Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(2) Party Purge, Nanjing-Wuhan Split and Reconciliation

mainsite_psd_beifa02_8
mainsite_psd_beifa02_8

Just as the Northern Expedition was going well, the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨) suddenly purged the communist elements in the party. In fact, there had long been opposition in the KMT to the policies of “allying with Soviet Russia, accommodating the Chinese communists” advocated by Sun Yat-sen (孫中山). In November 1925, Zou Lu (鄒魯), Dai Jitao (戴季陶), and others held the 4th Plenary Session of the 1st Central Committee of the Kuomintang of China in front of Sun Yat-sen’s Mausoleum in Temple of Azure Clouds, Western Hills, Beijing (北京), demanding to launch the “Party Purge”, aiming to purge the Chinese Communist Party (CCP, 中國共產黨) members from the KMT. Later, they became known as the Xishan Conference Party (西山會議派).

Chiang Kai-shek (蔣介石) had long held an anti-communist attitude as well. In particular, he felt threatened by the CCP’s launch of workers and peasants movements and its growing strength during the Northern Expedition. From October 1926 to March 1927, Zhou Enlai (周恩來) and others organised Shanghai (上海) workers to launch three armed uprisings to cooperate with the Northern Expedition. However, on 12 April 1927, Chiang launched the “Party Purge” in Shanghai, during which many communists were killed. The campaign soon spread to other places and broke down the first KMT-CCP cooperation.

The Nationalist Government in Wuhan (武漢) headed by Wang Jingwei (汪精衛) initially opposed the purge. Therefore, Chiang established a new nationalist government in Nanjing (南京) on 18 April 1927, which was known as the Nanjing-Wuhan Split (寧漢分裂). However, on 15 July 1927, the Wang-led Nationalist Government also started to eliminate CCP members during the so-called Wuhan-Communist Split (武漢分共). Before long, Wang announced to move the capital of the Wuhan Nationalist Government to Nanjing, which was known as Nanjing-Wuhan Reconciliation (寧漢合流). Since then, the Nationalist Government in Nanjing became the unified regime of the KMT.

Both the KMT and the CCP originally advocated anti-imperialism and anti-warlordism and were once as close as brothers. Why did they turn against each other during the Northern Expedition?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_1
mainsite_psd_beifa02_1

There were clues in a series of event taking place before the Northern Expedition that led to the crackdown of the KMT-CCP cooperation. On 20 August 1925, Liao Zhongkai (廖仲愷), a KMT senior member and leftist (supporting an alliance with Soviet Russia and accommodation of the Chinese communists), was assassinated. It was generally believed that the KMT rightists (anti-Soviet Russia and anti-communists) did it, which cast a shadow over the KMT-CCP cooperation. Left: Liao. Right: Liao’s family around his body, from the left: his son Liao Chengzhi (廖承志), his wife He Xiangning (何香凝), and his daughter Liao Mengxing (廖夢醒).

mainsite_psd_beifa02_2
mainsite_psd_beifa02_2

The venue of the Xishan Conference. In November 1925, the KMT rightists Zou Lu, Dai Jitao, and others held the 4th Plenary Session of the 1st Central Committee of the Kuomintang in front of Sun Yat-sen’s Mausoleum in Temple of Azure Clouds, Western Hills, Beijing, demanding to eliminate the communist elements in the KMT. Together they formed the Xishan Conference Party. The rift between the two parties further exposed.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_3
mainsite_psd_beifa02_3

Left: The warship SS Zhongshan in 1926. Right: Li Zhilong (李之龍), captain of SS Zhongshan cum CCP member. On 20 March 1926, the warship was involved in a suspected mutiny, which almost broke the tie between the KMT and the CCP.

