Please drag to the left for more details
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

(2) The Founding of the People’s Republic of China

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6

During the Chinese Civil War, the Chinese Communist Party (CCP, 中國共產黨) Central Committee moved from Yan’an (延安) in northern Shaanxi Province (陝西) to Xibaipo (西柏坡) in Hebei Province (河北). In March 1949, the CCP held the Second Plenary Session of the Seventh CCP Central Committee in Xibaipo, and decided to shift the focus of the party’s work from rural to urban areas. On 25 March, the CCP Central Committee moved to Beiping (北平, now Beijing﹝北京﹞) and began to establish a new national regime. From 21 to 30 September 1949, the First Plenary Session of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference was held in Beiping. The session exercised the power on behalf of the future legislature, the National People’s Congress, to pass the Common Programme that served as the provisional constitution, and decide the establishment of the People’s Republic of China, a people’s democratic dictatorship led by the CCP. The conference approved Beijing as the capital city, and that the March of the Volunteers as the temporary national anthem (which later became the official national anthem). It also approve the adoption of the five-star red flag as the national flag and the solar calendar. Mao Zedong (毛澤東) was elected as Chairman of the Central People’s Government, and Zhu De (朱德), Liu Shaoqi (劉少奇), Soong Ching-ling (宋慶齡), Li Jishen (李濟深), Zhang Lan (張瀾), and Gao Gang (高崗) as Vice Chairpersons.

At 2pm on 1 October 1949, the First Conference of the Central People’s Government Committee appointed Zhou Enlai (周恩來) as Premier and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Government Council, and Zhu as Commander-in-Chief of the People’s Liberation Army (PLA). At 3pm, the Founding Ceremony officially began. Mao stood atop Tian’anmen to announce to the world the founding of the Central People’s Government of the People’s Republic of China. With the establishment of the People’s Republic of China, China’s modern history entered a new era.

What are the many different names used for the Kuomintang of China (KMT, 中國國民黨), the Chinese Communist Party, the Chinese Civil War, and even the change of power in Mainland China in 1949?

See answer below.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_1
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_1

In March 1949, the CCP held the Second Plenary Session of the Seventh CCP Central Committee in Xibaipo, Hebei. Mao Zedong made a report at the session, pointing out that the focus of the party’s work should be shifted from rural to urban areas.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_2
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_2

On 25 March 1949, the CCP Central Committee and the PLA headquarters were moved from Xibaipo to Beiping. The photo shows Mao Zedong, Zhu De, Liu Shaoqi, Zhou Enlai, and Ren Bishi reviewing the troops at Xiyuan Airport (西苑機場) in Beiping.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_3
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_3

From 21 to 30 September 1949, the First Plenary Session of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference was held at Huairen Hall (懷仁堂), Zhongnanhai (中南海), Beiping. The conference passed the Common Programme; approved Beijing as the capital city, the national anthem and the national flag; and elected the Chairman and Vice Chairpersons of the Central People’s Government.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_4
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_4

On 30 September 1949, the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference elected Mao Zedong as Chairman of the Central People’s Government, and Zhu De, Liu Shaoqi, Soong Ching-ling, Li Jishen, Zhang Lan, and Gao Gang as Vice Chairpersons. In the photo from the left: Liu, Zhu, Mao, Soong, Li, Zhang, and Gao.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_5
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_5

At 2pm on 1 October 1949, the First Conference of the Central People’s Government Committee appointed Zhou Enlai as Premier and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Government Council, and Zhu De as Commander-in-Chief of the PLA. The photo shows Zhou speaking at the conference.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6

At 3pm on 1 October 1949, Mao Zedong reading out the Notice of the Central People’s Government of the People’s Republic of China and proclaiming the founding of the People’s Republic of China at the Founding Ceremony at Tian’anmen Square in Beijing.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_7
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_7

Three photos related to the Founding Ceremony, from the left: the moment Mao Zedong announcing the founding of the People’s Republic of China; the national flag of the People’s Republic of China ascending over Tian’anmen Square; and the Notice of the Central People’s Government of the People’s Republic of China read out by Mao.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_8
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_8

About 300,000 people in Beijing attending the Founding Ceremony at Tian’anmen Square.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_9
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_9

Zhu De, the Commander-in-Chief of the PLA, reviewing the troops at the Founding Ceremony.

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_10
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_10

       The military parade of the Founding Ceremony at Tian’anmen Square.

What are the many different names used for the KMT, CCP, the Chinese Civil War, and even the change of power in Mainland China in 1949?

