Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(6) Support for the War of Resistance from Chinese at Home and Abroad

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9

China lost over half of its territory to Japan since the outbreak of the Total War of Resistance, including north, east, central, and most parts in south China. The government made Chongqing (重慶) its temporary capital and established a rear area in the southwest. Although the whole country, especially Chongqing, was being heavily bombarded by the Japanese Air Force, the Chinese people rose against the enemy. Numerous youth joined the army on the front line and war songs, such as March of the Volunteers (also known as Volunteers Marching On) and Yellow River Cantata, could be heard nationwide. Soldiers and civilians conducted tunnel fights in the enemy’s rear area. Armed work teams and railway guerrillas were also formed.

Compatriots in Hong Kong and Macao and overseas Chinese also contributed to the resistance against Japan. In 1938, Soong Ching-ling (宋慶齡) founded the China Defence League in Hong Kong. Civilians from Mainland China took refuge in Hong Kong and the city took them in with open arms and raised funds for the war. Macao was a neutral territory but its people made generous contributions and formed over 30 relief societies to support the war. Thousands of overseas Chinese also supported the motherland in desperate salvation and more than half of the eight million overseas Chinese donated money. During the Eight Years’ Total War of Resistance, their donations exceeded 1.3 billion yuan (in the currency of the Republican era). Tan Kah Kee (陳嘉庚), a community leader of overseas Chinese in Southeast Asia, advocated that only traitors would attempt to negotiate with the Japanese before its withdrawal from Chinese territory, which manifested his strong resolution to resist.

Why was the War of Resistance an important phase in Chinese music history? Are there any war songs that still circulating today?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_1
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_1

During the war, the Nationalist government moved westward to Chongqing and made the city its temporary capital. The Japanese air bombed the city many times, killing an incalculable number of civilians, but the people remained strong-willed. Left: Japanese planes bombarded Chongqing on the night of 5 June 1941. Civilians swarmed Jiaochangkou Tunnel (較場口大隧道) air-raid shelter, resulting in 151 wounded and 992 tragically died of suffocation. Right: air-raid wardens, scouts, Red Cross staff, stretcher parties, and other forces working in concert after the bombings.

ebook

During the five and a half years from 18 February 1938 to 23 August 1943, Japan conducted strategic bombings on the Chinese temporary capital of Chongqing. According to available statistics, Japan bombarded Chongqing over 200 times with more than 11,500 bombs in 9,000 flights. The bombings killed more than 10,000 people and destroyed over 10,000 buildings, leaving most of the downtown areas shattered. The Japanese intended to undermine Chinese morale by the mass killing of civilians. Therefore, the air raids were conducted indiscriminately on the front line and China’s rear area, targeting residential and commercial areas instead of military facilities. However, the Chinese people’s resolution to resist never wavered.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_2

Members of the youth army in training. In October 1944, Chiang Kai-shek (蔣介石) called upon educated youth to volunteer for military service, rallying with the slogan “An inch of blood for an inch of territory, a hundred thousand youth for a hundred thousand troops.” The call received an enthusiastic response.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_3

Soldiers and civilians alike fought the Japanese in the enemy’s rear area in North China. Left: women in central Hebei Province (河北) digging tunnels for guerrilla soldiers to use in tunnel warfare. Right: railway guerrillas blowing Japanese trains on South Shandong Railway (魯南鐵道) .

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_4
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_4

Workers building airport runway. Without road rollers and other engineering vehicles, the workers could only flatten the runways by pulling heavy stone rollers over them, which was incredibly hard work. The airports, roads, and other strategic infrastructure built by Chinese workers were crucial in the War of Resistance.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_5
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_5

Children participating in charity sales to fund the war.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_6
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_6

Hong Kong and Macao offered unreserved support for the War of Resistance. Left: the venue of a charity sale. Soong Ching-ling organised charity sales in Hong Kong before Japan invaded the city. Right: local industrial and commercial groups formed Macao All Circles Disaster Relief Society to support national resistance.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_7
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_7