ebook

The warship SS Zhongshan, originally called Yongfeng (永豐艦), was launched in 1912. The officers and soldiers of this warship rescued Sun Yat-sen (孫中山) during the rebellion of Chen Jiongming (陳炯明) in 1922. After Sun’s death in 1925, the warship was renamed SS Zhongshan in remembrance of Sun. On 20 March 1926, Chiang Kai-shek claimed that this warship moored in Guangzhou (廣州) was planning to launch a mutiny. He then ordered to place martial law in Guangzhou, detain the warship, arrest Li Zhilong (the then acting Chief of the Naval Bureau cum captain of SS Zhongshan, who was also a CCP member), and besiege Soviet consultants, and Communist Party organs. This incident, which was later known as the SS Zhongshan Incident, further strained the two parties’ relationship. However, they left it unsettled to avoid the situation from deteriorating as the Northern Expedition was imminent.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_4
mainsite_psd_beifa02_4

Left: Zhou Enlai in the winter of 1926. Middle: A statue of Ye Ting (葉挺) in the National Revolutionary Army (NRA) uniform. Right: After the NRA occupied Nanchang (南昌), Jiangxi Province (江西), in November 1926, some political staff members took a group photo. The second from right in the front row is Zhu Kejing (朱克靖), the Party Representative at the Third Army. The second, third, and forth from left in the back row are Li Yimang (李一氓), the Secretary-general of the Department of Politics, Lin Boqu (林伯渠), the Party Representative at the Sixth Army, and Li Fuchun (李富春), the Party Representative at the Second Army, respectively. All the above-mentioned were CCP members. Although the KMT members outnumbered the CCP members, many important political and military positions were held by the latter. The CCP’s influence within the KMT and the NRA rocketed when the Northern Expedition expanded further, causing many KMT members to worry that the party and its army would eventually be controlled by the CCP. Anti-communist sentiment within the KMT thus grew.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_5
mainsite_psd_beifa02_5

Left: In February 1927, Xiangxiang County Farmers’ Association of Hunan Province (湖南湘鄉縣農會) issued a notice against landlords, local tyrants, and evil gentry. Right: In February 1927, Shanghai Federation of Trade Union (上海總工會) called on Shanghai workers to strike and cooperate with the NRA as they advanced on Shanghai. During the Northern Expedition, the CCP continuously launched workers and peasants movements to support the march of the NRA, which caused growing dissatisfaction in the KMT.

ebook

The CCP launched workers and peasants movements in the form of class struggle. It won wide support from the lower class in cities and rural areas, which facilitated the advancement of the NRA. For example, before the NRA advanced on big cities, the CCP would launch labour strikes and even organised armed workers to station in major traffic routes and important facilities, so that the NRA could take over the city smoothly as soon as it arrived. However, the move seriously threatened members of the landed gentry and urban capitalists. Many NRA officers and soldiers came from the landed gentry. It hit their morale hard when they learned that their families were affected by the peasants movements, and small mutinies thus broke out. More and more KMT members found the communist movement unacceptable. By the time the NRA arrived in Shanghai, China’s largest industrial and commercial city, the conflict between the two parties reached its boiling point.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_6
mainsite_psd_beifa02_6

Workers’ armed forces in Zhabei (閘北), Shanghai, during the Northern Expedition. To support the NRA, the CCP organised workers’ armed forces in Shanghai and launched three uprisings. In the third one on 22 March 1927, the number of armed workers reached 2,700. The CCP’s actions, targeting not only capitalists but also imperialists, greatly shocked capitalists and foreigners in Shanghai.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_7
mainsite_psd_beifa02_7

The NRA arrived at the Shanghai North Railway Station. On 22 March 1927, it advanced on Shanghai and recovered Nanjing (南京) the next day. At the same time, the anti-Communist forces led by Chiang Kai-shek in the KMT were ready to launch the “Party Purge”.

ebook

Historian generally believed that Chiang Kai-shek who opposed the CCP had long intended to eliminate its elements from the KMT. However, the move was postponed because Chiang needed the Soviet Union’s support. It was not until the NRA controlled Shanghai, Nanjing, and the rich south-eastern coastal provinces that Chiang gained the opportunity to win the support of powerful capitalists and western countries. Capitalists feared the class struggle of the CCP and Western countries were worried that the Soviet Union would monopolise China for aiding the Northern Expedition. They all hoped to protect their own interests by supporting anti-communists led by Chiang. After gaining strong support to replace that of the Soviet Union, Chiang was determined to launch the “Party Purge”.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_8
mainsite_psd_beifa02_8

