Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8

After the founding of the People’s Republic of China, the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) continued to advance nationwide, while the National Army (NA) gradually retreated. During the Chinese Civil War, Taiwan (台灣) was relatively stable and rarely affected by the war. In January 1949, the National Government appointed Chen Cheng (陳誠) as Chairman of Taiwan Provincial Government. At the same time, a large amount of gold, US dollars, and cultural relics were shipped to Taiwan from the mainland. On 7 December 1949, the National Government announced its relocation to Taiwan, and continued to maintain the banner of the Republic of China, with Taipei (台北) as the seat of government. At that time, Acting President Li Zongren (李宗仁) flew to the United States and did not return, resulting in Chiang Kai-shek (蔣介石) making a comeback as President on 1 March 1950. After that, the regime was held by Chiang Kai-shek and his son Chiang Ching-kuo (蔣經國) for a long time. After the relocation to Taiwan, the National Government garrisoned the islands of Taiwan, Penghu (澎湖), Kinmen (金門), and Matsu, which were collectively known as “the Taiwan area”. Initially, the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨)’s situation in Taiwan was in jeopardy. It was the Seventh Fleet sent by the United States when the Korean War broke out in June 1950 that help defend the Taiwan Strait and save the KMT. The KMT learned that neglecting the people’s livelihood, especially in rural areas, could be very costly. It thus carried out land reforms and developed the regional economy after retreating to Taiwan. The division of governance between the two sides of the Taiwan Strait continues to this day.

 

Footnotes:

1. In December 1947, the National Revolutionary Army (NRA) was renamed the Republic of China Armed Forces, and was generally called the National Army (NA, 國軍﹝Guojun﹞in Chinese).

2. In May 1948, the Nationalist Government was renamed the Government of the Republic of China, and was generally called the National Government (國民政府﹝Guominzhengfu﹞or 國府﹝Guofu﹞in Chinese).

Apart from its own mistakes, were there any other objective factors causing the KMT to lose political power on the mainland in a short period of time after reunifying the country?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_1
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_1

The KMT adopted the Constitution of the Republic of China at the end of 1947. It held the National Assembly in 1948, appointing Chiang Kai-shek as President and Li Zongren as Vice President. The photo shows the President and Vice President taking the oath of office in Nanjing (南京) on 20 May 1948. President Chiang and Vice President Li are sitting 13th and 14th from the left in the first row. Meanwhile, the Chinese Civil War was raging and the NA constantly found itself frustrated on the front line, exacerbating the KMT’s situation.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_2
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_2

In early 1949, Chiang Kai-shek announced his resignation and returned to his hometown Fenghua (奉化), Zhejiang Province (浙江). Left: Chiang with relatives in his hometown. Right: Chiang meeting Sun Ke (﹝孫科﹞, son of Sun Yat-sen﹝孫中山﹞, first from the right) and others in his hometown. Chiang resigned ostensibly, but still held the KMT’s military and political power in his hands. He met with military and political dignitaries many times in his hometown to deploy the relocation of the Government to Taiwan.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_3
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_3

After Chiang Kai-shek resigned, Li Zongren (left) took over as Acting President. On 1 October 1949, the People’s Republic of China was founded, and the KMT’s rule on the mainland was almost completely disintegrated. In November, Li announced that the military and political affairs would be entrusted to Premier Yan Xishan (閻錫山, right) on the grounds of recuperation. He then flew to Hong Kong before going to the United States the following month and did not return.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_4
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_4

From January to December 1949, Chiang Kai-shek’s close general Chen Cheng served as Chairman of the Taiwan Provincial Government and arranged for the move of the National Government to Taiwan. The photo shows Chen, the Chairman of the Taiwan Provincial Government, reviewing the troops at the National Day ceremony on 10 October.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_5
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_5

From November 1948 to October 1949, the KMT secretly transported most of the treasury gold stored in the Central Bank from Shanghai to Taiwan, which was a critical move on Taiwan’s future economic development. Left: a newspaper report on the secret gold transportation. Right: large quantities of gold shipped to Taiwan.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_6_v2
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_6_v2

