Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(6) The East Hebei Incident and the North China Autonomous Movement

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2

Japan had set a plan to invade China. Instead of forcing its way in, Japan chose to encroach the vast land little by little. Soon after the negotiations of the He-Umezu Agreement (「何梅協定」), Japan plotted a coup in the eastern part of Hebei Province (河北) and initiated the so-called North China Autonomous Movement. On 24 November 1935, Yin Rugeng (殷汝耕), a former important official of the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨), set up the East Hebei Anti-Communist Autonomous Council in Tongzhou (通州) under the support of Japan and declared independence from the Nationalist Government. A month later, it changed to the East Hebei Autonomous Government (1935-38), with the capital later relocated from Tongzhou to Tangshan (唐山) and the leader succeeded by Chi Zongmo (池宗墨). This government was Japan’s second puppet regime after the puppet state of Manchukuo (偽滿洲國). The series of events was called the East Hebei Incident (冀東事變). In 1938, the East Hebei Autonomous Government was incorporated into the so-called Provisional Government of the Republic of China (1937-40) established in Beiping (北平) by another Japanese puppet named Wang Kemin (王克敏).

The East Hebei Incident and the establishment of the East Hebei Autonomous Government were Japan’s first step to advance the North China Autonomous Movement. The North China Autonomous Movement was also called the Specialisation of North China, the North China Buffer State Strategy, and the North China Incident. By promoting this operation, Japan targeted to detach five provinces of northern China - Hebei, Chahar (察哈爾), Suiyuan (綏遠), Shandong (山東), and Shanxi (山西) - from China. In February 1936, Hebei and Chahar were put under partial autonomy and the Mongol Military Government was set up in Chahar. On 11 December, the Nationalist Government established the Hebei-Chahar Political Council headed by Song Zheyuan (宋哲元), which temporarily delayed the development of the North China Incident, However, Japan was virtually controlling North China. After the July 7th Incident, it further accelerated the establishment of puppet regimes in China.

Japan used to adopt the strategy of using Chinese to subdue Chinese during its invasion of China. What puppet regimes did it establish in China after 1931?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_1
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_1

On 24 November 1935, Yin Rugeng, supported by Japan, set up the East Hebei Anti-Communist Autonomous Council and declared independence from the Nationalist Government. The photo shows Yin standing at the leader’s seat as the Council was established.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2

A month after its establishment, the East Hebei Anti-Communist Autonomous Council, was renamed the East Hebei Autonomous Government on 25 December 1935. This was the second puppet regime installed by Japan in China after the puppet state of Manchukuo. The photo shows the gate of the East Hebei Autonomous Government. In 1938, this government was incorporated into the Provisional Government of the Republic of China headed by Wang Kemin.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_3

The map displaying Chahar, Rehe (熱河), and Suiyuan published during the Republican period. The three provinces, together with Hebei, Shandong, and Shanxi, all belong to North China. After Japanese occupation in 1933, Rehe was merged into the puppet state of Manchukuo.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_4
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_4

A photo taken in Suiyuan County, Suiyuan, during 1932-33. Slogans such as “Never forget the national shame and take revenge” can be seen written on the wall. In the mid-1930s, Japan vigorously instigated the North China Autonomous Movement, with Suiyuan included.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_5
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_5

After the September 18 Incident and the Defence of the Great Wall, many anti-Japanese armed forces appeared in North China. On 26 May 1933, the Chahar People’s Anti-Japanese Army was founded in Zhangjiakou (張家口). The photo shows the cavalry of the Army rushing to the frontline of the resistance against Japanese aggression. In the mid-1930s, Japan vigorously instigated the North China Autonomous Movement, with Chahar included.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_6
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_6

On 11 December 1935, the Nationalist Government established the Hebei-Chahar Political Council headed by Song Zheyuan, which delayed the North China Autonomous Movement staged by Japan. Left: a newspaper report on the Nationalist Government’s establishment of the Hebei-Chahar Political Council. Right: Song, the Chairman of the Council cum Commander of the 29th Corps. His 29th Corps was the main force in the Defence of the Great Wall in 1933.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_7
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_7

After the establishment of the Hebei-Chahar Political Council, Japan continued to promote the North China Autonomous Movement and established puppet regimes in North China. The photo shows the rostrum of the first Mongolian Congress in April 1936, at which the founding of the Mongol Military Government was discussed and decided upon. The flags of Japan and the Mongol Military Government can be seen behind the rostrum. The Mongol Military Government controlled by Japan was formally established in Chahar in the following month.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_8
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_8

After the July 7th Incident, Japan accelerated the establishment of puppet regimes in North China. On 4 September 1937, Japan established the Southern Chahar Autonomous Government in Chahar.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_9

On 15 October 1937, Japan established the Northern Shanxi Autonomous Government in Shanxi. The photo shows the founding congress of the puppet regime.