On 12 April 1927, Chiang Kai-shek ordered to launch the “Party Purge” to arrest and execute CCP members on a large scale. The picture shows a CCP member being beheaded on a street in Shanghai.

ebook

The “Party Purge” in Shanghai were implemented by both the army and gang forces such as Green Gang (青幫) led by Du Yuesheng (杜月笙). In addition, in the foreign concession, foreign military police tracked down and arrested communists and pro-communist workers, and turned them over to Chiang Kai-shek’s military police. It was estimated that more than a thousand people were killed in Shanghai. It quickly spread to other parts of the country, where members and supporters of the CCP were captured and killed. On 28 April, warlord Zhang Zuolin (張作霖) of the Fengtian clique (奉系) hanged 20 CCP members in Beijing, including Li Dazhao (李大釗), one of the CCP founders. On 21 May, Xu Kexiang (許克祥), a KMT officer, destroyed trade unions and peasant associations in Changsha (長沙) and killed hundreds of people. This was later known as the Mari Incident (馬日事變, the telegram rhythmic entry for 21 May was the Chinese character “Ma” ﹝馬﹞ as “horse”, “Mari” meaning “the day of Ma”).

mainsite_psd_beifa02_9
mainsite_psd_beifa02_9

A modern-day picture of the former site of the Nationalist Government in Wuhan. The Nationalist Government in Wuhan criticised the “Party Purge” and insisted on continuing the KMT-CCP cooperation. Chiang Kai-shek then set up a new nationalist government in Nanjing on 18 April 1927. This became known as the Nanjing-Wuhan Split.

mainsite_psd_beifa02_10
mainsite_psd_beifa02_10

The conflict between the two parties was never resolved. On 15 July 1927, the Nationalist Government in Wuhan headed by Wang Jingwei decided to purge the CCP members and disengaged the Soviet advisers in the Wuhan-Communist Split. Before long, the Nationalist Government in Wuhan moved to Nanjing, making the Nanjing Nationalist Government the unified regime of the KMT. This incident became known as the Nanjing-Wuhan Reconciliation, which caused the first KMT-CCP cooperation to completely break down. Left: Wang in the 1920s. Right: Newspapers reports on the Wuhan-Communist Split and Nanjing-Wuhan Reconciliation.

Both the KMT and the CCP originally advocated anti-imperialism and anti-warlordism and were once as close as brothers. Why did they turn against each other during the Northern Expedition?

The foundation of the 1924-27 KMT-CCP cooperation was their mutual opposition towards imperialism and warlordism. However, the KMT pursued the Three Principles of the People and advocated dependence on landlords and capitalists to build a country, while the CCP advocated Marx’s communism and mobilised workers and peasants to seize power. This was one of the reasons why the two parties parted ways. Often, doctrines or ideologies are just the banner of a gang or a political party to seize power. Once the power is in hand, people originally with the same ideals would be ready to fight each other to death. This is not something uncommon in history. For example, the Chu-Han Contention (楚漢之爭) between Xiang Yu (項羽) and Liu Bang (劉邦) after overthrowing the Qin dynasty (秦朝); the battle between Greenwood, Red Eyebrows and Emperor Guangwu (光武) of the Han dynasty after overthrowing Wang Mang’s (王莽) Xin dynasty (新朝); the battle between mass uprisings such as Wagang Army (瓦崗) and the Tang dynasty (唐朝) after overthrowing the Sui dynasty (隋朝); and the battle between various anti-Yuan dynasty (元朝) mass uprisings and the Ming dynasty (明朝) around the collapse of the Yuan dynasty. Their common aim was to seize power and control the regime nationwide.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe

