越南的宗主权。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.4
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.4

初战告捷及条约获利后,法国乘胜发动更大规模攻势。1884年8月初,法国舰队在孤拔率领下攻打台湾。8月5日,法军攻基隆(见图),遭督办台湾军务的刘铭传击退,是役为第一次基隆之战。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.5
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.5

法军侵台受挫,转攻福建。1884年8月23日,法舰突袭福州马尾,猛烈轰击福建水师船舰,大获全胜。

ebook

马尾海战又称马江海战,是洋务运动期间中国新建水师与外国海军首次大型海战。是役为时甚短,福建水师惨败。法军又摧毁了沿岸炮台及福州船政局辖下的马尾船厂,夺取福建沿海及台湾海峡的制海权,得以威胁福建和台湾。此战意味着始于1860年的洋务运动在二十多年后仍未能有效改善中国海防。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.6
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.6

马尾海战获胜后,法军再犯台湾,并攻澎湖,一度攻占基隆、淡水、澎湖。图为1885年3月法舰猛轰澎湖马公岛。

ebook

法国海军虽在福建和台湾取胜,但在浙江镇海一战中被击退。同时台、澎军民奋力抵抗,亦令法军伤亡不少。此外法军遭疫症打撃,海军司令孤拔及多名法军在占领澎湖期间感染霍乱。1885年6月,孤拔病死于澎湖,遗体运回法国。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.7_feb1
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.7_feb1

法国海军连捷,陆军亦有进展,由越南逐步北进,威胁中国南方。清廷急召已退休的老将冯子材救急。冯子材受命后抬棺出征,以示抱必死之决心抗法。

ebook

冯子材本已于1882年告老解甲,中法战争时因情势危急,两广总督张之洞奏请重新起用这名老将。冯子材以近古稀之龄,临危受命,抬棺立誓,视死如归,部下感动,士气大振。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.8
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.8

1885年2月13日,法军在名将尼格里(François Oscar de Négrier)率领下,攻占越南的北方要地谅山,直迫中越边境要塞镇南关。攻打镇南关前,尼格里在领军生涯中未尝一败。

mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.9
mainsite_tushuojindai_zhongfazhanzheng2.9

左起:冯子材、镇南关、尼格里。清代的镇南关是中越边境的主要关隘,有“中国南大门”之称,战略地位非同一般。尼格里率法军攻占谅山后,向镇南关挺进,冯子材严阵以待,大战一触即发。

zhongfa_jan30_1200
zhongfa_jan30_1200

1885年3月23至24日,中法两军血战于镇南关。冯子材亲临战阵肉搏拚杀,大败法军。镇南关大捷扭转了清军在整个战争中的不利形势。清军本可乘胜南下,惜清廷畏战,急欲言和,白白浪费大好战机。

ebook

1885年3月23日,四十六岁的尼格里率先炮轰镇南关。次日,法军分三路冲击,较尼格里年长二十余年、六十七岁的冯子材及他两个儿子冒死杀入敌阵肉搏。清军将士见主帅身先士卒,无不奋勇冲杀。尼格里在越南境内连胜后,以为能轻易夺占镇南关,并顺势攻入广西境内,不料中国军队作战异常英勇,激战两日,法军竟陷入被围之险。为免遭包围,尼格里急率军撤退,在领军生涯中首尝败绩。法军新败后怱怱南逃,清军未到即仓皇撤出谅山,3月29日清军收复谅山。同时刘永福的黑旗军也在临洮一带获胜,收复十余个州县。法国在军事上连翻失利,谅山之失打击尤大,终导致其总理茹费理(Jules François Camille Ferry)的内阁倒台。正当冯子材乘胜调集大军准备挺进河内之际,清廷却决定和谈订约,令清军停止行动。

福建船政及水师均为洋务运动产物,其惨败预示甚么?

1860年开始的洋务运动极其重视建立新式海军,前期重大建树即左宗棠1866年创立、后由沈葆桢继续经营的福州船政局,是为福建水师重要凭靠。结果在中法战争中,洋务运动此一成果被严重摧残,后来才有1888年北洋水师的创办。福建船政惨败,本已暴露洋务运动的根本弱点,即只求在军事科技上学习西洋,而不求彻底改革,但后继者并未作深刻反思,故有未来甲午海战北洋水师的全军覆灭。

本专题主要图片来源:视觉中国(图1、2、5)、FOTOE(图3、9)、其他资料图片。

延伸阅读