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_10
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_10

On 14 December 1937, Japan established the Provisional Government of the Republic of China headed by Wang Kemin in Beiping. In the photo, the slogan “Celebrating the Founding of the Provisional Government of the Republic of China” can be seen hanging on the Tiananmen (天安門) Gate Tower.

Japan used to adopt the strategy of using Chinese to subdue Chinese during its invasion of China. What puppet regimes did it establish in China after 1931?

During its invasion of China, Japan used to adopt the policy of using Chinese to subdue Chinese to install puppet regimes in many provinces. Here are some important examples:

(1) The puppet state of Manchukuo was founded on 1 March 1932 after the September 18 Incident in 1931, with Aisin-Gioro Puyi (愛新覺羅‧溥儀), the last emperor of the Qing dynasty (清朝), as chief executive and Datong (大同) as his reign title. The regime set its capital in Hsinking (﹝新京﹞, now Changchun ﹝長春﹞, Jilin Province﹝吉林﹞) and administered Rehe and three other provinces in Northeast China - Liaoning (遼寧), Jilin (吉林), and Heilongjiang (黑龍江). On 1 March 1934, it was renamed the Empire of Manchuria (大滿洲帝國) and Puyi was crowned adopting the reign title Kangde (康德). The regime fell on 18 August 1945.

(2) The puppet East Hebei Autonomous Government was founded during the East Hebei Incident in November and December 1935. Its predecessor was the East Hebei Anti-Communist Autonomous Council set up in Tongzhou on 24 November 1935, with Yin Rugeng as chairman. The Council was renamed the East Hebei Autonomous Government on 25 December 1935, with Yin as administrative commissioner. In August 1937, the Government moved its capital to Tangshan, with Chi Zongmo taking the position as administrative commissioner. On 1 February 1938, the East Hebei Autonomous Government was abolished and incorporated into the puppet Provisional Government of the Republic of China in Beiping.

(3) The puppet Provisional Government of the Republic of China was founded in Beiping on 14 December 1937, with Wang Kemin as chairman of the Administrative Committee. After Wang Jingwei (汪精衛) established the Reorganised National Government of the Republic of China in Nanjing (南京) in 1940, the Provisional Government of the Republic of China was dissolved and changed into the North China Political Council, with Wang Yitang (王揖唐) as its chairman. It was put under the direct control of Japan.

(4) The puppet Government of the Republic of China was founded in Nanjing on 30 March 1940 (Japan captured Nanjing in December 1937), with Wang Jingwei as acting chairman of the Reorganised National Government cum president of the Executive Yuan (行政院) under it. Chen Gongbo (陳公博) succeeded Wang as acting chairman cum president of the Executive Yuan after Wang died in November 1944. The Government was dissolved after Japan surrendered on 16 August 1945.

Other Japanese puppet regimes include the Reformed Government of the Republic of China, the Mongol-Xinjiang (蒙疆) United Autonomous Government, the Mongol Military Government, the Southern Chahar Autonomous Government, and the Northern Shanxi Autonomous Government, to name a few.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe (pictures 1-5, and pictures 7-10) and misc. photo sources.

(六)“冀东事变”及“华北五省自治”

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2

日本侵华计划既定,但一时尚不能武力鲸吞,而取渐进蚕食方式。在“何梅协定”交涉后不久,日本即在冀(河北)东策划政变,发起所谓“华北五省自治”。1935年11月24日,原国民党要员殷汝耕在日本卵翼下,于通州成立“冀东防共自治委员会”,宣布脱离国民政府独立,一个月后改为“冀东防共自治政府”(1935-1938),旋由通州改治唐山,其头目也由池宗墨继之,是为伪满洲国后第二个日伪傀儡政权,史称“冀东事变”。该政权后于1938年并入由另一日本傀儡王克敏在北平成立的所谓“中华民国临时政府”(1937-1940)。

冀东事变及其成立的冀东防共自治政府是华北五省自治的首步。华北五省自治,又称华北特殊化、华北分离、华北自治运动、华北事变。日本企图借此使河北、察哈尔、绥远、山东、山西五省脱离中国,于1936年2月已令河北、察哈尔两省实行部分自治,同时又在察哈尔境内成立“蒙古军政府”。尽管国民政府于1935年12月11日成立以宋哲元为首的冀察政务委员会,令华北事变进程暂时延缓,不过日本无形中已操控了华北地区。“七‧七事变”后,日本在华成立傀儡政权的步伐进一步加快。

日本侵略中国惯用“以华治华”。1931年后日本在华建立的傀儡政权有哪些?