From 24 to 27 October 1949, more than 9,000 PLA soldiers crossed the sea from Fujian Province (福建) to attack Kinmen, but most of them were annihilated by the NA. This battle prevented the PLA from further crossing the Taiwan Strait for the time being, and gave the KMT some breathing room, which had an important impact on the long-term separation of the two sides. Left: during the Guningtou Battle (古寧頭戰役) on Kinmen Island, the NA capturing a large number of PLA soldiers. Right: Chiang Kai-shek inspecting Kinmen in January 1952. Since 1949, Kinmen has been the front line of confrontation between the KMT and the Chinese Communist Party (CCP, 中國共產黨). Two large-scale artillery battles broke out in 1954 and 1958 respectively.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_7
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_7

In 1949, a large number of NA soldiers withdrawing from the mainland to Taiwan by ship.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8

On 7 December 1949, the National Government announced its relocation to Taiwan, and on 1 March of the following year, Chiang Kai-shek announced his reinstatement. Left: Chiang in January 1950. Right: On 3 March 1950, Taiwan’s Central Daily News reported Chiang’s reinstatement.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_9
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_9

Just as the PLA deployed to attack Taiwan, the Korean War broke out on 25 June 1950, marking a turning point in the situation of the Taiwan Strait.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_10
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_10

When the Korean War broke out in June 1950, the United States sent its Seventh Fleet into the Taiwan Strait, preventing the PLA from crossing the sea to attack Taiwan and allowing the KMT to secure its position in Taiwan. Left: the US Seventh Fleet in the Taiwan Strait in 1950. Right: Chiang Kai-shek receiving the US Commander Douglas MacArthur at the Taipei Airport on 31 July 1950.

ebook

The US President Harry S. Truman had been indifferent to the Chiang Kai-shek Administration, and stood aloof when the NA suffered a crushing defeat in the later stage of the Chinese Civil War. When the Korean War broke out in June 1950, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea, part of the Soviet-led socialist camp) quickly seized most of the Republic of Korea (South Korea, part of the American-led capitalist camp). If South Korea fell, Japan would be at risk. Truman was worried that the communist forces would take control of East Asia and therefore changed the policy to intervene by force. He sent the Seventh Fleet to protect Taiwan and reinforce the KMT, and formed the United Nations Command with the US military as the main force led by the famous general MacArthur. It launched a counterattack on the North Korean army and reached the Yalu River (鴨綠江). This threatened the newly established People’s Republic of China. In October 1950, Peng Dehuai (彭德懷) led the army (in the name of “Chinese People’s Volunteer Army”) into the Korean Peninsula to engage the United Nations Command. An armistice was declared in July 1953. The Korean War enabled the KMT’s situation to turn the corner and gradually consolidate its rule in Taiwan, which became an important turning point in the long-term separation of the two sides of the Taiwan Strait. In the last paragraph of Kuo Ting-yee’s Outline of Modern Chinese History, the author noted: “In a private conversation with an important person in Taiwan, I was told that the Korean War was the Xi’an Incident (西安事變) of the KMT. The Xi’an Incident saved the Chinese Communist Party (中國共產黨) and the Korean War saved the KMT.”

Apart from its own mistakes, were there any other objective factors causing the KMT to lose political power on the mainland in a short period of time after reunifying the country?

There were political, economic, military, and diplomatic factors contributing to the failure of the KMT, and it is thus an academic issue worthy of discussion. For subjective factors, one could argue that it was because the KMT represented the bureaucratic bourgeoisie and sought benefits for landlords and capitalists while neglecting the well-being of the poor in the rural areas. The lax internal organisations, numerous cliques, misguided military command, and low morale made it difficult to unite dissidents in the face of the internal and external challenges. All these issues were like fatal chronic diseases to the KMT. However, from a macro perspective of Chinese history, there are also objective factors for its short life.

