Chairman's message

r-lee_charles

With the reunification with China in 1997, Hong Kong is poised to redefine its role as a bridge for cultural exchanges between the East and the West. Inspired by this, the Academy of Chinese Studies (ACS) was founded in August 2000 with the goal of promoting understanding of long-lasting Chinese civilization and culture.

 

Upon its establishment, ACS’s first task was to utilize the latest information technology to create a comprehensive online database of historical and cultural knowledge known as “The Splendid Chinese Culture” website. The site was launched in 2001 with 18 categories covering a total of 200 topics, providing an in-depth introduction to Chinese culture. Experts and scholars of Mainland China, Taiwan and Hong Kong were invited to write on subjects in their fields of expertise to ensure that each article offers authoritative content. Since its launch, the website has attracted over 60 million visitors, receiving high praise from netizens all over the world and earning local as well as international acclaim. At the United Nations’ inaugural World Summit on Information Society in December 2013, the website stood out amongst the 803 other contestants from 136 countries and won the award for “World’s Best e-Contents” under the “e-Culture” category.

 

The team behind “The Splendid Chinese Culture Website” has worked relentlessly since its launch to offer new content and upgrade the website format to promote China’s culture. In 2005, the launch ceremony of the simplified Chinese character version of the website was held at the People’s Great Hall in Beijing. By 2015, the website has added 100 new topics. The mobile version and social media platform of the website have also been launched to allow greater interaction between site users. In 2016, the English version of the website went live, enabling the international community to understand China’s rich heritage and culture.

 

Now, with China’s rise and growing prominence on the world stage, more and more people around the world are seeking to better understand China. To further enhance the website and increase its influence, ACS joined hands with “Our Hong Kong Foundation” and has since March 2018 been a member organization of the Foundation. The website is also being revamped, optimized and augmented with new content on China’s current development. We hope that the informative and lively account of China’s development will enable all readers to appreciate the rich Chinese culture and be aware of the complex situation within China and the challenges she encountered while developing.

 

It has been nearly 20 years since the ACS was established. Every new initiative, every progress we’ve made since the beginning only came about with the strong support from all sectors in the society. Allow me to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt gratitude and utmost respect to the Central People's Government and the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region for their support, to all sponsoring organizations and distinguished benefactors for their generous donations, and to the honorary presidents, council members and all staff for their hard work.

 

Promoting Chinese culture is a great responsibility that calls for long-term commitment. It is our fervent hope that more knowledge-endowed individuals will be inspired to join us in our cause!

 

Council Chairman, Academy of Chinese Studies

Charles Lee Yeh-kwong

August 2018

主席的话

r-lee_charles

1997年香港回归祖国,为这个中西荟萃的城市提供了重要契机:重新定位香港在东西文化交流互鉴中的桥梁作用。正是基于这样的使命感,2000年8月中国文化研究院成立,旨在发扬光大历史悠久的中华文明。

 

本院成立之初的首要任务,是结合新兴资讯手段,创建大型历史文化知识网站:「灿烂的中国文明」。网站于2001年启动,编撰了十八个系列共200个专题,深入系统地介绍中国文化。我们邀请到了两岸三地著名的专家学者参与此项工作,使每个专题都具权威性。网站开通以来,受到各地网友的高度赞许,至今浏览人次已近6,000万,享誉海内外。 2003年12月更于联合国首届信息峰会上,从136个国家的803个优秀网站中脱颖而出,高票获得《世界最佳文化网站大奖》。

 

「灿烂的中国文明」网站开通以来,本院不断充实内容、变换形式,希望以更有效的方式弘扬中国文化。 2005年,网站简体字版的启动典礼在北京人民大会堂举行。 2015年,网站内容拓展了100多个新专题,而且增设手机版和社交媒体,增强与网友之间的互动。 2016年,英文版面世,让国际社会有机会了解我国数千年来丰硕的文明成果。

 

随着国家的崛起,中国已逐步迈入世界舞台的中心,日益成为全球都希望了解的对象。为了加强实力及扩大网站的影响力,本院决定与团结香港基金合并,自2018年3月始,正式成为团结香港基金的成员机构,并对网站再度进行全面更新与提升,增加当今国家发展的内容。我们希望能够翔实生动地讲述中国的发展,让各国、各界人士感受到中华文化博大精深的同时,也认识到中国国情之复杂、发展之艰辛。

 

中国文化研究院成立的近二十年来,每一个举措、每一点进步都离不开社会各界的鼎力支持。请允许我借此机会向中央人民政府和香港特区政府所给予的支持、向慷慨资助本院的各机构与诸位社会贤达、向本院诸位荣誉院长、各位理事会成员、诸位员工所付出的心血,致以衷心的感谢和崇高的敬意。

 

弘扬中国文化的事业任重而道远,我们热切地盼望更多有识之士加入到本院的努力之中!

 

中国文化研究院理事会主席

李业广

2018年8月