Opium War to Self-Strengthening Movement
(1840-1894)
1st Sino-Japanese War to 1911 Revolution
(1894-1911)
Birth of the ROC to Nanking Decade
(1912-1937)
2nd Sino-Japanese War
(1931-1945)
Tales of Hong Kong
(1840-1949)
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)
Civil War and Founding of the PRC
(1945-1949)

The Opium War: an Overview

yapian_header_1200x400_en_v2
yapian_header_1200x400_en_v2

The start of the Opium War (also known as the First Opium War or the First Anglo-Chinese War) between China and Britain in 1840 (Emperor Daoguang’s 20th year) was widely recognized as marking the beginning of modern Chinese history.  It signified an era of development in the economic, political, military, social and cultural areas. Most significantly it marked a switch from an agricultural economy to industrialization.

By the mid-19th century, Britain was a major capitalist power following a period of political and industrial reform. It needed to look overseas for both raw materials and markets for its finished goods and it was prepared to use “gunboat diplomacy” - calling it free trade - to achieve these goals. China at this time was an authoritarian country relying on a self-sufficient economy to support a national policy of seclusion.

Britain initially sought to promote its consumer products in China but failed to gain market access due to heavy Chinese restrictions. So it began selling opium (a highly addictive drug) to China. In 1839, at the order of Emperor Daoguang (道光帝), Lin Zexu (林則徐) arrived in Guangzhou (廣州) to enforce a ban on opium and subsequently seized and destroyed large amounts of opium at Humen (虎門).

The British were determined to force the Qing government to open up China to foreign trade. In June 1840, British vessels arrived in Guangzhou and opened fire; the Opium War officially started. The British fleet then travelled north and entered the Yangtze River near Nanjing.

China had a sizeable army under highly decorated officers such as Guan Tianpei (關天培) and Chen Huacheng (陳化成), as well as a civilian resistance force in Sanyuanli near Guangzhou. However, they were not as developed as the British in terms of equipment, training and tactics. Consequently they were defeated by the British equipped with modern weaponry. China had no choice but to negotiate for peace and sign the Treaty of Nanking (南京條約) in August 1842. The terms of this treaty were unequal: China was forced to cede land (Hong Kong Island), pay reparations and open trading ports. China became a semi-colonial state under the rule of foreign powers gradually.

yapian_timeline_750x715_en_v6-01
yapian_timeline_750x715_en_v6-01

Extended Reading

鸦片战争至洋务运动
(1840-1894)
民国成立至南京十年(最新)
(1912-1937)
近代港澳沧桑
(1840-1949)
抗日战争
(1931-1945)
内战与新中国成立
(1945-1949)

鸦片战争概览

yapian_header_1200x400_v2_sc
yapian_header_1200x400_v2_sc

1840年(道光二十年)爆发于中国和英国之间的鸦片战争,通常被认为是中国近代史的开端。所谓「近代」,意味着某国或某地在经济,政治,军事,社会,文化等各方面都进入现代文明境界。以经济为例,就是由农业主导转入工业化。

十九世纪中期,英国经过政治及工业革命,已成为资本主义强国,标榜自由贸易却实行炮舰外交,到处寻找商品市场和原料产地;而中国仍是建立于自给自足的自然经济基础上之专制大国,对外推行闭关自守的国策。

最初英国力图以其工业品行销中国,但受诸多禁限及自然经济的抵制,于是改用有害的毒品──鸦片,大量输华。清钦差大臣林则徐奉道光帝所派,于1839年抵达广州禁烟,并在虎门销毁了收缴得来的鸦片。

英国决定用武力迫使清廷屈服,1840年6月派舰队抵达广州海面并开火,鸦片战争正式爆发。英舰北上,很快就进入南京的长江江面。

当时清军数目虽多,且关天培,陈化成等将官英勇抗敌,广州三元里民众也奋起反抗,但清军的武器,士兵素质和战术都无法与英军对抗,一败再败,迫使清廷在坚船利炮的威慑之下屈膝求和,终于在1842年8月签订了近代首份不平等条约──《南京条约》,被迫割地(香港岛)、赔款、开放港口通商等。中国从此一步一步沦为列强宰制下的半殖民地。

 

yapian_timeline_750x715_v4-01
yapian_timeline_750x715_v4-01

延伸阅读