Extended Reading

(二)清党与宁汉分合

mainsite_psd_beifa02_8
mainsite_psd_beifa02_8

正当北伐形势大好之际,国民党却突然清党反共。原来对于孙中山的联俄容共,国民党内历来有反对之声,1925年11月,邹鲁、戴季陶等人,在北京西山碧云寺孙中山灵前召开国民党一届四中全会,要求清党(清除国民党内的共产党员),史称“西山会议派”。蒋介石也素持反共之态度,对于北伐时共产党发动工农运动及势力壮大尤感恐惧。1926年10月至翌年3月,周恩来等曾组织上海工人举行三次武装起事以配合北伐军。但蒋介石却在1927年4月12日在上海发动清党,大批共产党人被杀。清党很快蔓延至其他地方,第一次国共合作遂宣告破裂。对于蒋介石清党,以汪精卫为首的武汉(汉)国民政府起初反对,蒋遂于1927年4月18日在南京(宁)另组国民政府,史称“宁汉分裂”。但至同年7月15日,汪精卫的武汉国民政府也清除共产党员,称为“分共”,不久又宣布迁都南京,史称“宁汉合流”。此后,南京国民政府成为中国国民党的统一政权。

国共两党原均主张反帝反军阀,一度亲如兄弟,为何会在北伐中反目成仇?

答案见下。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_1
mainsite_psd_beifa02_1

国共由合作走向对立,在北伐前发生的连串事件中,已现端倪。1925年8月20日,国民党元老之一、被视为国民党左派(亲苏、容共)的廖仲恺遭暗杀,一般相信是国民党右派(反苏、反共)所为。事件令国共合作蒙上阴影。左图:廖仲恺;右图:家人在廖仲恺遗体旁,包括儿子廖承志(左一)、妻子何香凝(左二)、女儿廖梦醒(右一)。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_2
mainsite_psd_beifa02_2

西山会议会场。1925年11月,国民党右派邹鲁、戴季陶等人,在北京西山碧云寺孙中山灵前召开国民党一届四中全会,要求清除国民党内的共产党员,形成“西山会议派”,进一步暴露出国共裂痕。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_3
mainsite_psd_beifa02_3

左图:1926年的中山舰;右图:中山舰舰长、共产党员李之龙。1926年3月20日,发生疑似中山舰兵变事件,令国共几乎决裂。

ebook

中山舰原名永丰舰,1912年下水,该舰官兵在1922年陈炯明兵变时曾保护孙中山脱险,1925年孙中山死后改名中山舰以为纪念。1926年3月20日,蒋介石指停泊在广州的中山舰拟发动兵变,下令广州戒严、扣押中山舰,并逮捕中共党员、时任海军局代理局长兼中山舰舰长李之龙,又包围了苏联顾问和共产党机关,史称“中山舰事件”。事件令国共关系进一步紧张,但因北伐在即,各方不欲事态恶化,遂不了了之。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_4
mainsite_psd_beifa02_4

左图:1926年冬的周恩来;中图:身穿国民革命军军服的叶挺雕像;右图:1926年11月北伐军占领江西南昌后,部分政治工作人员合影,前排右二为第三军党代表朱克靖,最后排左二为总政治部秘书长李一氓、左三为第六军党代表林伯渠、左四为第二军党代表李富春。上述诸人都是共产党员。虽然中共党员人数不及国民党员,但许多重要的政治和军队职位皆由中共党员出任,随着北伐的战果扩大,中共在国民党内和军队中的影响力大幅提升,引起不少国民党员担心国民党和军队最终会由中共控制。国民党内反共情绪日增。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_5
mainsite_psd_beifa02_5