The two parties and researchers called the same thing differently due to different stances. They could be heavily biased or relatively neutral. It is important for us to know them in the study of history even we may not share the same stance. The KMT often called the CCP “Red Communists”, “Red Bandits”, “Communist Bandits”, “Slaughter Pig and Shave Hair”, with “pigs” (zhu) and "hair" (mao) are homophones of the surnames of Zhu De and Mao Zedong; while the CCP called its opponents the “Party of Scraping the People” and the “Chiang Gang” (Chiang as Chiang Kak-shek﹝蔣介石﹞). The Chinese Civil War between the two parties that lasted from 1946 to 1949 has been called the “Mobilisation for Suppressing Rebellion” or “Rebellion Suppression War” by the KMT, while the CCP called it the “Chinese Liberation War” or the “Third Revolutionary Civil War” (the Northern Expedition and the ten-year armed confrontation between 1927 and 1937 were the “First Revolutionary Civil War” and the “Second Revolutionary Civil War” respectively). More neutral terms are the “Second KMT-CCP Civil War” or the “Chinese Civil War”. In the West, it is also known as the “Chinese Communist Revolution”. As for the change of the mainland regime in 1949: the KMT referred to it as the “Fall of Mainland”, while the CCP called it the “National Liberation”. In Hong Kong and Macao it is known as “the mainland regime changed hands”. When it comes to the Taiwan issue, the KMT emphasised “counter-offensive against the mainland”, while the CCP stressed on “liberating Taiwan”.

Sources of most photos used in this feature piece: Fotoe.

Extended Reading

(二)中华人民共和国成立

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6

全面内战期间,中共中央由陕北延安迁移至河北的西柏坡。1949年3月,中共在西柏坡召开七届二中全会,决定将党的工作重心由乡村转到城市;中共中央又于3月25日迁到北平,同时着手筹建新的全国政权。1949年9月21至30日,中国人民政治协商会议第一届全体会议在北平召开。会议代行了未来立法机构──全国人民代表大会的职权,通过具有临时宪法性质的《共同纲领》,决定建立由中共领导的人民民主专政国家──中华人民共和国。会议通过国都定于北平并改名北京,以《义勇军进行曲》为代国歌(后成正式国歌),五星红旗为国旗,采用公元纪年。会议选出毛泽东为中央人民政府主席,朱德、刘少奇、宋庆龄、李济深、张澜、高岗为副主席。

1949年10月1日下午2时,中央人民政府委员会举行第一次会议,周恩来获任政务院总理兼外交部长,朱德为中国人民解放军总司令。下午3时,开国大典正式开始,毛泽东在天安门城楼上,向全世界宣告:“中华人民共和国中央人民政府今天成立了!”随着中华人民共和国成立,中国近代史从此进入另一个时代。

对于国共两党、全面内战乃至1949年大陆政权的变换,常见有不同称呼,能否略介一二?

答案见下。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_1
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_1

1949年3月,中共七届二中全会在河北平山县西柏坡召开,毛泽东在会上作报告,指出工作重心要由乡村转移到城市。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_2
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_2

    1949年3月25日,中共中央和解放军总部由西柏坡迁到北平,毛泽东、朱德、刘少奇、周恩来、任弼时等在北平西苑机场检阅部队。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_3
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_3

1949年9月21至30日,中国人民政治协商会议第一届全体会议在北平中南海怀仁堂开幕。是次会议内容包括制定《共同纲领》及定都北京、确立国歌与国旗、选举中央人民政府正副主席等。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_4
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_4

1949年9月30日,中国人民政治协商会议选举毛泽东为中央人民政府主席,朱德、刘少奇、宋庆龄、李济深、张澜、高岗为副主席。图为当日主席台,左起:刘少奇、朱德、毛泽东、宋庆龄、李济深、张澜、高岗。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_5
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_5

1949年10月1日下午2时,中央人民政府委员会举行第一次会议,周恩来获任政务院总理兼外交部长,朱德为中国人民解放军总司令。图为周恩来在会上发言。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_6

1949年10月1日下午3时,开国大典在首都北京天安门广场举行,毛泽东宣读《中华人民共和国中央人民政府公告》及宣告中华人民共和国成立。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_7
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_7

三幅和开国大典有关的图片,左起:毛泽东宣布中华人民共和国成立的刹那、天安门广场升起了中华人民共和国国旗、毛泽东宣读的《中华人民共和国中央人民政府公告》。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_8
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_8

北京约有30万群众在天安门广场参加开国大典。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_9
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_9

中国人民解放军总司令朱德在开国大典上阅兵。

mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_10
mainsite_psd_neizhansan02_10

       参与开国大典阅兵的部队操过天安门广场。

对于国共两党、全面内战乃至1949年大陆政权的变换,常见有不同称呼,能否略介一二?

由于立场不同,国共两党及其他研究者对同一事物往往叫法不同,有截然相反,亦有较为中立的叫法;吾人虽未必同意,但在习史时则不可不知。对于称呼:国民党常称共产党为“赤共”、“赤匪”、“共匪”或“宰猪(朱)剃毛”;共产党则呼对手为“刮民党”、“蒋匪帮”。对于1946至1949年两党内战:国民党称为“动员戡乱”或“戡乱战争”;共产党称为“中国人民解放战争”或“第三次国内革命战争”(北伐及1927至1937年间的十年武装对抗为“第一次国内革命战争”、“第二次国内革命战争”);较中立的提法是“第二次国共内战”或“国共全面内战”;西方另有“中国共产革命(Chinese Communist Revolution)”之称呼。至于1949年大陆政权转变:国民党常用“大陆沦陷”;共产党却称“全国解放”;港澳则常谓“大陆政权易手”。对于海峡对岸:国民党强调“反攻大陆”、共产党则强调“解放台湾”。

本專題主要圖片來源:FOTOE。

延伸阅读