Overseas Chinese were eager to enlist in the army. The photo shows the Overseas Chinese Volunteer Army. Moreover, three-quarters of the pilots in China’s air force were overseas Chinese.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_8
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_8

In March 1940, overseas Chinese in Southeast Asia returned following Tan Kah Kee (fourth from the right in the front row), bringing supplies to Chinese soldiers. They received a warm welcome in Chongqing.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9

After the war broke out, overseas Chinese in the United States holding a fundraising event for their motherland in Chinatown, New York.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_10
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_10

Left: war anthem March of the Volunteers. Right: in April 1939, Xian Xinghai (冼星海) conducting a rehearsal of Yellow River Cantata in Yan’an (延安), the headquarters of the Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party (中國共產黨). March of the Volunteers and Yellow River Cantata have since then been sung by generations.

Why was the War of Resistance an important phase in Chinese music history? Are there any war songs that still circulating today?

China is a country of poetry and “Poems express aspirations” is a long-held belief. It is said that poets were born out of rage and that songs are created by heart. In the 14 years of War of Resistance, a group of artists and writers emerged on the front line and in the enemy’s rear area. Their great works uplifted the spirit of the Chinese nation and have since become enduring calls to battle. As a result, modern Chinese music made progress during this period, despite the state of war, and a number of songs created back then are still popular today.

The following are some of the best-known ones:

Along the Songhua River by Zhang Hanhui (張寒暉) is part of the Exile Trilogy (together with two pieces created by Liu Xue’an ﹝劉雪庵﹞). It tells the story of the tragedies in Northeast China as the area fell into Japanese hands.

The Sword March by Mai Xin ( 麥新) tells the story of the Defence of the Great Wall and the broadsworded defenders of the Marco Polo Bridge.

March of the Volunteers composed by Nie Er (聶耳) with lyrics by Tian Han (田漢) is the theme song of the film Children of Troubled Times released in April 1935. It is about how the sons and daughters of the Chinese nation united in solidarity with an unyielding spirit in their resistance against Japanese invaders. March of the Volunteers is now the national anthem of the People’s Republic of China.

Yellow River Cantata composed by Xian Xinghai with lyrics by Guang Weiran (光未然) is another masterpiece held dear by the Chinese people.

Guerrillas’ Song was written by He Luting (賀綠汀), an upbeat and catchy tune inspired numerous railway guerrillas.

Another classic is Unity is Strength, just to mention a few.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe and misc. photo sources.

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9

全面抗戰爆發後,日軍佔領了大半個中國,華北、華東、華中和華南大部分地區紛紛淪陷。以陪都重慶為中心的西南地區成為大後方,儘管日本空軍對中國各地,尤其是重慶進行長期狂轟濫炸,但中國人民還是奮起反抗,無數青年參軍,前赴後繼奔向抗日前線。抗戰歌曲《義勇軍進行曲》、《黃河大合唱》等響徹全國。敵後軍民頻繁地實施地道戰、地雷戰,組織敵後武工隊、鐵道游擊隊等抗擊日軍。

港澳民眾及海外華僑亦大力支援抗戰。1938年,宋慶齡在香港創建了保衛中國同盟。許多內地人士曾至香港避難。香港市民又大力救助內地難民、籌款支持抗戰。澳門雖屬中立區,但民眾仍慷慨解囊以助祖國抗戰,抗戰時期澳門本土成立的各類救亡社團不下30個。成千上萬的海外華僑在祖國處於危難時也未袖手旁觀,當時全世界800萬華僑中有一半以上參加捐款,八年全面抗戰期間海外僑胞捐款總數為國幣13億多元。南洋華僑領袖陳嘉庚還提出「敵未出國土前議和即漢奸」,盡顯抗戰到底的決心。

為何在中國音樂史上抗戰時期被視為重要階段?許多抗戰歌曲成為經典並傳唱至今,能否試加枚舉?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_1
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_1