In view of the rise and fall of China’s previous dynasties, it is difficult to escape the rule of “separation after long-term unification, and unification after long-term separation” under the autocratic dynasty based on the small-scale peasant economy. In history, most of the dynasties that unified previous separated regimes were short-lived: the Qin dynasty (秦朝) lasted for only 15 years after the end of the Spring and Autumn Period and the Warring States; the Western Jin dynasty (西晉), which ended the separation of the Three Kingdoms, lasted for only 51 years, or only 36 years after the destruction of the Wu State (吳國); the Sui dynasty (隋朝), which unified the Northern and Southern dynasties, only lasted for 38 years, or only 30 years after the annihilation of the Chen Kingdom (陳朝); the Yuan dynasty (元朝), which annexed the dynasties of Xia(夏), Jin (金), and Song (宋), remained 98 years, or 89 years after the destruction of the Southern Song dynasty (南宋); the Republic of China, which ended the war between warlords by the Northern Expedition, lasted only 22 years. As soon as the division ended and reunification was achieved, the historical burden of the prolonged wars was too heavy to overcome. On the contrary, those who inherited the short-lived reunification often remained longer, such as the Han dynasty (漢朝) after the Qin dynasty, the Tang dynasty (唐朝) after the Sui dynasty, and the Ming dynasty (明朝) after the Yuan dynasty. This theory may not be a “law” and the phenomenon involved has not been scientifically examined. Yet, historians must take this as reference in great details.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe.

Extended Reading

(三)國民政府播遷台灣

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8

中華人民共和國成立後,解放軍繼續向全國各地推進,國軍則節節敗退。全面内戰期間,台灣比較安定而罕受戰火波及。1949年1月,國民政府以陳誠擔任台灣省主席,同時又陸續將大量黃金、美鈔及文物分批從大陸運往台灣。1949年12月7日,國民政府宣佈遷設台灣,繼續保持中華民國的旗號,以台北為政府所在地。當時原代總統李宗仁飛赴美國不歸,蔣介石遂於1950年3月1日復出。其後政權由蔣介石、蔣經國父子長期掌握。國府遷台後,據守台灣、澎湖、金門、馬祖諸島,合稱「台澎金馬」。原來台灣形勢岌岌可危,後因1950年6月韓戰爆發,美國派第七艦隊協防台灣海峽,於是轉危爲安。國民黨退守台灣後,也汲取忽視民生尤其農村治理的教訓,推行土地改革、發展地區經濟。台海兩岸分治的局面持續至今。

國民黨統一全國後迅即丟掉大陸政權,除了其自身失誤外,有沒有其他客觀因素?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_1
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_1

國民黨於1947年底通過《中華民國憲法》,1948年召開國民大會,以蔣介石為總統,李宗仁副之。圖為1948年5月20日,總統及副總統在南京宣誓就職時合影。前排左起第十三為總統蔣介石、十四為副總統李宗仁。當時內戰正打得激烈,國軍不斷受挫,國民黨形勢日危。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_2
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_2

1949年初,蔣介石宣佈引退,回到故鄉浙江奉化。左圖:蔣介石在家鄉與親屬合影;右圖:蔣介石在家鄉接見孫科(孫中山之子,右一)等人。蔣介石表面引退,實質仍掌國民黨軍政大權,並在家鄉多次會見軍政要員,部署國府播遷台灣事宜。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_3
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_3

蔣介石引退後,由李宗仁(左)出任代總統。1949年10月1日,中華人民共和國成立,國民黨在大陸的統治接近完全瓦解。11月,李宗仁以養病為由,宣佈軍政交由行政院長閻錫山(右)負責,飛赴香港,次月赴美不歸。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_4
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_4

1949年1至12月間,蔣介石以親信將領陳誠出任台灣省政府主席,安排國府遷台。圖為是年10月10日,陳誠以台灣省政府主席身份在雙十國慶典禮上閱兵。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_5
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_5

1948年11月至1949年10月間,國民黨將儲存在上海中央銀行的大部分國庫黃金秘密運到台灣,對台灣日後經濟發展有重要影響。左圖:報章報道秘密運金;右圖:大批黃金運到台灣。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_6_v2
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_6_v2

