• Opium War to Self-Strengthening Movement
    (1840-1894)
  • 1st Sino-Japanese War to 1911 Revolution
    (1894-1911)
  • Birth of the ROC to Nanking Decade
    (1912-1937)
  • War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression
    (1931-1945)
  • Civil War and Founding of the PRC
    (1945-1949)
  • Tales of Hong Kong
    (1840-1949)
  • Tales of Macao
    (1840-1949)
Opium War to Self-Strengthening Movement
(1840-1894)
1st Sino-Japanese War to 1911 Revolution
(1894-1911)
Birth of the ROC to Nanking Decade
(1912-1937)
War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression
(1931-1945)
Civil War and Founding of the PRC
(1945-1949)
Tales of Hong Kong
(1840-1949)
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07

The armed forces of China and Japan had learned from the West and embarked on modernization programs by the time of the First Sino-Japanese War. The Chinese and Japanese forces were comparable in terms of strength and size, but they were different in terms of their strategy and tactics as well as their determination on the battlefield. When the war began in July 1894, battles were fought on the Korean Peninsula; in September, the Japanese army attacked Pyongyang where Chinese Governor-General Li Hongzhang (李鴻章) took a “wait-and-see” approach to warfare. As a result, General Zuo Baogui (左寶貴) was killed in action and Commander Ye Zhichao (葉志超) abandoned the city. The Qing navy also suffered huge losses in the Battle of the Yellow Sea.

From mid-September, the war continued on the Liaodong Peninsula (遼東半島) in China. As the Japanese broke through the Yalu River (鴨綠江), Chinese territories including Jiuliancheng (九連城), Anton (安東), Dadonggou (大東溝) and Fenghuangcheng (鳳凰城) were quickly captured. Starting in November, other places such as Jinzhou (金州), Dalian (大連) and Lushun (旅順, Port Arthur) were also invaded; more than 20,000 civilians died in the Massacre of Lushun. Between November 1894 and March 1895, the Shandong Peninsula (山東半島) came under Japanese land and naval attack. Besides taking the naval base in Weihaiwei (威海衛), Japanese forces occupied Niuzhuang (牛莊) and Yingkou (營口) through Haicheng (海城). At this point, China completely lost control of the east bank of the Liao River (遼河) in an inevitable defeat.

How did Japan win – and China lose – in the First Sino-Japanese War when Japan had to mobilize from a distance while China had home advantage?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-01
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-01

After the Battle of Seonghwan in July 1894, Qing forces broke and retreated to Pyongyang, where they took up defensive positions as the Japanese army prepared for another attack. After the official declaration of war on August 1, both sides continued to bring in reinforcements. Ye Zhichao, the stout figure in the middle of the picture, commanded China’s forces in Korea during the Sino-Japanese War. The picture on the right shows Ōyama Iwao, Japan’s Misister of the Army and commander-in-chief of the Second Army.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-02
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-02

From September 12 to 15, 1894, the Japanese army launched a powerful assault on Pyongyang. Zuo Baogui, the Chinese commander, was killed in action but the Chinese Commander-in-Chief, Ye Zhichao, abandoned the city and fled. Pyongyang fell to Japanese forces that night. The pictures above depict the battle of Pyongyang and Zuo Baogui respectively.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-03
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-03

The Japanese army continued to press north after its Pyongyang victory and successfully crossed the Yalu River (the border between Korea and China) on September 25, 1894, in effect gaining control over the entire Korean Peninsula.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-04
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-04

On October 30, 1894, the Japanese landed at Huayuankou (花園口), Liaodong Peninsula. While China and Japan were engaged in battle on land, the two countries’ naval forces also fought a decisive battle in the Yellow Sea. It too ended in defeat for the Qing forces. With the Chinese forces’ retreat from Korea and loss of control over nearby waters, Japan was able to follow up its victory by invading the Liaodong Peninsula.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-05
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-05

On November 6, 1894, the Japanese captured Jinzhou of Liaoning (遼寧). The picture shows Qing soldiers slain in the Battle of Jinzhou.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-06
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-06

On November 6, 1894, the Japanese captured Dalian Bay, a strategic location in the Liaodong Peninsula. The picture shows a cannon platform in the center of Japanese-occupied Dalian Bay.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07

With Dalian Bay taken, the key port Lushun (also known as Port Arthur) became the Japanese army’s next target. In the morning of November 21, 1894, the Japanese army mounted an all-out assault on the cannon batteries located on Mount Yizi (椅子山), Mount Anzi (案子山), Mount Songshu (松樹山), Mount Erlong (二龍山) and Mount Huangjin (黃金山). The picture shows the Japanese siege of the cannon batteries on Mount Erlong.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-08
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-08

On November 21, 1894, Lushun fell in less than a day in the face of Japan’s all-out-attack.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-09
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-09

Once Lushun had fallen, the defending Qing forces lost all morale and abandoned the city’s civilians to their enemies. They fled, with the Japanese army in hot pursuit.

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-10
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-10

After the fall of Lushun, more than 20,000 civilians, including women and children, were slaughtered by the Japanese army in a four-day Port Arthur Massacre (also called the Lushun Massacre) that shocked the world. Depictions of the massacre by a Japanese army journalist show the Japanese troops going from home to home, killing Chinese civilians at will. Following the massacre, the Japanese army continued to advance to all regions of Liaodong. By March 1895, they had captured various strategic locations including Niuzhuang (牛莊), Yingkou (營口) and Tianzhuangtai (田莊台) and controlled the entire Liaodong Peninsula. From Korea to Liaodong, they had crushed the Qing army in every land battle.