答案见下。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_1
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_1

          1935年11月24日,日本扶植殷汝耕成立“冀东防共自治委员会”,宣布脱离国民政府独立。图为该会成立时殷汝耕站在长官席上。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_2

“冀东防共自治委员会”成立后一个月,于1935年12月25日改称“冀东防共自治政府”,是继伪满洲国后第二个由日本在中国扶植的傀儡政权。图为“冀东防共自治政府”大门。1938年,“冀东防共自治政府”并入王克敏的“中华民国临时政府”。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_3
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_3

          民国时期出版的察哈尔、热河、绥远地图。这三省与河北、山东、山西等,都属华北地区。热河于1933年被日本占领,并入伪满洲国。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_4
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_4

摄于1932至1933年绥远省绥远县的一幅照片,墙壁上有“勿忘国耻”、“雪耻报仇”等标语。1930年代中,日本大力策动包括绥远在内的华北五省自治。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_5
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_5

“九‧一八事变”及长城抗战后,华北出现多股抗日武装。1933年5月26日,察哈尔抗日同盟军在张家口成立。图为察哈尔抗日同盟军骑兵奔赴抗日前线。1930年代中,日本大力策动包括察哈尔在内的华北五省自治。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_6
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_6

1935年12月11日,国民政府成立以宋哲元为首的冀察政务委员会,该委员会一定程度上延缓了日本的华北“自治”运动。左图:报章报道国民政府成立冀察政务委员会;右图:冀察政务委员会委员长宋哲元,他身兼第二十九军军长,其麾下第二十九军是1933年长城抗战的主力。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_7
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_7

冀察政务委员会成立后,日本继续推动华北“自治”,在华北成立傀儡政权。图为1936年4月,讨论决定成立“蒙古军政府”的第一次蒙古大会主席台,台后有日本国旗及“蒙古军政府”旗帜。次月,由日本控制的“蒙古军政府”在察哈尔境内正式成立。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_8
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_8

          “七‧七事变”后,日本加紧在华北成立傀儡政权。1937年9月4日,日本在察哈尔成立“察南自治政府”。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_9
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_9

                    1937年10月15日,日本在山西成立“晋北自治政府”。图为该傀儡政权的成立大会。

mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_10
mainsite_psd_kangzhan06_10

1937年12月14日,日本在北平成立以王克敏为首的“中华民国临时政府”。图为该傀儡政权成立时,天安门城楼挂起“庆祝中华民国临时政府成立”的标语。

日本侵略中国惯用“以华治华”。1931年后日本在华建立的傀儡政权有哪些?

日本侵略中国,惯用“以华治华”政策,四处培植伪政权,兹略举其要者:

(1)伪“满洲国”:建于1931年“九‧一八事变”后的1932年3月1日,由清末帝爱新觉罗‧溥仪任执政,年号“大同”,治于新京(今吉林长春),控制奉天、吉林、黑龙江东北三省及热河。1934年3月1日改称“大满洲帝国”,溥仪登基,年号“康德”。1945年8月18日灭亡。

(2) 伪“冀东防共自治政府”:建于1935年11至12月的“冀东事变”时,1935年11月24日在通州成立“冀东防共自治委员会”,由殷汝耕任委员长。1935年12月25日改称“冀东防共自治政府”,殷汝耕任政务长官。1937年8月,该政府徙治唐山,池宗墨接任政务长官。1938年2月1日,冀东防共自治政府取消,并入北平的伪“中华民国临时政府”。

(3) 伪“中华民国临时政府”:成立于1937年12月14日的北平,其政府首脑王克敏充任临时政府的行政委员会委员长。1940年汪精卫成立南京“国民政府”后,“中华民国临时政府”被解散,改为“华北政务委员会”,王揖唐任委员长,由日本人直接控制。

(4) 伪“中华民国政府”:成立于1940年3月30日的南京(日军于1937年12月攻陷南京),由汪精卫担任“国民政府”代主席及其下行政院院长。1944年11月汪精卫死后,陈公博任代理主席兼行政院长。1945年8月16日在日本投降后该政府宣告终结。

其他的日本傀儡政权,尚有“中华民国维新政府”、“蒙疆联合自治政府”、“蒙古军政府”、“察南自治政府”、“晋北自治政府”等等,不能尽述。

本专题主要图片来源:FOTOE、其他资料图片。