• Opium War to Self-Strengthening Movement
    (1840-1894)
  • 1st Sino-Japanese War to 1911 Revolution
    (1894-1911)
  • Birth of the ROC to Nanking Decade
    (1912-1937)
  • War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression
    (1931-1945)
  • Civil War and Founding of the PRC
    (1945-1949)
  • Tales of Hong Kong
    (1840-1949)
  • Tales of Macao
    (1840-1949)
Opium War to Self-Strengthening Movement
(1840-1894)
1st Sino-Japanese War to 1911 Revolution
(1894-1911)
Birth of the ROC to Nanking Decade
(1912-1937)
War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression
(1931-1945)
Civil War and Founding of the PRC
(1945-1949)
Tales of Hong Kong
(1840-1949)
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(2)The Outbreak of the First Sino-Japanese War

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06

Upon the Meiji Restoration, Japan planned to invade China via Korea, a Chinese dependency. As early as 1876, Japan declared Korea an autonomous state through the Treaty of Ganghwa and rejected the Qing’s sovereignty. As Japan continued to target Korea, troops were deployed on multiple occasions to force China into giving Japan authority over Korea. Japan was militarizing rapidly and expanding its army and navy. Thus it soon became the dominant military power in East Asia. China grossly underestimated what it still called a small country.

In 1894, troops were deployed by China and Japan simultaneously to help Korea suppress the Donghak Revolt. After defeating the rebels, Japan did not withdraw its troops and forced Korea to cut ties with China. On July 25, without a declaration of war, Japanese naval forces sank the Kowshing, a Chinese troop carrier, in the waters of Pungdo and launched an attack on the Qing army stationed in Asan. On August 1, the First Sino-Japanese War was officially declared.

Why is the First Sino-Japanese War regarded as a clash between two modernizing states?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-01
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-01

Pictured is the Japanese naval fleet in 1894. The Japanese had built a modern military force after over twenty years of Meiji Restoration inspired modernization, and were ready to take on China. Japan pushed ahead with its plan to invade China via Korea and actively sought an opportunity to instigate war.

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-02
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-02

Prior to the Sino-Japanese War, Korea’s state administration had been plagued by long-standing problems. King Gojong reigned in name only and the country was first run by his father Daewongun (left), then by his spouse Queen Min (right), and the constant strife between factions headed by these two powers behind the throne led to political instability. This, along with rampant corruption, fueled growing poverty and social discontent presenting Japan with the opportunity to interfere.

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-03
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-03

In early 1894, a large-scale rebellion broke out in Korea, prompting China and Japan to dispatch their armies there simultaneously to support the ruling Korean party. It was this incident that led to the First Sino-Japanese War. The picture features Jeon Bong-jun, rebel leader of the Donghak Revolt, and his followers. Jeon Bong-jun is the middle figure holding a sword in his left hand and a scroll in his right.

ebook

The Donghak Sect, which inspired the peasant rebellion, called for a crusade to “help the nation and provide security for the people, expel the Japanese and Westerners, and exterminate the rich and powerful.” The rebellion it sparked was called the Peasant Revolt 1893-1895. Other names included the Peasant Revolt of 1894, as major incidents occurred during 1894, or the Donghak Revolt.

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-04
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-04

The Qing army sailed for Korea, then China’s tributary state, to help quell the Donghak Revolt. In June 1894, the Qing court sent Ye Zhichao (葉志超), Commander-in-Chief of Zhili (直隸提督), to Asan, Korea with 2,000 troops, the majority of whom were from the Huai Army founded by Li Hongzhang (李鴻章).

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-05
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-05

In June 1894, the Japanese army landed in Incheon just as China dispatched its troops. The Japanese successively deployed over 10,000 troops to Korea, capturing strategic locations from Incheon to Seoul and gradually surrounded the Qing forces stationed in Asan.

ebook

In as early as 1884, Japan had supported Korea’s pro-Japan Gaehwadang (Enlightenment Party) by mobilizing Japanese troops to assist with their coup to seize power. However, they were thwarted by Qing troops stationed in Korea under the command of General Yuan Shikai (袁世凱). The incident led to the signing of the 1885 Convention of Tientsin (Convention of Tianjin, 中日天津條約) by Li Hongzhang and Itō Hirobumi, who represented China and Japan respectively. According to the treaty, the two powers were to pull their troops out of Korea and pledge to provide prior notification to the other if troops were to be sent to Korea in the future. Upon completion of any mission in Korea, they were to withdraw immediately, leaving no troops behind to occupy Korean territory. Korea was a tributary state of China, these terms were tantamount to acknowledging Japan’s right to interfere in Korean affairs and was a serious diplomatic blunder by the Qing court. When the Donghak Revolt erupted in 1894, Japan swiftly set up its Imperial General Headquarters in Hiroshima in June, and began to make preparations for the forthcoming war. They used the Convention of Tianjin to justify their deployment of troops into Korea, made sure their forces outnumbered China’s, and refused to withdraw after the suppression of the rebellion, thus attempting to provoke a war with China. Pre-empted both diplomatically and militarily by Japan’s carefully laid schemes from the very start, the Qing court could only react passively to everything that followed.