How did Japan win – and China lose – in the First Sino-Japanese War when Japan had to mobilize from a distance while China had home advantage?

During the Meiji Restoration, Japan learned significantly from the German Army and British Navy. Coupled with the traditional Bushido fighting spirit, it embarked on the path of aggressive militarism. Japan prepared the invasion of China via Korea meticulously. This included strategic planning as well as military training and expansion before striking unannounced. In contrast, China was weakened when its Eight Banners and Green Standard Army disintegrated due to the effects of widespread corruption. It even had to rely on local militias to expel rebels during the Taiping Rebellion. Unprepared for battle, China only declared war in the hope of negotiating a truce, but lost all confidence when its general-in-command fled the battlefield. Moreover, some Qing officials were opposed to fighting and wished for mediation, with the help of foreign powers, further undermining China’s war efforts.

Source of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe (pictures 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10), Visual China Group (pictures 3, 6), misc. photo sources.

Extended Reading

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07

甲午战争,中日交战双方的陆海军都是学习西洋后所建立的新式军队。就军力而言相距不远,因此关键在于战略决心和战术指挥能力。以陆战而言,1894年7月战争爆发后,战事首先集中在朝鲜境内。9月,日军猛攻平壤,掌管新式陆海军的北洋大臣李鸿章的作战方针是“先定守局,再图进取”,结果清将左宝贵战死,主帅叶志超弃城逃跑。同时的黄海激战,清海军亦告失败。

战事其后蔓延至中国的辽东半岛。日军突破鸭绿江的江防后,很快占领九连城、安东、大东沟、凤凰城,且于11月攻下金州、大连、旅顺,四天之内连续屠杀旅顺居民,二万余人死难。由1894年11月下旬至1895年3月,日军对山东半岛实行陆海夹击,除攻陷北洋舰队的威海卫海军基地外,又从海城分路进攻,占领牛庄、营口。至此,清军从辽河东岸全线溃退,陆战大败已成定局。

甲午战争的陆战中,日本远师出征,清军以逸待劳,为何日胜清负?

答案见下。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-01
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-01

1894年7月成欢之战后,清军败走,北撤至平壤,力图坚守,日军则蓄势进攻。8月1日正式宣战后,中日双方不断增兵。图左居中身材肥胖者为甲午战争时清军驻朝鲜主帅叶志超,图右为日本陆军大臣兼第二军司令官大山岩。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-02
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-02

1894年9月12至15日,日军猛攻平壤。9月15日,提督左宝贵战死,主帅叶志超未有力战即弃城逃跑,当晚日军攻陷平壤。图为平壤之役及左宝贵。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-03
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-03

日军攻陷平壤后继续向北挺进,1894年9月25日成功抢渡鸭绿江,控制了朝鲜全境。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-04
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-04

1894年10月30日,日军登陆辽东半岛花园口。中日陆军在朝鲜境内激战时,两国海军也在黄海决战,清海军亦告失败。清陆军撤离朝鲜,海军又失去制海权,日本乘胜进军,令战火蔓延到中国的辽东半岛。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-05
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-05

1894年11月6日,日军攻陷辽宁金州。图为金州之役阵亡的清军士兵。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-06
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-06

1894年11月7日,日军攻陷辽东战略重地大连湾。图为日军占领下的大连湾中心炮台。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-07

攻下大连湾后,重要军港旅顺成为日军下一个目标。1894年11月21日早上,日军向旅顺的椅子山、案子山、松树山、二龙山、黄金山诸炮台发起总攻。图为日军攻打旅顺二龙山炮台。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-08
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-08

1894年11月21日,日军发动总攻后不到一天时间,即攻陷旅顺。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-09
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-09

旅顺陷落后,当地清军战意尽失,丢下全城百姓,四散逃跑,日军随后追击。

mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-10
mainsite_psd_jiawu03_2019_v2-10

旅顺城陷后,日军一连四天大肆屠杀平民,包括妇孺,二万多人遇害,是为震惊世界的“旅顺大屠杀”。图为日本随军记者所绘的旅顺大屠杀景象,可见日军挨家挨户残杀中国百姓。之后,日军继续向辽东各处推进,1895年3月,连陷牛庄、营口、田庄台等要地,完全控制辽东半岛。由朝鲜到辽东,清军在陆战中全盘失败。

甲午战争的陆战中,日本远师出征,清军以逸待劳,为何日胜清负?

日本自明治维新后,一面向德国陆军、英国海军学习,一面继承传统武士道精神,走上军国主义的侵略道路。日本对通过朝鲜染指中国的目标明确,故战前已通过战略计划、军事训练、加强军力预作准备,又采取突然袭击、不宣而战以获得先机。反观清朝,自入关后八旗、绿营先后腐化弃甲,对付太平天国都靠湘军、淮军支撑大局,洋务运动虽有训练新式陆军,但重点在建设海军,而对陆上新军的培养较为忽视。战争爆发时准备不足,虽宣战也只为以战求和,加上主帅弃城而逃令军心大失。一旦初战不利,朝廷的主和派便占上风,千方求欧美调停而无心恋战,结果贻误战机,兵败如山倒。

本专题主要图片来源:FOTOE(图1、2、4、5、7-10)、视觉中国(图3、6)、其他资料图片。

延伸阅读