• Opium War to Self-Strengthening Movement
    (1840-1894)
  • 1st Sino-Japanese War to 1911 Revolution
    (1894-1911)
  • Birth of the ROC to Nanking Decade
    (1912-1937)
  • War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression
    (1931-1945)
  • Civil War and Founding of the PRC
    (1945-1949)
  • Tales of Hong Kong
    (1840-1949)
  • Tales of Macao
    (1840-1949)
Opium War to Self-Strengthening Movement
(1840-1894)
1st Sino-Japanese War to 1911 Revolution
(1894-1911)
Birth of the ROC to Nanking Decade
(1912-1937)
War of Resistance Against Japanese Aggression
(1931-1945)
Civil War and Founding of the PRC
(1945-1949)
Tales of Hong Kong
(1840-1949)
Tales of Macao
(1840-1949)

The First Sino-Japanese War: an Overview

jiawu_header_1200x400_en_v3
jiawu_header_1200x400_en_v3

The First Sino-Japanese War broke out in 1894. The Meiji Restoration began in 1868 and Japan developed rapidly particularly in economic and military power. Japan was eager to expand into Korea as a stepping stone towards invading China. During the Korean Peasant Revolt of 1894 both China and Japan provided military support to suppress the rebels, but Japan never withdrew its troops. Instead, in July 1894, Japanese forces sank a Chinese military supply vessel and launched an attack on Chinese troops stationed in Asan, igniting a war between China and Japan.

The First Sino-Japanese War was not only a military conflict between two East Asian countries but also a showcase for their modernization efforts. On land, Japan’s army forced the Chinese to retreat after winning the Battle of Pyongyang, then pushed towards the Liaodong Peninsula (遼東半島) across the Yalu River (鴨綠江), capturing Dalian (大連) and Lushun (旅順), landed in Shandong (山東). Meanwhile, after its defeat in the Battle of the Yellow Sea, China’s Beiyang Fleet retreated to the port of Weihaiwei (威海衛) where they were annihilated by Japanese naval forces.

Following these devastating losses, Li Hongzhang (李鴻章), representing the Qing court, travelled to Japan in the spring of 1895 and signed the Treaty of Shimonoseki, ceding Taiwan (台灣) and the islands of Penghu (澎湖), in addition to paying war reparations and allowing wider access for Japanese businesses to trade and set up factories in China.

The defeat of the “Great Kingdom of China” by the small, island country of Japan came as a complete shock and provoked a country-wide movement under Kang Youwei (康有為) calling for resistance as a prelude to the Hundred Days’ Reform. In Taiwan, fighting erupted as people refused to give up the island but failed; a revolution led by Sun Yat-sen (孫中山) began to take shape in China as a patriotic movement to overthrow the Qing dynasty.

The First Sino-Japanese War had a profound impact on the development of modern China.

jiawu_timeline_750x715_en_v6-01
jiawu_timeline_750x715_en_v6-01

Extended Reading

• 鴉片戰爭至洋務運動
    (1840-1894)
  • 甲午戰爭至辛亥革命
    (1894-1911)
  • 民國成立至南京十年
    (即將推出)
  • 抗日戰爭
    (即將推出)
  • 內戰與新中國成立
    (即將推出)
  • 近代港澳滄桑
    (即將推出)
鴉片戰爭至洋務運動
(1840-1894)
甲午戰爭至辛亥革命
(1894-1911)
民國成立至南京十年
(即將推出)
抗日戰爭
(即將推出)
內戰與新中國成立
(即將推出)
近代港澳滄桑
(即將推出)

甲午戰爭概覽

jiawu_header_1200x400_v2
jiawu_header_1200x400_v2

甲午戰爭是農曆甲午年(1894年)中日兩國爆發的一場大戰。日本經過始於1868年的明治維新而崛起,經濟、軍事迅速發展,急謀對外擴張,欲首先佔領朝鮮以為跳板,進而染指中國。1894年,朝鮮發生東學黨民變,中日同時出兵赴朝,但事變平定後日本卻不撤兵,反於同年7月擊沉清朝的運兵船,並突襲駐牙山之清軍,中日戰爭遂起。

甲午戰爭是東亞兩個鄰國的一場近代戰爭,也是學習西方模式之下兩種改革方式之對決。陸戰方面,日軍先獲平壤戰役勝利,逼清軍退入中國境內,接着過鴨綠江佔九連城、安東,攻下遼東半島的大連、旅順,再登陸山東半島,又連佔牛莊、營口等處。海戰方面,中國北洋艦隊在黃海之戰失利後,退縮威海衛軍港,結果被日海軍封鎖、包圍乃至全殲。

海陸慘敗之下,清廷乃派李鴻章於1895年春至日本.簽訂喪權辱國之《馬關條約》,割讓台灣及澎湖列島,賠償日本軍費及增開商埠,允許日本在華投資設廠。

甲午一戰,中國以堂堂「天朝大國」而為日本「蕞爾小國」所敗,舉國震動。康有為等發起拒約、遷都、變法的「公車上書」,並走向後來的戊戌維新;台灣軍民發動激烈的反割讓戰爭,犧牲慘重;以孫中山為代表的革命黨人則展開推翻清朝的愛國運動。

甲午戰爭激起千重浪,對中國近代的發展影響深遠。

jiawu_timeline_750x715_v6-01
jiawu_timeline_750x715_v6-01

延伸閱讀