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06

Li Hongzhang was responsible for handling the crisis. Initially he was keen on resolving the conflict diplomatically, but had to send more troops post-haste when the situation escalated. In 1894, the Qing military chartered the Kowshing, a British merchant vessel, to ferry reinforcement troops to Korea. It was sunk by Japanese warships near Pungdo Island off the coast of Asan. This picture depicts the Kowshing ablaze and sinking after Japanese bombardment. 

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-07
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-07

                               More than 1,000 troops and crew members were onboard the Kowshing. About 200 were rescued but over 800

                               people perished. The picture shows the rescue efforts of the French warships nearby.

ebook

As tension rose on the Korean Peninsula, particularly with the involvement of a chartered British merchant ship during the Sino-Japanese conflict, foreign naval fleets in the Far East were put on high alert. Both the British and French fleets moved in when the Battle of Pungdo broke out. The British captain of the Kowshing was rescued by the Japanese while surviving Chinese troops were mainly assisted by the French.

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-08
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-08

The Battle of Asan illustrated by a Japanese artist. On July 25, 1894, just as a naval battle was waged in Pungdo, Japanese infantry stationed in Korea launched a surprise attack on the Qing army at Asan and defeated them on 26 July. The Qing forces retreated to Seonghwan.

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-09
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-09

Battle of Seonghwan illustrated by a Japanese artist. On July 29, 1894, the Japanese army attacked Seonghwan. The Qing army suffered another defeat and retreated to Pyongyang.

mainsite_psd_aug7-jiawu02-10_en
mainsite_psd_aug7-jiawu02-10_en

On August 1, 1894, China and Japan officially declared war, leading to the outbreak of the First Sino-Japanese War.

Why is the First Sino-Japanese War regarded as a clash between two modernizing states?

Although their situations were somewhat different, both China and Japan faced invasion by foreign powers, in 1840 and 1853 respectively, and were forced to sign unequal treaties. Later, both China and Japan attempted to modernize through reforms. In China, it was through the Self-Strengthening Movement starting in 1860 and in Japan, the Meiji Restoration starting in 1868. Both countries strived to learn from the US and Europe in military, industrial, economic and cultural terms placing particular emphasis on building a modern army and navy. The outcome of this war is a reflection of Japan’s greater success in achieving reform.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe (pictures 1-6, 8, 9), Visual China Group (pictures 2, 7), misc. photo sources.

Extended Reading

鴉片戰爭至洋務運動
(1840-1894)
民國成立至南京十年(最新)
(1912-1937)
近代港澳滄桑
(1840-1949)
抗日戰爭
(即將推出)
內戰與新中國成立
(即將推出)

(二)中日甲午戰爭爆發

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06

明治維新以來,日本把侵略中國定為重要目標,而朝鮮則成為跳板。早在1876年日本就通過《江華條約》宣稱「朝鮮為自主之邦」,  而對朝鮮的宗主國清朝予以排斥。後來日本又屢屢出兵干預朝鮮事務,取得與中國在朝鮮共同行動的權利。日本還大力擴展海軍、陸軍,在中日戰爭前已成東亞軍事強國,而當時中國卻仍視其為「蕞爾小國」,麻痺輕敵。

1894年,朝鮮發生東學黨民變,中、日同時出兵赴朝,但事變漸平後日本卻不願撤兵,反迫朝鮮斷絕與清之藩屬關係。是年7月25日,日本不宣而戰,在豐島水域擊沉清朝運兵船高升號,同時又出動陸軍突襲駐牙山之清軍。8月1日,中日雙方正式宣戰。因事發於甲午年,史稱「甲午戰爭」。

甲午戰爭係清代中日兩國之間的戰爭,為何又被視為亞洲兩種改革的交鋒?