左图:1927年2月,湖南湘乡县农会发布针对地主、土豪、劣绅的告示;右图:1927年2月,上海总工会号召上海工人罢工,配合北伐军挺进上海。北伐期间,中共不断发动农运和工运,以配合进军,令国民党内不满者日多。

ebook

中共以阶级斗争的方式发动农运和工运,颇能争取城市和农村下层民众的支持,有利北伐军推进,例如在北伐军进入大城市前,中共多发动工人大罢工以瘫痪市面,甚至组织武装工人进驻交通要道及重要设施,北伐军一到即能顺利接管。然而,这种做法严重威胁农村的地主乡绅和城市资本家。北伐军中不少出生于地主乡绅家庭的军官、士兵,因得悉家乡亲人受到农运冲击,士气、军心大受打击,甚至出现小型兵变,国民党内越来越多人认为不能容忍。到北伐军开抵中国最大的工商业城市上海时,国共矛盾已到总爆发的关口。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_6
mainsite_psd_beifa02_6

北伐战争期间上海闸北的工人武装。为配合北伐进军,中共在上海组织工人武装,并先后三次起事。1927年3月22日的第三次起事,武装工人的数目达2,700人。中共的举动,除了针对资本家,也针对被视为帝国主义者的外国人,令上海资本家和外国人大为恐慌。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_7
mainsite_psd_beifa02_7

                抵达上海北站的北伐军。1927年3月22日,北伐军开进上海,次日克复南京。同时,国民党内以蒋介石为首的反共力量,已准备清党。

ebook

一般史家相信,蒋介石早欲清党反共,但碍于需要苏联支持,只得忍而不发。直至北伐军控制上海、南京及东南沿海富裕省份后,始有机会取得具实力资本家及西方国家的支持。资本家恐惧中共的阶级斗争,西方国家恐怕苏联藉北伐成功而独占中国,皆希望藉支持蒋介石反共以保自身利益。在得到足以取代苏联的支持力量后,蒋介石遂决心清党。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_8
mainsite_psd_beifa02_8

                      1927年4月12日,蒋介石下令清党,大举拘捕和处决共产党人。图为共产党人在上海街头遭斩首。

ebook

上海清党除了由军队执行外,亦动员了杜月笙的青帮等帮会势力;另在租界和华界内,外国军警亦大举搜捕中共党员和亲共工人交给蒋介石的军警。上海清党,估计前后有逾千人被杀。清党很快蔓延至全国其他地方,中共党员及其支持者遭大肆捕杀。4月28日,奉系军阀张作霖在北京对二十名中共党员执行绞刑,当中包括中共始创人之一李大钊。5月21日,国民党军官许克祥在长沙捣毁工会、农会,杀死上百人,史称“马日事变”(21日的电报代日韵码是“马”字。)

mainsite_psd_beifa02_9
mainsite_psd_beifa02_9

武汉国民政府旧址今貌。武汉(汉)国民政府批评清党,坚持国共继续合作。蒋介石乃于1927年4月18日在南京(宁)另立国民政府,史称“宁汉分裂”。

mainsite_psd_beifa02_10
mainsite_psd_beifa02_10

国共矛盾始终无法化解。1927年7月15日,以汪精卫为首的武汉(汉)国民政府决定清除中共党员及罢黜苏联顾问,称为“分共”。不久武汉国民政府迁往南京,令南京国民政府成为中国国民党的统一政权,史称“宁汉合流”,第一次国共合作至此彻底破裂。左图:1920年代的汪精卫;右图:报章报道武汉分共及宁汉合流。

国共两党原均主张反帝反军阀,一度亲如兄弟,为何会在北伐中反目成仇?

国共两党正因为均主张反帝反军阀,才有1924至1927年的合作。但中国国民党奉行的是三民主义,主张依靠地主及资本家等上层建国,中国共产党则崇尚马克思的共产主义,发动工农群众以夺取政权,此乃其分道扬镳的原因之一。不过,主义或思想往往是某帮派或某政党夺权的旗帜,一旦政权眼见在手,常会发生兄弟阋墙的你死我活斗争。这在历史上屡见不鲜,例如:推翻秦朝后项羽、刘邦的楚汉之争;推翻新莽后的绿林、赤眉和光武帝之争;推翻隋朝后的瓦岗等民变队伍与李唐之争;元朝覆灭前后各支反元民变队伍和朱明之争。其实质都在于夺取并控制全国政权。

本专题主要图片来源: FOTOE。

延伸阅读