抗戰期間,國民政府西遷重慶,日軍戰機屢次空襲這個戰時陪都,重慶市民死傷枕藉,但無損抗戰意志。左圖:1941年6月5日晚,日機轟炸重慶,市民湧入較場口大隧道防空洞,發生窒息慘劇,釀成992人死亡,151人重傷;右圖:重慶在一次日機轟炸後,防空隊員、童子軍、紅十字會人員、擔架隊緊急施救,反映各方齊心。

ebook

1938年2月18日至1943年8月23日,日本對戰時中國陪都重慶進行了長達五年半的戰略轟炸。據不完全統計,此段期間日本轟炸重慶超過200次,出動9,000多架次飛機,投彈11,500枚以上。重慶死於轟炸者逾萬,過萬幢房屋被毀,市區大部份繁華地區受破壞。日本空襲重慶,目的是希望通過殺傷大量平民,以瓦解中國的抵抗士氣,故轟炸時不分前線及後方,亦不以軍事目標為主要對象,卻多以居民區、繁華的商業區等為目標。然而瘋狂濫炸始終無法動搖民眾的抗戰決心。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_2

抗戰時期受訓中的青年軍。1944年10月,蔣介石提出「一寸山河一寸血,十萬青年十萬軍」的口號,發動知識青年參軍,獲廣泛響應。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_3

華北敵後軍民大舉投入抗擊日軍的行動。左圖:冀中婦女挖地道以助游擊隊發動地道戰;右圖:魯南鐵道游擊隊炸毀日軍火車。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_4
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_4

工人在抗戰期間修建機場跑道。圖中可見,由於缺乏壓路機等重型機械,只能靠人力拉動巨大而沉重的石滾來壓平跑道,工作極為艱辛。中國工人修建機場、公路等戰略性設施,對抗戰貢獻巨大。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_5
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_5

兒童參與義賣支援抗戰。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_6
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_6

港澳支援抗戰不遺餘力。左圖:日軍入侵香港前,宋慶齡在香港舉行支援中國抗日的義賣會,現場擺滿義賣物品;右圖:抗戰爆發後,澳門工商界和知名人士組織「澳門各界救災會」,支援中國抗戰。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_7
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_7

抗戰期間,不乏華僑參戰。圖為從海外回國的華僑義勇軍。另華僑飛行員是抗戰時期中國空軍的主力,約佔飛行員總數的四分之三。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_8
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_8

1940年3月,陳嘉庚(前右四)等南洋華僑領袖率領華僑回國,慰勞抗日將士,到達重慶時和歡迎者合影。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_9

旅美華僑在紐約唐人街舉行籌款救國大會,支援祖國抗戰。

mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_10
mainsite_psd_kangzhansan06_10

左圖:抗戰名曲《義勇軍進行曲》;右圖:1939年4月,冼星海在中共中央所在地延安指揮排練《黃河大合唱》。《義勇軍進行曲》及《黃河大合唱》的影響力持續至今。

為何在中國音樂史上抗戰時期被視為重要階段?許多抗戰歌曲成為經典並傳唱至今,能否試加枚舉?

中國自來是詩歌的國度,古語云「詩言志」,俗話說憤怒出詩人、歌由心生。十四年抗戰的歲月,一批優秀的文藝工作者深入前線或在後方堅持抗戰,創作出色作品,既鼓舞了抗敵軍民,也成不朽戰歌,令抗戰時期的中國現代音樂有長足發展。傳唱至今的經典抗戰歌曲不勝枚舉,茲略加概引:張寒暉的《松花江上》是「流亡三部曲」之一(後兩部由劉雪庵所作),唱盡東北淪陷的血淚史,如訴如泣、壯烈低迴;麥新的《大刀進行曲》,是長城抗戰和盧溝橋守軍大刀隊的寫照;田漢詞、聶耳曲的《義勇軍進行曲》,原是1935年4月故事影片《風雲兒女》的主題歌,表現了中華兒女萬眾一心、前赴後繼抗日的不屈精神,後成了中華人民共和國的國歌;光未然詞、冼星海曲的《黃河大合唱》,成了千古絕響;賀綠汀的《游擊隊歌》旋律輕快、易於傳唱,激勵了游擊健兒;其他如《團結就是力量》等等,不能盡述。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE、其他資料圖片。