答案見下。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-01
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-01

1894年的日本艦隊。經過明治維新二十多年整軍經武,日本已有力與清朝一戰,乃加速推動以朝鮮為跳板向中國擴張的計劃,着力製造開戰機會。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-02
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-02

中日戰爭前,朝鮮內政積弊多年。當時高宗在位,先後由生父大院君(左)、妻子閔妃(右)執掌大權,自己卻無實權。大院君和閔妃兩派爭鬥不休,令政局不穩,加上官僚腐敗、民生困苦,社會日益不安,遂予日本可乘之機。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-03
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-03

1894年初,朝鮮爆發大規模民變,令中日兩國同時出兵朝鮮,成甲午戰爭導火線。圖為領導起事的東學道領袖全琫準及追隨者,全琫準站於中間,左手握劍,右手持卷軸。

ebook

領導是次民變的東學道,提出「輔國安民,斥倭斥洋,盡滅權貴」的主張。因連同起事導火線及完全被鎮壓時跨三年,故也被稱為「1893至1895年朝鮮農民戰爭」,但主要事件發生在1894甲午年,所以常稱「甲午農民戰爭」或「東學黨起事」。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-04
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-04

清軍在碼頭準備登船赴朝鮮。朝鮮當時是中國的藩屬國,為幫助朝鮮政府鎮壓東學道起事,清廷於1894年6月派直隸提督葉志超率領清軍二千餘人赴朝鮮牙山。當時赴朝鮮的主要是李鴻章麾下的淮軍。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-05
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-05

1894年6月,日軍在仁川登陸。清朝派兵的同時,日本亦陸續派軍萬餘人進入朝鮮,佔據仁川至漢城一帶的戰略要地,並逐漸對駐守牙山的清軍形成包圍之勢。

ebook

早於1884年,日本已在朝鮮助親日的開化黨策劃政變、引日軍入宮,但被當時駐守朝鮮的袁世凱率清軍擊敗。事後中日於1885年由李鴻章、伊藤博文代表,在天津訂立《中日天津條約》,同意中日兩國均自朝鮮撤兵,並約定:「將來朝鮮如有事,中日兩國或一國要派兵,應先行文知會;及其事定,仍即撤回,不再留防。」這形同認可日本日後有權軍事介入朝鮮事務,實為清朝外交之重大失着。1894年朝鮮爆發東學道民變,日本在6月初即在廣島成立戰時大本營,全力備戰,並利用《中日天津條約》作為出兵依據,而且派兵數量遠超中國,民變平息後又拒絕撤軍,藉以製造機會與清軍開戰。日本在外交和軍事上處心積慮,部署精密,處處早着先機,令清朝一開始即陷入被動。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-06

掌管外交、手握淮軍和北洋水師、負責處理這次危機的李鴻章,本極力循外交途徑解決,後見形勢緊張,才急急增兵。1894年7月,清軍租用英國商船高升號運載士兵到朝鮮增援。7月25日,日艦在豐島海域擊沉高升號。圖為高升號遭日艦轟擊後着火下沉。 

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-07
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-07

                               高升號上一千多名清軍及船員,有二百多人獲救,其餘八百多人葬身大海。圖為附近法國戰艦正在救援墮海清軍。

ebook

朝鮮局勢早已緊張,加上高升號是英國商船,列強在遠東的戰艦對事態一直密切注視。豐島海戰爆發後,英國、法國艦隻隨後趕到,日艦救起高升號的英國船長,倖存的清兵則多由法艦所救。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-08
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-08

日本畫師所繪牙山之戰圖。1894年7月25日,與豐島海戰同日,日本駐朝鮮陸軍突襲駐牙山清軍。7月26日,清軍敗走,由牙山退駐成歡。

mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-09
mainsite_psd_jiawu02_2019_v2-09

日本畫師所繪成歡之戰圖。1894年7月29日,日軍進攻成歡,清軍再敗,北撤至平壤。

mainsite_psd_aug1-jiawu02-10
mainsite_psd_aug1-jiawu02-10

1894年8月1日,中日兩國相互宣戰,甲午戰爭正式爆發。

甲午戰爭係清代中日兩國之間的戰爭,為何又被視為亞洲兩種改革的交鋒?

中國和日本雖大小不同,但在近代卻先後於1840年和1853年遭英美列強所侵,均被迫簽訂不平等條約。其後兩國在1860年代也先後推行近代化的改革,中國洋務運動起於1860年,日本明治維新由1868年始。除有無建立君主立憲制度外,兩國都向歐美學習軍事裝備、經濟交通及文化教育諸方面的成果,並均建設了近代的新式海陸軍。因此,此次戰爭的勝負,從一個側面反映了各自改革的成敗得失。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE(圖1-6、8、9)、視覺中國(圖2、7)、其他資料圖片。

延伸閱讀