1949年10月24至27日,解放軍9,000餘人從福建渡海攻金門,登陸後大部分遭國軍殲滅。此役令解放軍一時未能進一步渡過台灣海峽,讓國民黨取得喘息空間,對日後兩岸長期分治有重要影響。左圖:在金門島上的古寧頭戰役中,國軍俘獲大量解放軍;右圖:1952年1月,蔣介石視察金門。1949年起,金門即成國共對峙的前線,1954、1958年更爆發兩次大規模炮戰。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_7
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_7

1949年,大量國軍乘船從大陸撤到台灣。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_8

1949年12月7日,國民政府宣佈遷設台灣,蔣介石於次年3月1日宣佈復行視事。左圖:1950年1月的蔣介石;右圖:1950年3月3日台灣《中央日報》報道蔣介石復行視事。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_9
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_9

正當解放軍部署攻台之際,1950年6月25日,韓戰(朝鮮戰爭)爆發,成為台灣海峽局勢的轉捩點。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_10
mainsite_psd_neizhansan03_10

1950年6月韓戰爆發,美國隨即派遣第七艦隊開進台灣海峽,令解放軍無法渡海攻台,國民黨得以在台灣立穩陣腳。左圖:1950年台灣海峽的美軍第七艦隊;右圖:1950年7月31日,蔣介石到台北機場迎接來訪的美軍司令麥克亞瑟(Douglas MacArthur)。

ebook

美國總統杜魯門(Harry S. Truman)對蔣介石的國民政府素欠好感,當國軍在內戰後期迭遭大敗時近乎袖手旁觀。1950年6月韓戰爆發,朝鮮(即北韓,屬蘇聯為首的社會主義陣營)很快便攻佔韓國(即南韓,屬美國為首的資本主義陣營)大部分地方。韓國若失,日本亦危。杜魯門驚覺共產勢力有可能控制整個東亞,遂一改過往政策,決定強力介入,一方面派第七艦隊保護台灣,並增援國民黨,又組成以美軍為主力的聯合國軍,由名將麥克亞瑟統領,反攻朝鮮軍,直抵鴨綠江邊。成立不久的中華人民共和國深感受到威脅,乃於1950年10月以彭德懷為主將,率軍(以「中國人民自願軍」名義參戰)進入朝鮮半島,與聯合國軍交戰。1953年7月各方停戰。韓戰令國民黨轉危為安,得以逐漸鞏固在台灣的統治,成為台海兩岸長期分治的重要轉折。郭廷以《近代中國史綱》最後一段,有以下註釋:「台灣某要人私下語人,謂韓戰是國民黨的西安事變。意思是西安事變救了共產黨,韓戰救了國民黨。」

國民黨統一全國後迅即丟掉大陸政權,除了其自身失誤外,有沒有其他客觀因素?

國民黨之失敗,不僅有政治、經濟、軍事、外交諸多原因,也是一個值得探討的學術問題。就其主觀因素而言,該黨代表官僚資產階級,為地主資本家謀利益而忽視城鄉貧民福祉,内部組織渙散、幫派林立,軍事指揮失誤、士氣低落,既難以團結不同政見者,又面臨外寇強敵之侵擾,這些内憂外患均是其致命的痼疾。不過從中國宏觀歷史來考察,其國祚也有不能不短命的客觀因素。觀諸中國歷代之興治盛衰亂亡,在以小農自然經濟為根基的專制王朝治下,實難逃「合久必分,分久必合」之規。在歷史上,凡屬乍由分裂割據而統一之王朝,國祚多屬短命:秦結束春秋戰國後僅存15年;結束三國分立的西晉僅存51年,如從滅吳起計則只有36年;統一南北朝的隋僅存38年,如從滅陳起計則只有30年;併吞宋遼金夏的元共98年,如從滅南宋起計則只有89年;民國以北伐終止軍閥混戰也僅能度過22載。蓋乍一結束分裂而統一,所承受長期戰亂的歷史包袱過於沉重,一時積重難返。反之,承短命統一而來者卻往往國祚較長,如秦以後之漢、隋以後之唐、元以後之明。此論不敢謂之正確的「規律」,唯其現象卻有待科學考證,治史者於此不可不詳察!

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE。

延伸閱讀